We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fonda Vela
Nearby Hotels
El Establo(Monteverde)
$116
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines(Cerro Plano)
$87
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cala Lodge(Monteverde)
$92
$70
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monteverde Inn(Monteverde)(Great Value!)
$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Bosque(Monteverde)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$236
$229
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Trapp Family(Monteverde)
$97
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belmar(Monteverde)
$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveler rating
248
295
133
42
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
295
133
42
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitecloud forestpool areacosta ricahardwood floorsoverlooking the groundshotel groundslarge windowstwo nightshotel restaurantking bedcheese factorysanta elenatour companyno wifi in the roomsspread outstandard room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
554 - 559 of 757 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2008

Stayed at the Fonda Vela with 2 other friends on a trip to Costa Rica. The hotel was extremely isolated, but we were looking for a relaxing stay in the mountains. The Fonda Vela gave us exactly what we were looking for! Breakfast in the morning was excellent (I don't believe it was included in our rate) and dinner at the restaurant at night was wonderfully soothing with dark wood walls and ambient fireplace.

Our room was large and very accommodating, with our own balcony/bench overlooking the mountains. Very picturesque!

I would recommend this place for anyone looking for a quiet stay in Monteverde.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank juliasalerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

Monteverde is fantastic so any hotel there is in a great area. The Fonda Veal was nice but a bit dated. We stayed in a junior suite which was huge and and great floor to ceiling windows overlooking the gardens. The room was fine but the bathroom was a bit grubby and outdated. The food was very good. The grounds are nice except for the slightly spooky statues everywhere!

Stayed: April 2008
Thank safariSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We chose this the Fonda Vela as a recommended choice from a certain popular travel guide. The hotel itself consists of several individual housing units each with several rooms in them. The rooms are a good size, wooden panneled with a small fridge. The bathroom was fine although showing its age a bit. The hotel grounds are pleasant and well maintained. Thesetting is nice with great views across the valley.

The disadvantage of the Fonda Vela is its some distance from 'downtown' where the majority of the the other hotels / restaurants are located. If you've got a car its fine - although the bumpy ride to a fro can get quite uncomfortable. If you are taking taxis then its probably a bit far out if you plan to travel into town frequently. You can walk to a couple of restaurants / coffee shops nearby but there's not much to choose from.

It is a really great location for the main Cloud forest reserve which is a few minutes away and well worth a visit. Take the guided tour (book ahead) but also wander the trails by yourself once the tour is finished. We saw lots of wildlife on our own and really enjoyed the forest.

The staff at the Fonda Vela were very helpful and accomodating throughout our stay. We ate breakfast there a couple of times which was a buffet and was very good. Remember to ask for a discount if you have children eating with you!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trinigasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights in a junior suite. The room was huge with 2 king beds, fridge,TV & coffee maker. Loads of highly polished wood furniture which was a bit over bearing. A big problem was the bathrooms, very dated, stained bath, even the towels were tatty, very old fittings which badly need a refurb. The staff were pleasant and the food was good and very reasonable. This hotel is a long way from town,even to walk to the excellant bakery,"Stellas" was a 20 minute walk. Very little facilities at the hotel but from the opinions of people we met, it sounded like Fonda Vela was on of the better hotels in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

We stayed at a Junior Suite at the Fonda Vela hotel for two nights; the place is beautiful and located near the entrance to the cloud forest park.

The road leading to the hotel is not the best, but it is what is expected as Monte Verde otherwise would be flooded with an excessive amount of tourists and probably look like a "cruise-ship town"
Hotel is a bit of a distance (5-10 min drive) from"downtown" area. However, this also places you a bit further away from the typical backpacker setting.

Art around the hotel is great and painted by the founder, staff is great and attentive, bright big rooms, resturant is pretty good, however keep in mind all the other restaurants are in town; and you might get tired of this one restaurant quickly. Great place for a few days!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thedane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews