We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel with splendid views”
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Belmar
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine hotel with splendid views”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Belmar in February 2014. The welcome by Reception staff was outstanding. Our room, adjacent to the restaurant, had very comfortable beds, a spacious balcony with far-reaching views and was totally peaceful. The bar and restaurant staff were very welcoming and friendly. We had cocktails at 'happy hour' whilst viewing the magnificent sunsets and ate at the restaurant each night. The food here was very well considered, prepared and presented and was complemented by a good wine list. We also had organic tea in the annexe over the road whilst sitting on a terrace, also with fabulous views. The grounds are charming with a lake at the bottom with some seating; we were accompanied on the walk by the neighbours lovely little dog. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The only downside was that on one night due to the wooden flooring used throughout the hotel, the sounds from guests in the room above walking about late at night and early in the morning was disturbing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    284
    62
    22
    12
See reviews for
283
786
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. Our group of eight booked two rooms in the main hotel and two on the chalet. The wood paneling is somehow relaxing and so perfect with the views. The views are amazing, the staff is friendly and the breakfasts were great - including lots of fresh fruit, homemade tortillas and good coffee with steamed milk. Anyway, we found this gem using TripAdvisor reviews so I figured I need to pass along the favor to future travelers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRM464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The hotel looks like a Swiss chalet perched to take advantage og the views. The bedrooms are servicable but could do with a fairly serious renovation. Without the restaurant and bar, which were a high point, I would have scored the hotel as average. Pity the same care that has been lavished on the grounds hasn't been extended to the hotel building.

Room Tip: Peninsula superior room on first floor for a balcony with distant view of the Pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival it seems like you might be in the Alps given the chalet look of the hotel. Inside it is exquisite with wood panelling everywhere. We had a room in the chalet annexe with views into the forest. It can be a litle formal but we never felt uncomfortable. The staff were friendly and the restaurant excellent with classy looking tasty food changing daily. Breakfasts were huge and buffet style but very tasty. The hotel is just outside Sta. Elena (15 min walk) but will organise any activity you want. The grounds are fantastic and you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. The sunsets sipping cocktails on the veranda were fantastic. For a bit of luxury in Monteverde you can't go wrong with Hotel Belmar.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieyaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Being a mint on the pillow couple, I took away a star because of the very huge bug near the door of our room the first night . We were tired from the long,long trip from NY. I didn't want to deal with this part of the cloud forest's nature..... Keep reading..... Our third floor room was large, beautiful and very clean. It was also appointed like a five star hotel. We felt like we were above the cloud forest. The view was amazing! The included breakfast was very good with great coffee. The dinners were delicious and fairly priced. Staff were all friendly and helpful....we would highly recommend this hotel.... ok, maybe a mint on the pillow would be nice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mind's Eye
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Our room had fabulous views of the Monteverde rainforest. We could even see the Pacific in the morning in the evenings from our balcony. The breakfast is really great. The food at the restaurant at night was also great. The hotel staff demonstrate impeccable professionalism and service. We were thoroughly satisfied with our experience here. The rooms are nice, with a Swiss chalet feel. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank romney1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in peninsula superior due to website pics. Room and views even better than website. Front desk easily arranged tours we wanted with transportation for cost or less than if we arranged ourselves. Recommend highly trapiche tour, selvatura hanging bridges with guide and curi canchi.
Hot breakfast with to order omelets. Restaurant good with fabulous views but not many sandwiches but note that room service menu does so if you like ask for food off room service menu. We did not use the jaccusi or go for the walk on the grounds. I watched the npmaid clean the room and she cleaned every speck of the room and came twice day!!
I recommend as a not to miss.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DebbyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Property: Hotel Belmar
Address: 300 Meters East of the Gas Station,, 5655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belmar 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica's lush cloud forest, nestled in the mountaintops of the Monteverde Reserve, the venerable, world-renowned Hotel Belmar offers its guests truly unique experiences full of natural wonder, elegance, and warm friendly service - all within an unprecedented sensitivity to the preservation of the environment. With the coveted award for 5 levels of sustainability, Hotel Belmar's commitment to the environment as well as the local community has been unyielding for over 30 years. With recent upgrades aimed at presenting an even better Hotel Belmar, guests can expect a variety of exciting room styles, features, and amenities designed for exclusive, unforgettable comfort, quality, and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Monteverde
Hotel Belmar Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing