We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience”
Review of El Establo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Establo
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I truly, truly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The views were speculator and the property is simply beautiful. Stayed in the 700 block of rooms and from my bed I could see spectacular skies and green land all around.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,884 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a stunning property with majestic views of Nicoya Bay and the canopy. You feel like your in a high-end ski lodge in Aspen or Sun Valley, rather than in Costa Rica. High ceilings, travertine tile floors, granite counters and a deck.

The "estables", or stables as they call the buildings, are terraced over 1,000 vertical feet from reception to the 900 building. It's a substantial hike, however the free shuttle is at the ready whenever you need it.

There are private canopy hiking trails on the property as well as their own zip line canopy tours.

The food at Laggus was excellent and professionally prepared. What a difference from our stay in Manuel Antonio at the Parador! Lots of fresh offerings and locally sourced items. Impeccable service and a well-trained staff.

Note: It is a very green hotel, so no A/C or fans. Even the room electricity is turned on and off with your room key when you enter and exit the building. Our weather was perfect so we didn't miss the A/C. Hot water usage is metered as well, but we had plenty.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

... well, nearly every comfort. There's no heating or aircon in the rooms, so you're at the mercy of the weather. We stayed two nights and were just about warm enough in our room, but the outside temperature wasn't exactly warm, and there was a strong wind that whistled around and through the building. It has insubstantial louvre windows that we quickly closed when we arrived, but which didn't insulate very well. They also, as others have noted, let in noise from the hallway, so you hear everybody's conversations.
That said, the room was spectacularly large, perfectly clean and very comfortable. The hot-water limitation (if you take a bath, wait 30 minutes before drawing more hot) was no problem for us as there was plenty for two showers. Everything was very open, with no door on the toilet, so you might feel you want more privacy.
The restaurant was expensive but of decent quality: the $28 dinner buffet in the lower restaurant was a bit basic, but the breakfast there was good. The hotel is spread across buildings at varying levels up a steep hill and you depend on the shuttle to take you up to most levels. Above 400 you'd probably always want the shuttle to bring you down, too. How "green" is that?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughJarres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel is very nice. The rooms are gorgeous and very clean. Very "green" property so there is no A/C; which would have been nice as one day was really hot and humid. Also, you must take short, fast showers because you are only allowed a certain amount of hot water before you run out. Not so easy with a family of four getting ready. If you run out, you have to wait a while for it to heat up again. I loved the grounds and the pool. The breakfast that was included was very good. Traditional CR food with lots of little extras. Didn't find the staff very helpful. We wanted to order food from somewhere in town one of the nights. We asked the front desk if they could recommend or give us information on somewhere to order pizza or something. We were told that they don't give information for any restaurants off property. They only want you to eat there. I also asked someone at the front desk if they could help me with making a long distance call. They basically ignored me. The location is ok as you can walk to town. It is about 30 minutes, down hill, take a taxi back. I think we would probably try another property next time in Monteverde. We found it expensive and were expecting a bit more "high end" with better service.r

Room Tip: Try to stay in a building close to the lowest level. It is a long long walk from the higher building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

When we decided to go to Monteverde Hotel El Establo was very well recommended by people we know that traveled there. When we arrived, the first thing you notice is the great service from every employee working there, management have done great job in achieving this. We were simply treated with first world class service...
Rooms on the 400's have an spectacular view to the Nicoya's Peninsula and are equipped with all you need to treat yourself just fine. The bathtub for two in the room is a luxury.
We ate at the two restaurants, dinner was very good and the menu had great variety, i order a stake that was one of the best ever.
Ones you are at the Establo, you have many options right there like; Canopy tours in the property with great and professional staff, Spa, indoor/outdoors pool and very added value, the view from pretty much all the property.
Me and my wife went to the SPA at night and was a wonderful experience and the fact that you receive the massage next to the jungle makes it a unique experience.

Totally recommended, if i go back to Monteverde, that is the place i'm going!

Special thanks for all the personnel that attended us in such a welcoming way.

Room Tip: We stayed at the 400's and no complaint there, it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robertoloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Three nights here and very good place to stay. Big place accommodation all the way up hill. We were glad we were in lower block on ground floor, room 106, although shuttle provided to take guests up and down hill. Amazing views from our room and probably even better from higher up. Room very spacious and immaculately clean. Two very comfortable queen size ( by English standards) beds, fine cotton sheets and for the first time since we've been in Costa Rica, more towels of good quality than we've seen before. Efficient and clean bathroom, plenty of hot water. Excellent breakfast and, one lunch in restaurant, very nice staff. Only criticism that might be a nuisance for some, wind seems to whistle through open areas behind rooms also anyone walking and talking on stairs very noisy, can hear everything.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BucksLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Very nice hotel. We were only their a night, but we took full benefit of the happy hour which was buy on get one of the same drink. The restaurant itself was very expensive so we didn't go. There are many restaurants in Monteverde itself better priced. The rooms were beautiful and large. The buffet breakfast was great and I heard the pool was nice from other vacationers. They had a free shuttle through the resort, which is nice because it is big place. They had a night time nature walk which I would've did, but I'm afraid of pumas (not common to see but I wasn't taking the chance). My only real complaint is when someone is being loud in the hallway you can hear it very clearly in your room because of the type of the windows in their bathrooms. I'm not sure how much the place costed since it was part of a tour we took.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Establo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Establo

Address: Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $104 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Establo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty cloud forest of Monteverde, El Establo offers the best quality services that will make your trip an unforgettable experience: The area`s best view, heated indoor pools, spa, restaurants, café-bars, special events center, internet access, souvenirs shop, tennis court, basketball court, mini soccer court, hiking trails, canopy tour and the most charming staff. This half Costarican – half Quaker, family owned hotel, will allow you to share the best of both cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Establo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Establo Hotel Monteverde
El Establo Monteverde
El Establo Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing