We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We were very disappointed with this resort. On the plus side, the grounds are beautiful and the rooms large, clean and comfortable. The staff is also very friendly. However that being said, it does look like the hotel is in a state of decline with renovations needed to make it more up to date. The wifi only worked in the lobby even though it was also supposed to work at the pool. The biggest downside was the food which was expensive and awful. After having lunch there once we decided to take a taxi into town for both diners. The hotel is far from town. Overall I would not recommend

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BreeOttawaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    252
    114
    34
    33
See reviews for
179
314
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed at Fonda Vela for two nights in December and loved the rooms and the setting. Enrique at the front desk was very helpful and he upgraded our room to a suit. The suit was nice with wood flooring & nice views. The whole property is nice but seemed a bit unkempt. The pool is covered and nice but it had a bunch of floating bugs and my daughter was afraid to get into. The hot tubs were nice but taken over by college kids. It was out of the city on gravel road but we had a car so no problems. It is very near (2-3 kms) the cloud forest though. the restaurant was pricey but Stella's bakery (about 1 km away) was excellent for breakfast and lunch. Lack of English channels and wifi did not bother us as we were trying to get away from those for a few days.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The room was HUGE with a sitting area. It overlooked nice grounds including a very kitschy sculpture. The hotel was fine, the front desk staff was extremely helpful (arranging taxis, checking on our pick ups etc). BUT you are essentially a 'captive'. It is a 15 min walk to any other restaurants or shops (downhill going, uphill returning). We took a taxi into town one night for dinner and walked down for lunch. Breakfast prices were high, dinner was more reasonable. It's a 5 minute ride to the Cloud forest, longer to get to the rain forest.

Room Tip: Junior suites were huge and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Trying to find a place close to the activities we wanted to do in the Monteverde area, we checked a small bed and breakfast; however, they only had a room for one night of our stay. Nearby was Hotel Fonda Vela where we had stayed 14 years ago when it and eco-tourism was very new.They did not have a room for 3, but offered us a junior suite for a very reasonable price. (The same as what we had paid at the Holiday Inn Express in Alajuela the previous night.) No meals included. The restaurant is a little pricier than in town, but may be preferable to a bumpy ride into town although the Tremonti Restaturant is close and excellent.

The room was huge with 2 king beds, every amenity and a fantastic view (except when the clouds obscure). The floors are exotic hardwood; the beds are very comfortable. There were 2 umbrellas in the room, which came in handy, terry-cloth robes, and a dehumidifier that we ran all the time since it was the rainy season. As in the rest of Costa Rica, water treatment is not built to handle toilet paper so it goes in a waste can. The hotel is a sustainable operation that encourages conservation of resources.

We spotted butterflies and birds in the beautiful gardens that are enhanced by humorous statuary and a fountain. The covered pool area can be enjoyed during afternoon rains, but it was too cold in early November for us; however, it was a good place to view the sunset. The buildings are connected by wandering pathways for strolling.

Internet access is only available in the lobby and restaurant, but we did take advantage of the 2 computers in the lobby and a phone to make arrangements for the rest of our trip. There were also a few travel books (including Lonely Planet) that we used.

Although it is a 10 - 15-minute bumpy ride into town, there are many activities closer to the lodge: a bat exhibit, butterfly gardens, Monteverde Cloud Forest, Children's Rain Forest, Cheese Factory, bakery, and community arts center.

We enjoyed our stay and would like to have stayed longer since there is much to do. Evenings come early so after a busy day it was good to relax in the room and watch a movie on the HD TV.

Room Tip: The junior suites are spacious with great views, but the smaller rooms have good views and are large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lives2Travel2Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed there for two nights with our kids and found the rooms and grounds beautiful. the wildlife on the grounds was excellent. The only negative was that the restaurant wasn't kid friendly. The hot tub could have been warmer too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at Fonda Verde in back in February and had a splendid 3 nights there. The grounds are beautiful with flowers and plants that you could only imagine in a botanical garden. Me and my wife enjoyed the covered pool which was nice because we were able to enjoy it even though it rained a little while we where there. My only complaint would be the distance from town but the staff was very helpful arranging transportation for activities. I would highly recommend staying here if you plan on traveling to Monteverde.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWUK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here since the other hotels were booked. It's abit far from town but its also close to the cloud forest . We walked from the hotel to the sanctuary it took about 30-40 min. Also there is an Italian restaurant called trimonti about 10 min wall from the hotel which was very good.
We asked for a free upgrade to the junior suites which they did free of charge for us.
The hotel restaurant is not good. We had lunch and breakfast there. We did not care for it. But sometimes you don't have many options.
When we were there they were doing maintenance on the pool so we did not use the pool or the jacuzzi. But would have since there is only wifi in the common areas of the hotel.

The beds were comfy and the rooms were large. I would recommend the place for families. For the price we paid I think it's a fair place. But we wished we stayed closer to town.
Friendly staff at reception spoke English and recommended tours and places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowiebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#9 of 23 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Property: Hotel Fonda Vela
Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde
Hotel Fonda Vela Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing