We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views”
Review of Heliconia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heliconia Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We stayed in the Junior Suites located about a 7 minute walk from the main building. The view was incredible from the room, overlooking the town. We made sure we were back each night in time to watch the sunsets. The rooms were very clean and very nice - there were no coffee makers but the hotel had a great breakfast menu and offered a fruit & toast free breakfast as well. The front desk staff was very helpful while we were planning tours, and answered all our questions. I would stay there again any time! The hotel also has a great supper menu, we also ate at De Olvino and had wonderful meals (walking distance from the hotel).

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madeforthesunAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 396 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayey 1 night in this hotel, which was fairly basic but not bad. The staff were very helpful and friendly and they have free internet access.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

A reality check is required by the ownership. Our accommodation was advertised as a "Junior Suite". This was laughable. We have stayed in much larger motel rooms. There was no room for luggage or sitting. The room was dark and drafty. No fridge or coffee maker. The restaurant is another matter all together. You would be doing this place a huge favour to call what they serve food - six of us ate there the first night and not one of us had more than one or two bites. This is surprising in light of the fact we found superb restaurants within an easy walk - Sofia, De Olivo and Johnny's to name but three. Chef's and ingredients are obviously available - Heliconia should hire one.

Room Tip: We are not sure such a thing exists
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCBUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I can not believe this place gets a three star rating??? It was one of the worst experiences I've had and the price we paid was outrageous. It was at the top of a steep hill with a lot of stairs and no assistance with our bags. There is no TV, ok I'll just watch a movie on line and relax, but wait no Internet. So, let's see I'll read my book, oh but the bed side lights don't work, only the over head lights by the door and in the bathroom. And look, it is after 10p ( yep it is 10:05) and I can not get ice, no vending for soda or water and my toilet is unoperational with no one to call to fix it. We woke up with the worst neck headaches from the cotton ball (singular) pillow. Even though we were at the top of the hill, there was absoutly no view, foliage occluded it. Avoid

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeanOLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Overall, I liked this hotel. On the plus side: The location was decent, my bed was comfortable, the breakfast was good and the staff were friendly. But, it's definitely not the perfect hotel. It was quite a hike up the hill to our room from the street, we could hear the noises made by other guests and the hot water was unreliable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcbuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Located high in the cloud forest Hotel Heliconia looks as though it would be at home in Switzerland. The lodges are scattered up the hillside - ours was half a mile from the reception and dining room. The mini bus service was very good and was essential since cloud forest means rain much of the time. We had to ask for a heater because our lodge was cold. Breakfast was very disappointing. There was very little to choose from, the bread was stale and the scrambled eggs to salty to eat. If this had been my only experience of Costa Rica I would not go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as near to reception as possible and ask for a heater unless you go in summer - but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. The lodges are very spread out, and a mini bus is available to get you to and from your lodge, or at least it should be. The lodge we had, and talking to other tour members, theres were the same, had no luxuries, with no tv or tea/coffee making. The hot water was totally unreliable as well, with the hot giving up mid shower. One night 10 of us, some elderly, went out to the lodge down the road for a meal, and got back at 10pm to find the place locked up, and 2 security staff saying hard luck, there is nobody to drive the mini bus. We walked to our lodge, as it wasnt far away for us, but some lodges meant a long, up hill, walk for older people. Abysmal.10pm, hardly the middle of the night. Breakfast was very poor as well. Certainly wouldnt recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orangytangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
#17 of 20 in Monteverde
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliconia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliconia Hotel

Address: Cerro Plano | Frente a la Escuela Rafael Arguedas, 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $92 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heliconia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Heliconia is located on a stunning 6 acre property and is surrounded by lush, beautiful and tropical rain forest, where you can see and find hundreds of exotic birds and animals. The lodge offers a one of a kind panoramic view of Monteverde and the surrounding area. Hotel Heliconia has been decorated with a fine wood finish, all contributing to the home like ambiance. Here you will find a finely decorated restaurant and bar featuring an international menu, amazing walking trails and numerous jacuzzis found around the property that can fit 2 to 5 people- great for a romantic night for two, or a few drinks with friends. All rooms come with all the amenities like flat screen tv with cable, beautiful spacious bathrooms, fresh towels, coffee maker and balconies with sitting area. All contributing to make your stay at Hotel Holiconia a very comfortable and memorable one. Whether you are looking to relax or be active, Hotel Heliconia has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heliconia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliconia Hotel Monteverde
Heliconia Hotel Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing