We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Awesome View!!”
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Belmar
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We just came back from our honeymoon in costa rica and were fortunate to have stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Belmar. The hotel was beautiful and we stayed in the building that had just been refurbished. We stayed in the Sunset Room which had an amazing view and a jacuzzi on the large balcony. The large king sized bed was extremely comfortable and hard to get out of! There is no a/c but surprisingly we didn't need it. We left the screened in door open the whole time and were fine! The included breakfast was some of the best we had and the rest of the menu was delicious! They have beautiful grounds and just a few minutes from downtown Monteverde. I highly recommend this place!!

Room Tip: Sunset room has a view of the mountain, the valley and even the lake far off if it's clear. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

Having seen almost everything there is to see in Monteverde, I can say with confidence that this is the nicest hotel in town. Secluded and at the top of a hill, Belmar is beautiful with a cozy/ rustic charm to it. Rooms have huge windows all around looking onto lush green rainforest. There's a little trail on the property where I spotted a family of monkeys on a tree- can't get better than that. The food and drinks at the restaurants are great, too! I got a cocktail with mint straight from the hotel garden. So fresh! I highly recommend this hotel.

Also, we did the tour of the forest through the hotel. Highly recommend- our guide was great. We got to see a bunch of quetzals-- a must do for both birdwatchers as well as people who never have thought about birdwatching in their lives. Either way, you'll love it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 95KateH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Location for this hotel was a little far out of town - long walk to anywhere or short cab ride. Nice hiking trails around the hotel, beautiful gardens, comfortable/simple room and nice hot tub area with view. Restaurant was good and staff friendly. Breakfast was included and was a local food feast! The hotel is green-friendly and for that reason I'd stay there again. Overall impression was good.

Room Tip: My room had a double door that opened to the forest side of the hotel. Left the doors open to hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This "hotel" is perched on a hill overlooking the forest. You see the cloud forest and even rainbows! The rooms were beautiful and the dining room was lovely. The staff was outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Everyone here is very gracious, helpful and obliging. We had a second floor end room with balcony and it was very private and quiet. The food here is wonderful....we only had breakfast but everything was fresh. Juice from all kinds of tropical fruit freshly squeezed, made to order omelettes, homemade jam made from local berries. The only downside was not enough ventilation in the rooms of fresh air....too few screens....but they lent us a room fan. Setting was pretty and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhonglic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Pros: Great location, far from town, gorgeous canopy room, like sleeping in the jungle, windows all around, bright, large, wood panelling, clean, comfortable bed, no need for a/c, very eco friendly and eco conscious, no bug spraying, no paper in toilet, organic food, recycling, compost, great tours, ask for Marcella to visit Santa Elena, she was a truly amazing guide, very friendly, knowladgeable, saw plenty of quetzals,male and female. Go to Selvatura, hanging bridge walk is beautiful, saw howler monkeys. Best food i had, delicious! helpful and efficient staff always with a smile.

Cons: no pool, far from town if that's not what your looking for. Be ready to share your room with some friendly little critters.

Room Tip: Go for newly remodeled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueeyedZosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Just got back from staying one night at Hotel Belmar. The hotel is beautiful - nestled in the forest, very wood oriented and naturalistic. Great view from the balcony area where you can sit and eat or drink. The room was nice, the bathroom was especially gorgeous. My only complaint was there was no ceiling fan (there's no a/c there) and you couldn't leave the patio doors open because there was no screen - so you couldn't have any air circulating. We stayed in the forest room, in which you have to cross the road to get to the building that houses the forest rooms. It was a bit odd - it looks like that used to be the main entrance area to the hotel - and now it's all deserted and empty. Also, the walls are very thin. But the beds are nice and we slept well. The best part of Hotel Belmar is definitely the restaurant and the service. The people working there went out of their way to help us and make us happy. The restaurant has FABULOUS food, extremely fresh and absolutely delicious. Wonderful, wonderful staff. Getting a welcome drink upon arriving? Nice touch. Overall we really enjoyed our brief stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misterburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Address: 300 Meters East of the Gas Station,, 5655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $221 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belmar 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica's lush cloud forest, nestled in the mountaintops of the Monteverde Reserve, the venerable, world-renowned Hotel Belmar offers its guests truly unique experiences full of natural wonder, elegance, and warm friendly service - all within an unprecedented sensitivity to the preservation of the environment. With the coveted award for 5 levels of sustainability, Hotel Belmar's commitment to the environment as well as the local community has been unyielding for over 30 years. With recent upgrades aimed at presenting an even better Hotel Belmar, guests can expect a variety of exciting room styles, features, and amenities designed for exclusive, unforgettable comfort, quality, and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Monteverde
Hotel Belmar Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing