We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with wonderful food!”
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Belmar
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
131 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Hotel with wonderful food!”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This was our second stay at the Belmar Hotel. We stayed here two years ago and decided to stay again this time around. Luckily it had not changed and was still the same lovely hotel as it was two years ago.

Even though driving to Monteverde is an experience in itself - gravel roads for hours with potholes, road works and cattle – it is a popular tourist stop. Its not as commercial as Arenal is but there are many hotels that are build more for bus tours with large groups. These tend to have rather large impersonal dinning halls rather than being cosy or romantic for couples or people looking for some privacy.

If you are looking for a quite family run hotel this is your hotel. Its slightly away from the main hub so it has a secluded feel to it. The hotel is in the style of a Swiss chalet with lots and lots of polished wood.

The reception is friendly and most of the staff seem to speak very good English and are very helpful in booking tours. Most tours will pick you up at the hotel.

The room we had was large with a balcony with chairs to look over the garden and pond. There are lots of birds to spot in the morning . There was no TV in our room which we liked as it made us feel more secluded. There is also a safe in the room which is large enough to store all your iPhones, iPads, cameras, passports and wallets. The rooms can be a bit noisy as they are completely made of wood but most people are getting up early to go on a tour.

What we most like about the hotel is the restaurant. Maybe because it is unexpected to find a hotel with such a tasty kitchen in what seems to be the middle of nowhere! The waiters this visit had a little less knowledge of the wine’s they serve in the restaurant but still they have some very good reasonably priced wines and we ate one of the best meals we had had in Costa Rica at the Belmar Hotel. Its not haute cuisine and its not the most refined but it definitely had the best taste. The potions are not huge but able and the desert was really good. Its not cheap but good food is not cheap. This is real value for well cooked food.

The breakfast buffet was included in our room rate. There is something for most people. Fruit- toast – jams – and eggs to order. And loads of coffee!

The hotel is away from most of the restaurants and even though in the day time its not a long walk – at night there is not much light and the roads are unpaved and very uneven.
But with a restaurant as good as this hotel – why go anywhere else!

They are working on the chalet building next door but we didn’t have any problems with the noise.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to couples looking for peace and quite after a day of exploring Monteverde!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLJDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    284
    62
    22
    12
See reviews for
276
779
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We were so happy to have stayed in this hotel after seeing our shuttle partners being dropped off at various other locations in Monteverde. The hotel had a great view, was very clean and nice, the dining room was very fancy and the meals were as well. We stayed on the top floor and had a wonderful view off our balcony. It rained during our stay in Monteverde, and during lunch one day the waiter brought over a heater for me because I was so chilled having not packed for cooler weather. The service was great. The place has kind-of a European mountain feeling, being built all out of wood. It was perfect for a mountain stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollie828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We spent two nights here and enjoyed it. Clean, recently remodeled rooms. Top floor rooms have a good view of the Gulf of Nicoya. Well staffed with friendly and helpful people. Restuarant had a good menu but the seafood did not seem to be fresh. Fish was way over seasoned with spices with about a 1/8 inch layer of italian seasoning which totally dominated the flavor. I had to scrape it off in order to eat it. Steaks looked pretty good. Rooms continue to undergo majoy renivations and should all be finished in a couple of months. We would return. CW Houghton

Room Tip: Get the upstairs room for quiet and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwhoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

For a mountain hotel, Hotel Belmar is very good. The rooms are attractively wood paneled and all the rooms have balconies over looking the mountains and the Bay in the far distance. Very helpful at the front desk. All in all a wonderful place to stay while visiting the cloud forest.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdcCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALEM
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This was such a wonderful surprise and way to end our 3 week trip to Costa Rica. The hotel is beautiful and our room on the top floor had the most incredible view of the cloud forest and pacific coast. The room was more than comfortable with a king size bed, plenty of space for luggage and a small refrigerator. The grounds are very nice and well kept and anyone staying there should take the time to walk through them. They do not have a swimming pool but have a very nice jacuzzi that is covered. The people working at the resort were very pleasant and helpful in every way. Some spoke better English than others but overall we had no complaints about communication. The food in the restaurant was very good and the service was outstanding. The road to Monteverde was probably the only down side to this location. It is a horrible gravel, bumpy road for over 12 miles (depending on which way you go.) But, it was worth it in my opinion!

Room Tip: Get the top floor or premium rooms, they have the best view. However, I think all the rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montanagirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ophelia, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We loved the Hotel Belmar. It reminds the visitor of a chalet in the Alps. Everything is wood, and the wood floors gleam. Our room had a balcony overlooking (in the far distance) the Pacific Ocean and Nicoya Peninsula. Unfortunately, it was cool when we were there, and we didn't get to sit outside much. The desk and dining room wait staff was so friendly and helpful. We loved happy hour and enjoyed the breakfasts and dinners in the dining room. We were close to town and the Monteverde Cloud Forest. My husband went rappeling off waterfalls and had a great time! We highly recommend the Hotel Belmar to anyone who travels to Monteverde.

Room Tip: Stay up high for a good view. The new building will be opening in the near future with many modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 568SusanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed on the top floor and had a beautiful view. The room was nicely furnished and the bed was confortable. The food in the restaurant was very good and reasonable. The front desk staff and the wait staff were very helpful and polite. Our rate was reasonable and breakfast was included. However, there were many negative. While I was downstairs in the restaurant $140 was stolen from my room. The front desk said it had never happened before and they would have to investigate. The thief had to go through all my things because the money was not out in the open. Nothing came of their investigation and I didn’t get any money back. I even emailed them when I got home and got no reply. The walls are paper thin and you could hear every conversation next door and the music from the bar below our room. They were remodeling the hotel building next door and the workers arrived at 6:00 am and began hammering and sawing. They continued working until 8:00 pm. They obviously didn’t care that the hotel’s current guest were being disturbed. We also had no hot water in the bathroom sink which they said they would fix but never did. Because of all the problems I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mimi708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbelmar, Owner at Hotel Belmar, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Mimi708,

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the views from our hotel, the beds and furniture in your room, as well as our food and service.

We were all very sad about what happened during your stay here. All of our employees have been with us for quite some time, and this has never happened before. As hard as it was for us to suspect them, we conducted an investigation and we filed a report to try to find whomever took your money. Unfortunately the police came to no conclusions.

I have to say that we did not appreciate your email (which was written in a rather threatening way) saying that you were waiting to see if you would recover your money to post a review. This makes me think that the negative content of your review does not reflect your true feelings about your stay with us. We are still waiting for information to give you a full report.

Finally, it is our policy, as is standard in most hotels around the world, to take responsibility for lost items left inside hotel security boxes only. Since there was a security box in your room and you decided to leave your money outside in your room, we cannot give you the money that was lost. However, when you came to us to let us know what had happened, we offered a complimentary meal and a discount as compensation, so that your stay with us wouldn't be spoiled. After your husband mentioned reapeatedly that you did not wish for any compensation, you declined the former, accepted the latter.

We are still waiting for some evidence on what happened in our hotel and will inform you as soon as we hear from the police.

Hoping to see you again at the Belmar.

Kind Regards

Pedro Belmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.0 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 20 in Monteverde
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Property: Hotel Belmar
Address: 300 Meters East of the Gas Station,, 5655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belmar 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica's lush cloud forest, nestled in the mountaintops of the Monteverde Reserve, the venerable, world-renowned Hotel Belmar offers its guests truly unique experiences full of natural wonder, elegance, and warm friendly service - all within an unprecedented sensitivity to the preservation of the environment. With the coveted award for 5 levels of sustainability, Hotel Belmar's commitment to the environment as well as the local community has been unyielding for over 30 years. With recent upgrades aimed at presenting an even better Hotel Belmar, guests can expect a variety of exciting room styles, features, and amenities designed for exclusive, unforgettable comfort, quality, and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Monteverde
Hotel Belmar Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing