We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not room 27!”
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Belmar
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was a disappointment for us after the #1 rating on tripadvisor. Despite booking months ahead I did not get the type of bed I requested and they gave us room 27 which is right beside the kitchen and dining room (both room and balcony). You hear all the conversations of the dining room until it clears for the night. I was not impressed with the desk manager who had little to offer to help the situation with an attitude that made it worse. The dining room was ok.

Room Tip: Do not take room 27
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolandIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbelmar, Gerente at Hotel Belmar, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear CarolandIra,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am very sorry you didn’t get the type of bed you requested when you booked your room with Camino Travel. I understand this can be very frustrating.
As you know, this matter was completely out of our hands, and we believe it might be better to review your travel agency in that respect. We are very careful to always provide the accommodations that our guests request.
The reservation we received from your travel agency was for a Peninsula Room, which is precisely the room we had for you upon your arrival. All of our Peninsula Rooms have two queen size beds, and this is very clearly stated in all the information representing our hotel. Notwithstanding the fact that it was not the fault of our reservations department, we did everything in our power to accommodate you in a different room with a king size bed. In fact, we presented you several possibilities, that you declined. I am very surprised to hear that you didn’t find our front desk staff helpful, since I myself was present to instruct them in the process of providing several different alternatives for you.
We believe that the statements in your review are misleading because they seem to suggest that this error in booking was the fault of our hotel when in fact it wasn’t. I personally showed you the reservation sheet made months ahead where you agency clearly requests a Peninsula Room.
Since your review, we have thoroughly inspected room 27 and have corrected the problems you pointed out by building a double acoustic wall between the balcony of the room and that of the dining room. We appreciated your comments about this since they were very helpful in allowing us to improve our facilities.
We hope to see you again at Hotel Belmar in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,343)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belmar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel looked brand new, it was so clean and nice but I was shocked that it was one of the oldest hotels in the area. We had a room with a beautiful view, the food was excellent and the coffee toped it off for me. If I had to complain about one thing is that the weather was horrible, it rained the whole 2 days that we were there, so that cancelled our zip line trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursenatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This beautiful, small hotel is a well-kept secret. The interior and exterior alike was warm and welcoming in its atmosphere, wonderfully appointed, and easy to get around in. The restaurant looks out over perfectly groomed grounds. The rooms are wonderful, with balconies big enough to sit out on on a sunny day. The place was so clean that I ran into a glass sliding door when I could not see any smudges or film on it! The staff was most helpful, the food was really tasty, and the included breakfast was amazing! The on-site self-guided trail was superb also. We would come back to this family-owned gem in a minute!

Room Tip: Second floor has the best views
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in january 2013. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean. Our only minor complaint was that the walls were thin. We loved waking up and having coffee on the balcony with its amazing view. The surrounding area was great, we enjoyed checking out the small lake, walking through the small trail and relaxing in the hot tub. It is slightly further from town than some of the other hotels, but we liked that, we felt it made it feel secluded while still relatively close to town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montrealtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Exceptional customer service, food was amazing, views from the restaurant incredible, room was clean & comfortable & beautiful. Staff were so friendly & went above & beyond to help us & ensure
we had a great stay. Loved everything about this hotel & would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chazbangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This review is from Sept. 2009. We arrived here via the taxi/boat/taxi to Monteverde, which is a great scenic ride. The drive after the boat is kind of harrowing up a mountainside but not too bad. We checked in about noon and then went on the ziplining tour at Selvatura. The breakfast here was very subpar - I recommend picking up some things from town and doing breakfast on your own. The rooms were great; clean and basic. We had an unfortunate incident where the lock was jammed and they had to break our door open and we changed rooms - sometimes it happens and it wasn't a big deal.

Stay in the main room rather than the chalet - although the chalet is a nice place to relax (read or play pool). The best thing about this hotel was the garden and hot tub. It's very relaxing and pleasant. Flor de Vida is a good restaurant option in the town.

Room Tip: Main building rooms on 2nd floor are quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebelmar, Owner at Hotel Belmar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Apu D,

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate feedback and I am sure other travelers appreciate the advice.

You will be happy to hear that since your visit in 2009, the hotel has undergone some major renovations and improvements.

We renovated our rooms, turning our chalet rooms into deluxe rooms with large terraces, floor to ceiling windows, bathrooms with forest views and hot tubs, etc. and did some improvements in our main building rooms.
We built a juice bar, a boutique and a yoga room and expanded our main bar and balcony.

We also upgraded our services and amenities including our breakfast .

Our breakfast, although it has always been fresh and home made, now includes:
gallo pinto, eggs, omellettes made to order, three kinds of homemade bread, 2 kinds of homemade jams, fresh tropical fruits, freshly squeezed orange and fruit juices, homemade granola and yoghurt, local ham and bacon, fresh artisanal cheese, freshly brewed Costa Rican coffee, and other delicious things.

We hope you will come back to our hotel in the future and enjoy the cloud forest with us.

Kind Regards,

Pedro Belmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I just left a few days ago and continued our travels to other places in Costa Rica. What makes this hotel and area unique is the absences of big over the top attractions and hotels. The hotel itself is just a little out side of town (1500 - 2000 col taxi ride) and is situated in its own little pocket of the cloud rain forest. When you first arrive you are warmly greeted by the staff and the amazing view that the property offers. We arrived a little early, so we grabbed lunch on site and took a stroll down to their pond. By the time we came back, our room was ready and they helped us up stairs ( just 1 flight to walk up) and we started to settle in. First thing to note would be the view, and best of all no tv. The bathroom are in the room, but I will say that the thin walls did make for some interesting morning calls. I really appreciated their commitment to the environment, so no flushing toilet paper, that goes into the garbage can. You get used to it after the first day. The food on sight was good, but there are better restaurants located near by ( check my review for the town later on). The room itself was nice and was a perfect way to start our honeymoon. But again, keep in mind those thin walls. The staff was really friendly and considerate. There was actually a fellow Canadian bar tending, so she gave us some great tips on what to do locally. In the end, it was worth the price we paid and I felt we got a good bang for our buck. Just remember this area is a little cooler then the rest of Costa Rica, so bring some long sleeve shirts and pants.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BBmtl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.5 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Address: 300 Meters East of the Gas Station,, 5655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $151 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belmar 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica's lush cloud forest, nestled in the mountaintops of the Monteverde Reserve, the venerable, world-renowned Hotel Belmar offers its guests truly unique experiences full of natural wonder, elegance, and warm friendly service - all within an unprecedented sensitivity to the preservation of the environment. With the coveted award for 5 levels of sustainability, Hotel Belmar's commitment to the environment as well as the local community has been unyielding for over 30 years. With recent upgrades aimed at presenting an even better Hotel Belmar, guests can expect a variety of exciting room styles, features, and amenities designed for exclusive, unforgettable comfort, quality, and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Monteverde
Hotel Belmar Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing