We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but overpriced”
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very clean, spacious and had a comfortable bed and large TV (good because there is really nothing to do at night in Monteverde). The restaurant was okay, though the fish main courses were a little bit bland. However, for what it was, it was overpriced, especially considering that the $11/per person breakfast was NOT included in the price. There were no problems with our stay, and the staff was exceedingly pleasant, but I imagine you can get the same experience at many other hotels in the area for 1/2 to 2/3 of the price of the Fonda Vela.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 736 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2008

The Fonda Vela is a decent hotel for a visit to Monteverde. The hotel is right next to the park entrance, but it's on one of Monteverde's bad roads (of which there are many) and it really gets tiring after many trips down the road. The hotel's grounds were beautiful and there were plenty of places to relax in the sun. The service was quite good. The front desk staff were very helpful at arranging tours for us at the last minute.

For the setting and the service, I give the Fonda Vela above average marks. For everything else, I would give them below average marks. The dining at the restuarant is not good for dinner. The room is big, but it seems dirty and old. We found the bed to be uncomfortable and the sheets did not fit the mattress so they would come off repeatedly in the middle of the night.

We visited several hotels in the Monteverde and Santa Elena and we found that the Fonda Vela was probably the best hotel in the area, despite the negatives. Which says more about the area than the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newman_5a_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

Hotel Fonda Vela was our favorite hotel on our Costa Rica trip. The room (jr suite) was huge and furnished with beautiful furniture. The grounds were very nicely done with mixture of statues, etc. along with natural beauty. Staff was very friendly. Restaurant wasn't particularly cheap, but had good food especially for dinner. Main disadvantage is that it isn't in the downtown area so no real alternative places to walk to (you have to taxi to go anywhere else), though taxis are very plentiful and cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Webman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

The Fonda Vela Hotel has nice grounds, but certainly nothing to rival ANY of our other accommodations. The hotel is old, and very much a lodge, with few amenities. Our room was dark and cramped—most uncomfortable. There was a major plumbing leak in the room next to ours and one floor down. We were awakened by frantic pounding on our door one night from the very wet occupants who mistakenly thought we were directly above them. Our room faced the road, which was heavily traveled by four-wheel drive vehicles at all hours. We had no private balcony and the trails were short and nondescript. The fact that it is close to the Cloud Forest only ensured constant vehicle noise. The food was average and our one nice meal was ruined by a self-serving waiter who insisted on giving us a line on not using a credit card to tip for service. We did let the front desk know about this and we avoided any further meals at the hotel. Try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank satch95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We stayed three nights at the hotel. The hotel is located close to the cloud forest reserve and has a beautiful expansive property.
Many birds and a great place to view the sunset. The staff were helpful and courteous.

We ate dinner at the hotel resturant a couple of nights. Food was good, but nothing to write home about.

Our major concern was with the room. Fonda Vela has old units and a set of new units (these are the ones pictured on their website). We ended up in the old units - I suspect they are cheaper. Our room smelled a little mildewy, and since one of us has mold allergies, this created a problem. The window screens were torn in places and it looked like the whole place needed a bit more upkeep. The room was clean, but the bedding also smelled a bit mildewy.

We saw the New units, and they looked terrific from the outside. If you have any allergy problems, suggest you ask for a room in the new units - I suspect they are better.

I gave a rating of four because of location and property. Would have given it a five if the rooms were in better condition.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sirijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

We spent 2 nights at this wonderful establishment. They have beautiful grounds and are close to the Cloud Forest. One of the best places we stayed at in Costa Rica. We also had dinner one night in the hotel and the food was excellent. I recommend staying here if it is in your budget.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

I stayed here for 3 nights in Feb 2008. The hotel is in a beautiful, picturesque location 15 minutes walk (severely uphill) to the cloud forest entrance.

I staye din a junior suite which was a huge room with a king size and a queen sie bed, and a nice indoor seating area in a bay window. The room was comfortable and clean.

The only issue I have with the hotel is it's location which is quite isolated from the village of Santa Elena which is the only nearby village with any restaurants / bars / shops etc.

But if you are happy to stay in a high quality hotel, in a picturesque location, and are happy to take taxis or your rental car to the local village this hotel will be ideal.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank journeyman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,173 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
287 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
277 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $126 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde
Hotel Fonda Vela Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing