We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is the best hotel we have ever been in. Essentially you are living in a large natural park, only 1 km from the Cloud Forest reserve. We saw from our window all bunch of birds and monkeys jumping on the trees, without even stepping out. Our room had a large - from wall to wall and from floor to sealing - window; and red wood floor, which you really want to walk on. This is absolutely incredible! It is so peaceful that we had to force ourselves out.
The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful in arranging the day.And if you stepped out of your room without your rain jacket, they will give you an umbrella and advice where is the best place to eat or where you have a better chance to see a sloth tonight.

Room Tip: I think, Junior Suite is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    260
    116
    34
    34
See reviews for
186
319
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Hotel Fonda Vela is a very nice place to stay. The help there is very friendly and the rooms are quite large. The bed was average in comfort and the shower rooms where a little compressed and the water temperature did vary somewhat. Neither of these issues were big problems but they did make the stay not perfect. There is a very large grounds behind the facility with a nice trail that you can walk around and look for various wildlife and plants. A person can also get on a dirt road that connects to the trail and walk a long ways behind the hotel until you get to a really large viewpoint of the entire valley. The food at the hotel is excellent. All the meals we ate there were fantastic! The breakfast, which was included with out stay, had the best french toast I have ever had! The help was always very friendly and happy to help. The hotel is located outside of Monte Verde along the road to the Monte Verde Cloud Forest Reserve. The entrance is probably only a little over a mile from the reserve so a person could just walk to it is they wanted to which is very nice because that attraction could be very full! Overall, I would recommend this as a great place to stay unless the shower space and temperatures and very important to you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jr1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Spent two nights at Fonda Vela - very, very comfortable - big spacious, beautiful rooms with incredible storage - if you were staying for several nights, no problem unpacking everything! Very lovely grounds to walk - great pool / rec area (with pool and ping-pong tables). Beautiful dining room - food very good (we only ate breakfast and lunch there). Nice service. Too many clouds for us to see the view from Fonda Vela (although we saw gorgeous views driving up to Monteverde), but that was OK. Enjoyed the artwork by the founder - fun to contrast some of his scenes from Canada with the mountainous, cloud-foresty area of Monteverde! Hotel is a small taxi ride from St. Elena which was a little drawback if you wanted to walk around this small village with its many restaurants and shops) and not deal with taxis - but the staff at Fonda Vela was quite willing to call for a taxi and it didn't take long for one to come (and price was quite reasonable).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very nice and 'dies the job'. The surrounds are very nice and give great opportunity for spotting various animals. Our room was very spacious and I particularly liked the 'sunroom feel' near the windows. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful with organising tours etc. the food at the restaurant was very good. However I would encourage them to have more choices for breakfast. While there was wifi in main areas, there was none in the rooms. Considering we have stayed at very cheap places with wifi, I found this disappointing. Overall a great hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
335 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Fonda Vela is a family business, built on a former dairy farm developed by Paul Smith, a Canadian who came to Costa Rica. The sons took over, and the father traveled around the world and painted. His paintings (all for sale) hang in the pubic areas and guest rooms of the hotel. The hotel is about 2 km from the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, but it's several miles of unpaved road from the main street of Santa Elena.

My room was quite large, with two large beds and a nice view out over the grounds and into the forest. The room has a refrigerator/minibar, but WiFi is only available in the lobby, restaurant, and pool areas. While most other hotels have a breakfast buffet, the Fonda Vela offers several options that are served at your table. It was good, not great, and I wish that they had let me make my own choices. The restaurant dinner was also good, not great, with an excellent fish dish, but also the blandest tortilla soup I have ever been served.

The 40 rooms are spread over a relatively large area, so there's a nice spacious feel to the Fonda Vela. There's also a nice trail that runs through the grounds. The hotel tries to be in harmony with nature and to encourage good ecological practices, which I appreciated. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and definitely made me feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluevoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

6. La Fonda Vela Hotel, Monteverde – 5 out of 5
Probably our favourite hotel in Costa Rica. The staff were lovely, the wildlife in the hotel grounds were spectacular (agouti, coatimundi, variegated squirrel, emerald toucanet, keel-billed toucan, etc), the restaurant and food were excellent and the view over the Gulf of Nicoya from the porch of our room was incomparable. We didn’t get to try the inviting looking pool and jacuzzi because we were just too busy sampling the delights of the area. It was also comfortably cool for Costa Rica so we weren’t desperate to jump in the water.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Is a beautiful place in the mountains with beautiful sight. We got there and we received an upgrade, never knew why, but we did appreciate it. The room was a Junior Suite, the biggest we had in the whole trip, with a King and Queen bed. The rooms don't have A/C, but trust me you don't need it. Big windows so you can enjoy the sight. We left everything at the room and went to Trapiche Tour, in a tour in a coffee, sugar cane and cacao field tour, after the tour we went to town for a while and then went back to the hotel. Went to the pool and jacuzzi area, that is real nice. The artwork throw out the hotel is amazing and most if not all were painted by the founder of the hotel.

Next day we went to Selvatura for a Zipline tour and a hanging brined tour. Both worth it. The park pick you up at the hotel and bring you back for free. Both tours were booked by the hotel for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trapp Family
Hotel Trapp Family
#9 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Property: Hotel Fonda Vela
Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde
Hotel Fonda Vela Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing