We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hillside retreat”
Review of El Establo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Establo
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the 700 building (third highest from the top of the hill). Beautiful bathrooms with jacuzzi tubs, walk-in-showers, and contemporary vessel sinks. The rooms have balconies and floor to ceiling windows looking toward the Gulf of Nacoya.

Rooms have no heat or A/C, but not needed as the temperatures are cool at night and moderate overall. Free tram service will take you from the restaurant, reception, pool, etc. to your room within about 5 minutes. We found the restaurant to be slightly overpriced, and the food quality was average. However, they did serve a hearty hot breakfast for free, with the option to buy an omelet for $2 USD. The hotel has a 5-terminal internet cafe, and a helpful concierge.

Room Tip: The higher the number of the room, the higher up the hillside and the farther from the restaurant, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itraveleverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 1,987 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great hotel with a nice spa and really nice rooms with a view that you will remember. The restaurants are okay but noting you will remember. Great staff and the area is very well looked after.I can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get room in the 600, 700 or 900 buldings, they have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was a family vacation with 10 of us -- 2 grandparents, 4 middle aged parents and 4 teenage children. This hotel more than met the needs of every one of us. We stayed in the 500 block of rooms - which were high enough to have a great view but not too far to easily walk to the restaurant and service area. And as others have noted - the shuttle service is very efficient if you need it.

The grounds are gorgeous with great views, lots of beautiful flowers, plants and wildlife at every turn. We also loved the activities - the night walk and the on-site zip lining.

Best of all, the staff and service were great. It felt like they really enjoy their work and love their country and want every visitor to love it also.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank bmh1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

El Establo is almost a whole other world as soon as you enter it. The hotel backs into a cloud forest and has beautiful manicured and 'wild' areas all around the rooms. We had a room that was at a higher level away from the reception area and the views of the lakes and mountains around was spectacular. Every morning we would walk through a chorus of different birds that roost in the trees within the hotel grounds.

The breakfast and lunch options within the hotel restaraunt were good though dinner choices were limited and expensive. Also, the 'hot' water pool is not really a heated pool. The water is just at ambient temperature, which in December was not very inviting.

But just for the beautiful setting in and around the hotel, this definitely gets a top vote from us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sreeram N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

As soon as we drove up to the entrance, my husband knew this was not going to be good. No one came out to help us with our luggage. We stayed in the 800 building with beautiful views. But, we were on the lowest level which is like going into the dungeon. Dark and dank. The walls in our rooms were cracked. The screens had holes so no opening of windows. I can't complain enough about the noise every time someone left their rooms. It is an echo chamber of doors slamming and people talking. Breakfast was not very good. $2.00 extra for an omelette or pancakes. The room consisted of two beds, two rocking chairs and a tv. The upper pool had eight chaise lounges for a huge complex. The gym equipment, some of them broken. Whoever is managing this hotel should be fired. Having just come from the hotel kioro in Arenal, which was wonderful, this was a true disappointment .

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Just read Stacy's comments, and completely concur with her. We stayed In the 700 level rooms, and enjoyed the spectacular views out onto the Pacific in the distance. The rooms are fine for interior Costa Rica standard, the bathrooms being the best feature. Yes, hot water for showers is limited due to the boiler capacity and water preservation - but isn't one of the reasons why we travel to CR to experience and support Eco tourism?
The food in the hotel restaurant was ok (buffet style dinner and breakfast), nothing spectacular. I would recommend taking advantage of the pool and gym on the 500 level, nice views and great place for a sunset drink. The shuttle bus service within the hotel grounds worked great, so you don't have to worry about walking up and down the steep hill - unless you want the exercise...

Room Tip: Ask for a room at least on the 500 level or higher!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelandLearn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The views from our eighth level rooms were just breathtaking! A very clean hotel. The rooms are somewhat dated and minimalistic, however the bathrooms were modern. No controls for heat or cooling in the room, but if you are high enough, the fresh air was refreshing during the day. I would like to give a shout out to Richard, the restaurant manager. He was kind, professional, and did his best to accommodate all of our food allergies.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 20 in Monteverde
1,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#4 of 7 in Santa Elena
749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Establo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Establo

Address: Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $106 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Establo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty cloud forest of Monteverde, El Establo offers the best quality services that will make your trip an unforgettable experience: The area`s best view, heated indoor pools, spa, restaurants, café-bars, special events center, internet access, souvenirs shop, tennis court, basketball court, mini soccer court, hiking trails, canopy tour and the most charming staff. This half Costarican – half Quaker, family owned hotel, will allow you to share the best of both cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Establo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Establo Hotel Monteverde
El Establo Monteverde
El Establo Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing