We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have ever stayed in. ”
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Belmar
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

This place knows hospitality. They pay attention to details and IMO that is what matters. The moment you walk in, you are greeted with a hot towel an welcome drink. We came before check-in (2pm) and roamed the beautiful grounds. They have two lovely hiking trails, 1 short and easy 20-25 minutes and another we didn't get to experience but is apparently longer. They also have their own lake That would be very pleasant to lay near if it is not raining out. The decor and cleanliness of the place is exceptional. Lots of warm wood makes you feel like you are on a luxury old-school ship. We had a room on the top floor in the main building and the views from our generously-sized balcony were phenomenal. You can even see the pacific. Complementary coffee and tea throughout the day was much appreciated on my end. They also have a separate building with yoga classes and a juice bar.

Two things that I wish we're different though minuscule; if they had a pool that would be fantastic. If wifi worked inside the room and not just around the hotel/ on balcony. Again, minuscule for me.

All-in-all, who doesn't love a hotel that provides turn down service with chocolates on your pillow at the end of your touristy day?

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Masha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. We had room 12 over the road which had a corner jacuzzi bath and views of the forest. Very private. The room is modern and made for comfort. We were able to nature watch from our balcony. There is small hiking trail ate the hotel which takes you along a river, we saw birds and lizards.
The breakfasts were of a good quality and variety. We ate at the restaurant twice and the food was delicious and huge portions. The bar is expensive but we bought beer and wine at the store.
The gardens are beautiful and well kept. We didn't use the garden jacuzzi, but it looked inviting.
The hotel is eco conscious, with recycling, using local produce, high quality organic toiletries, which I purchased as a treat.
The balcony in the dining area is great for sunrise and sunsets and wildlife watching, flocks of parrots and other birds flocking by. It's a great spot to relax.
I had a massage and face pack and this was good and not too expensive.
We took the bird watching tour with guise Jorge, he was great, knowledgable and experienced, we saw a lot of wild life and birds. The guided are university educated in all things biology and nature and this shows. We had a great hike with fond memories.
We also did the night tour, we saw lots of mammal, insects and birds incl. sloth . I can highly recommend these tours. We visited the Butterfly garden, and Christine the Canadian interns was very knowledgable about her subject and spoke about insects with passion, handling the most scary things with expertise.
There was a Christmas Parade in town, and this was fun, with all of the locals out to watch.

I recommend this hotel. We will be back.

Room Tip: We had room 12 across the road from the main hotel. Excellent for privacy and nature watching. It ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pampamlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Although the road leading to this hotel is terrible, the hotel by itself very good. There are two buildings and we stayed in the building which has the reception. The restaurant near the reception is a great place to watch sunset. Food is expensive but at least the quantity is decent. Taxi ride to city will cost US$ 4 each way. They serve coffee and tea 24 hours a day free of cost. Breakfast spread is good and the staff very very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iyengars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Belmar in November 2012.

RESORT: The hotel is mainly wood and reminds me of a Swiss Hotel though this one is nestled in the hillside of the rain forest. The view overlooking the Pacific Ocean is absolutely stunning both from the restaurant and the room’s balcony. Spent a lot of time on the balcony enjoying the view. The sunsets were breathtaking!!!! The staff were very courteous and friendly. Always available when you need something. Free delicious Costa Rican coffee was brought right to your room whenever you needed. There is also a quaint little pond on the property where one could relax and enjoy the outdoors.

ROOMS: You can tell this hotel was built a ways back. This is both a positive and negative. A positive because it gives the hotel a charm and character that is divine. A negative because the rooms are not very up to date and little bit out dated. This is literally our only complaint and it is a minimal complaint because the view from the room really makes up for it being outdated. It should be noted there is NO television, so be aware. We were initially disappointed, but in the end thought it was really nice having no television.

FOOD: The food was delicious! Dinner was great. Had a bacon wrapped filet mignon that was absolutely delicious and very well priced. Would have been double the price if we had eaten the same meal at home.

AREAS/ACTIVITIES: Great location up on the hill that gives spectacular views. Walking distance to gorgeous hiking and what is considered downtown Monteverde. Our favorite being Curi-Cancha wildlife refuge that is very close to the hotel. The walk is strenuous given the area is very hilly, so we took a cab back to the hotel since our legs couldn't handle the walk back up through the hills.

Overall, we would definitely recommend and even return to Hotel Belmar.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan_O812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Hotel Belmar is gorgeous! We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon. We were in the Canopy Room. We were level with the tops of the trees! It was stunning!!

The room was huge and the jacuzzi was fab!!! We had a balcony too. The natural products in the bathroom were lovely.

The Hotel is beautifully finished. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. The service and food was superb. You can tell this is a family run hotel. They take pride in everything they do.

While there we did the zip lining - highly recommend. And we did a coffee / cocoa tour - great fun!

If you are in Monteverde stayy here!

Room Tip: Stay in the Canopy Room - so high up and the jacuzzi is fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishtigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Had a one-night stay in this hotel/lodge recently and although the room (Pennisula) itself was nothing to brag about, everything else was top notch. Check-in reception was competent with great attitude and the small drinks provided were a nice touch and good first impression to this property. One can tell the staff from bellman to restaurant wait servers were well-trained to adhere to a very high standard in the hospitality world. The sunset view overlooking the Gulf of Nicoya from the balcony was magical. Best of all we had a fantastic dinner at the hotel that night. The food, drinks and ambience were remarkable and exceeded my expectation. For a second I thought I was dining at a high end fine dining establishment back in Napa valley wine country in California. Kudos to the chefs of Belmar.
Overall, HB will be our place to stay in MonteVerde.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toga1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My 2 friends and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was definitely the most beautiful hotel out of the 3 we stayed at during our trip. The views alone deserve 5 stars, and they are accessible at every point in the hotel including the guest rooms, which open up to a balcony. It reminded me of staying at a ski lodge, but a little bit fancier. The staff was extremely helpful in setting up tours and helping us with our luggage, and the wait staff were super friendly. We grabbed a few drinks at the bar (they have happy hour there called "tico time") and sat on the balcony during sunset, which was beautiful. The building next door houses the spa, yoga classes, and juice bar (the juice was amazing). It was definitely a special experience and this hotel was one of the reasons why Monteverde was my favorite part of my trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
526 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Address: 300 Meters East of the Gas Station,, 5655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $221 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belmar 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica's lush cloud forest, nestled in the mountaintops of the Monteverde Reserve, the venerable, world-renowned Hotel Belmar offers its guests truly unique experiences full of natural wonder, elegance, and warm friendly service - all within an unprecedented sensitivity to the preservation of the environment. With the coveted award for 5 levels of sustainability, Hotel Belmar's commitment to the environment as well as the local community has been unyielding for over 30 years. With recent upgrades aimed at presenting an even better Hotel Belmar, guests can expect a variety of exciting room styles, features, and amenities designed for exclusive, unforgettable comfort, quality, and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Monteverde
Hotel Belmar Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing