We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we hadn't gone so late in the day!”

Reserva Bosque Nuboso Santa Elena
Ranked #6 of 63 things to do in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It is a community non profit project, located near Monteverde, Puntarenas, Costa Rica. The Reserve has an extension of 310 hectares, covered by a majestic Cloud Forest, in which you can observe a great variety of plants, Orchids, trees, ferns, heliconias and others. Also hundreds of residents and migratory birds, as the Quetzal and the Bell bird. Entrance Fee foreign Regular $14 Entrance Fee foreign student $7 Regular Guided walk $15 + Entrance Fee Private Guided Walk $75 + Entrance Fee
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wish we hadn't gone so late in the day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The paths through this reserve are much narrower than the Monteverde reserve, but well marked and graveled. We went late in the afternoon ( after 3 pm) so didn't have much time to explore before dark. Wish we'd planned more time here -- good if you want to avoid the tourists and just have a beautiful hike.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa11201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    128
    38
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Monteverde is awesome, but it's popular among folks willing to make the trip. Do yourself a favor and drive a little further along a (rough, rough) road to Santa Elena. It gets a fraction of the visitors to Monteverde, but it's absolutely beautiful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Peaceful walk through the rainforest.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a wonderful peaceful walk through Santa Elena. Our hostel suggested we arrive early, so we took the first bus we could get on (before 7am!). We opted to do the guided tour, and were so glad we did! First off, it can be nearly impossible to spot wildlife in these forests because they are so big and dense. The guides are experts, and our guide could even recognize various birds and animals by their calls. We were there the day after a big rain. We didn't see a huge amount of wildlife (the guide was surprised, normally the day after rain, animals are very active), but the walk through alone was worth the price. We learned a lot about the local flora and fauna, and even got to see a plant that has been around since the time of the dinosaurs. The trails are actually gravel and are very well maintained... at one point you have to climb up quite a few stairs, so be ready for that... But I'm not in the best shape (unless you consider round a shape) and I made it fine, so don't worry. We chose Santa Elena over Monteverde because it was less expensive, and it was definitely worth what we spent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Santa Elena Reserve ha some well maintainde trails, and the scenery is beautiful. The amount of plant life in there was unbelievable! We did not see much wildlife, but that was likely because we got there around 7am. I would probably spend the money on a taxi to get there earlier in the future. Cheap transportation is all over Monteverde though. All in all, a fantastic hike!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Small but full of flora reserve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

we liked this small reserve even if it is small. The Cloud forest is excellent, We consider than even prettier than Monteverde. Entrance fee is cheaper than monteverde 14$ instead of 18$. The trees are filled by epyphites.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maria_del_Mar_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reserva Bosque Nuboso Santa Elena also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Reserva Bosque Nuboso Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing