We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay in nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Saint Georges, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The rooms are located in different building among the trees and birds. The road going there from Santa Elena is typical of ground roads of Costa Rica... Everything was all right. Rooms were confortable and clean. Service was OK. You can take a bird tour at 6 am around the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    260
    116
    34
    34
See reviews for
186
319
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penryn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel wasn't as good as the others we stayed at during our three weeks in Costa Rica, primarily because the restaurant had no ambience. Although the staff were attentive in taking orders etc. it seemed almost to be an automatic response. The seating area outside our rooms was a bench shared with the next door apartment and smoke drifted through the window when someone sat outside to smoke. Reception staff were very helpful. the rooms were well appointed and there were even towelling robes provided. The swimming pool is of good size but because of the night time temperatures was cold. Beds were comfortable with plenty of bedding for the cold nights. Monte Verde Cloud Forest is within easy walking distance but as already stated the town is some distance away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view down the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired-08-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is the best hotel we stayed in during our holiday in Costa Rica. The rooms are completely clad in beautiful wood and are very big. The bathroom was small but had a large bath with shower over. Bath robes are provided. The grounds are lovely. From the restaurant at breakfast time we saw mot mots, toucans and squirrels feeding on fruit which had been put out for them to eat. The swimming pool is large and covered. There's also a table tennis table and table football. We ate in the restaurant and the food was good though pricey. Breakfast was good too. You have to try to regard the bad road leading up to the hotel as part of its charm. Tarmac doesn't seem to have made it to Monteverde yet.

Room Tip: If you can get an upstairs room the view would be better. Also some rooms are a bit of a walk from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisalis79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We recently returned from our first trip to Costa Rica and we enjoyed a wonderful time. Two days hiking in the Monteverde Cloud Forest was one of the highlights. Staying at the Hotel Fonda Vela was also a highlight. This hotel is a special place and not just because it is an easy walk to the Cloud Forest. The rooms are simply excellent, spacious, hard wood floors, lots of space, really comfortable bed; watch the sunset from the jacuzzi; walk the trails; enjoy the excellent food. The Tilapia Marinara was one of the best meals I have enjoyed - ever; it was that good. There is just a special feel about this place.

Room Tip: This hotel is nestled in its own parcel of land; no noise other than natural sounds; not a bad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Fonda Vela is one of the closest hotels to the Monteverde Cloud Forest, about a 2km uphill hike. The room was large and spacious, with a king and queen bed, tv, fridge, and sitting area with a nice view of the forest and sunset when the weather permits. The floors are all wood and quite slippery, don't just walk around in your socks! The bathroom was normal, with plenty of hot water and enough counter space for toiletries. No AC or heating, although its hardly necessary with the weather there.

It is fairly far outside the town of Santa Elena, although a cab ride down to town only cost 3500 colones during the day and 3000 at night ($6-7 dollars). The road up to this area is still unfortunately unpaved and unlighted, and the grounds of the hotel itself are gravel, although they were kind enough to have a pickup take our bags to the room when we checked in. There was a shuttle into and back from town at limited times which we never used.

We always had great customer service from the front desk staff, whom we called multiple times to book cabs, make restaurant reservations, and just ask about tours that we had not yet booked. There was no wifi in the rooms, although it was available in the lobby and the restaurant. However we found that the wifi was not always reliable, it seemed to be down a lot. There are lots of birds on the grounds, and hiking trails behind it (although I wouldnt do them without a flashlight and a map, as there were more than one with lots of forks).

Dinner reservations are required for the restaurant and we ate dinner there twice. The restaurant actually felt surprisingly classy, I almost felt underdressed when I first stepped in. The food was pretty good, I had bacon-wrapped filet mignon one night, and sea bass the next. The margarita wasn't skimping on the alcohol either.

The biggest cons overall I felt for this hotel was the distance from town (since we did not have a rental car, not suggested for this hotel) and no wifi service in the rooms, with unreliable wifi in the lobby and restaurant. Otherwise, it was an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a great view of the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kairynel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

After the grueling drive up to Monteverde and three hours hiking in the reserve, we were ready for a siesta and a meal. Like others, we were upgraded to a junior suite, which was much appreciated. The room was huge, with two beds and a large sitting area. We looked out over some wonderful grounds, with a fountain, sculptures, etc. After enjoying complimentary drinks at the pool bar and soaking in a hot tub, we had a nice dinner in the "fireplace room" part of the restaurant. Service was gracious and attentive, and the property couldn't have been nicer for the price. You will want to slow down a bit when you're here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDW_KSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New York
Level Contributor
244 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a very nice place with friendly staff and a very large room (only room I´ve ever had with a queen and a king bed) and a very good restaurant. It is out of town very close to the Biological Reserve. There is plenty of wildlife right on the hotel grounds (the blue headed Motmot was great). It is very quiet and relaxing here. One great thing is to do the night walk which is conducted right on the grounds of the hotel. We saw plenty of interesting wildlife with a great guide. They also have a nice pool. There are a few things lacking, however. There is no internet in the rooms, only at the front desk and the restaurant. The internet is very fast there however. Also the rooms have no heat or AC but the climate here makes that no problem at all.

Room Tip: There are multiple buildings and there is a walk to the restaurant but all seem fine. Ours was 40 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimKeeneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trapp Family
Hotel Trapp Family
#9 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Property: Hotel Fonda Vela
Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde
Hotel Fonda Vela Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing