We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swiss Chalet type hotel”
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Belmar
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Swiss Chalet type hotel”
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We were not impressed with our room in the Annex at the Belmar as it was too large to be comfortable. The bedding on the bed did not fit and therefore led to an uncomfortable night's sleep. The shower was uncontrollable and in fact was dangerous as the temperature varied between cold and boiling. The view from our room was over very close vegetation not over the Pacific as we were led to believe. However other members of our party had a better experience and therefore think that we had the "duff" room. Breakfast was served on the table for all to share which meant walking up and down to select dishes on offer. A buffet style would have been more appropriate.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crimpsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    283
    62
    22
    12
See reviews for
273
776
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Our family of five stayed here Dec 30, 2009 - Jan1, 2010, and never will again. A pretty property, but stinginess abounded: tiny soap scraps, not one drawer in our room to put away stuff, and a meager breakfast - the worst ones we had in all of Costa Rica - with waitstaff who delayed forever in refilling the milk pitcher on the coffee service table. But the crowning touch was when one of us asked how to make a phone call to the US, and was TOLD to use the phone in his room. He asked price, and was informed it would cost "$10 or $15" for a 3-minute call. Fluent in Spanish, he asked in both languages.
Upon homecoming, his next credit card bill showed a charge of $150 for two 2-minute calls! I've since learned from old Tico hands that most reputable hotels will not use these ripoff 3rd-party services, or that their staff will warn you, if the hotel does use them. Not only did Belmar's desk staff NOT warn us, they encouraged us to use that method of contact. Additionally, a small old camera of mine was stolen at the hotel, from the common area. The few other guests there with us all had much better cameras, and wouldn't likely have taken an old one without a recharger. We had to beg the desk staff to review their security camera tapes, which they would not allow us to see. In fact, they did not even tell us they had a camera trained on the lounge area where I'd left my camera. My daughters saw it, and had to repeatedly ask them to look at the tapes. I doubt anyone ever did. I was sorrier to lose the photos than the camera itself. I posted a notice, asking for a link to a download of the memory card's contents, but the staff probably removed my petition as soon as we left. The desk staff's general attitude was callous and uncaring, and more than a bit arrogant. From the letter we got afterwards from the hotel owner, Hans Bellmar, I think this attitude reflects his own towards his hotel's guests.
My advice: stay away! There are many other nice properties in Monteverde. Some are more conveniently located, too.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuturista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audubon, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2010

For starters, the management and staff at Hotel Belmar scored major points with me right off the bat. By mistake I had booked my room for the wrong night. When my wife and I showed up for our room we were informed that the reservation was for the previous night. We were told there were still a couple of rooms available and it would be no problem giving us a room. They then preceeded to inform us that they would not charge us for the previous night when they certainly had every right to.

The hotel was in a location off the main highway to Monteverde. If you are arriving by your own car, look for the gas station that has no gas pumps as your landmark to turn. You are turning on to a dirt road which looks like it will dead end. Like most of the country, there are no signs telling you were to turn for the hotel. Once we found the hotel, we found it to be in great spot. The grounds of the hotel are very peaceful. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woolbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

The Hotel Belmar has a nice quiet, lodge-y feel to it. The rooms are simple but nice, and we definitely appreciated their efforts to be as eco-friendly as possible. The food at the restaurant as well as their service were both exceptional. One of the unexpected perks was the beautiful, but short, hiking trail just outside of the hotel. When we stayed there it was very windy outside and the roof ended up being very loud through the night as a result. So, I'd recommend not getting a room on the top floor. The only other downside is the inability to walk to much of anything, but a cheap taxi ride can get you anywhere you want to go. Otherwise a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lessthanpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

My best friend and I stayed for two nights at the Hotel Belmar, and wanted to rearrange our trip so that we could spend more nights here. We thought the entire hotel was lovely, with the most beautiful grounds and views imaginable. Yes, there were a couple of bugs around the hotel, but it´s kind of expected when you leave the windows open for fresh air in a rainforest. And the entire region is damp (again: it´s a RAINFOREST), so naturally the hotel is going to experience some damp as well. Our room was lovely and very clean, and the staff at the hotel was unfailingly polite and helpful. The hotel is also located near some wonderful hiking trails. We ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel, and found the food and service wonderful. Oh, and the fact that the hotel is certified sustainable and eco-friendly was a huge bonus.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Road to the hotel is really awfull (as in many places in Costa Rica).
Hotel reception is ok. Free internet.
Rooms ok, depends on room. Basement not as good as second floor. Nice view at the garden from the room.
Relatively cold in room (windows cannot be completely closed).
Nice garden with jacuzzi.
Better eat in the cosy town of Santa Elena or along the road towards the National Park: only a five min drive.
Breakfast could be better.
Canopy - hanging bridges in neighbourhood are really nice!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BP1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2009

This hotel is certainly "nice," but it didn't offer the level of service or luxury we were expecting from our online research. Here are the highlights:

* The hardwood floors are beautiful but noisy; you can constantly hear movement on the floor above you. There was also so much oil on the wooden floors that moving around in socks was tantamount to moving on a skating rink.

* The staff is efficient but rather uninspired. They performed their jobs well but rarely with a smile. Normally this wouldn't have made much of a negative impression on us, but we had just stayed at the Manatus Hotel in Tortuguero, where the staff is friendly, personable, and engaging.

* The building generally looks as if it could use a crisp renovation, especially on the lower floors, which another reviewer rightly likened to a basement.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackypaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.0 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Property: Hotel Belmar
Address: 300 Meters East of the Gas Station,, 5655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belmar 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica's lush cloud forest, nestled in the mountaintops of the Monteverde Reserve, the venerable, world-renowned Hotel Belmar offers its guests truly unique experiences full of natural wonder, elegance, and warm friendly service - all within an unprecedented sensitivity to the preservation of the environment. With the coveted award for 5 levels of sustainability, Hotel Belmar's commitment to the environment as well as the local community has been unyielding for over 30 years. With recent upgrades aimed at presenting an even better Hotel Belmar, guests can expect a variety of exciting room styles, features, and amenities designed for exclusive, unforgettable comfort, quality, and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Monteverde
Hotel Belmar Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing