We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet in the mountains”
Review of Hotel Trapp Family

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Trapp Family
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Seymour, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet in the mountains”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are large and clean. Bathrooms are large too. Nice glass shower. There were great views! It was a little chilly, but there were plenty of warm blankets on the beds. We booked shuttles from the hotel to different activities in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poohbear48421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    253
    126
    38
    20
See reviews for
141
326
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a quiet, lodge style hotel with large rooms and large glassed in terraces. It is needing some TLC in upkeep and maintenance, starting to look worn. The staff was very nice and helpful. Dinner and lunch were good but the breakfast was very poor. They only offered watery scambled eggs, rice & beans, plantainand warm dry bread. It's the furthest hotel from Santa Elena but the taxi fare is reasonable $10 and the drive is always an adventure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is 3 miles off on a unpaved road from downtown Monteverde, but only a mile to Monteverde Reserve, staff is friendly, you can book the tours with the front desk and the shuttle will come pick you up. But after dawn, you don't want to go out, because the driving condition is bad, and there are not much stuffs around. Good thing the hotel has a restaurant, the food is really good. The room is big, but no AC or heat, very clean, view is good with a big glass wall towards the mountain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyflowerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I don't understand why this hotel is so underrated! We came to Monterverde without a reservation and after checking out a few other options around this was clearly the best choice! Although there is no pool the breakfast provided was great and the views were fantastic! The hotel had this "wood-cabin" feel to it but VERY modern. I would get a room in the main lodge as it is cheaper and less of a walk! The only complaint I have is that the maid walked in without knocking which was sort of rude but other then that I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmiqueo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nice lodge in the mountains of Monteverde. Staff made us feel at home right away. Large bedroom with a comfy kingsize bed. Wide windows with the view on the mountains.very quiet at night. Free wifi. A bit outside the city but a local bus stop at the door and goes to the small town of St.Elena or a taxi ($10). Breakfast was included but we found it disappointing. Coffee and orange juice good but the menu includes rice with beans, scrambled eggs and banana plantain. The bread was cold and not toasted enough. The staff was helpful. After asking the waiter brought me new toasts. Fruits and cereals would have been appreciated. The dinner menu was adequate- we tried different options and everything was good and the portions were plentifull. We went for a night walk (their suggestion) near the lodge and it was a success. Our guide was knowledgeable and motivated. We saw many animals and learned a lot. A pool would have been a plus. One word of advice: the stairs to get to the highest lodge are steep. If you are not in top shape ask for a bedroom in the main lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DidiD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the Trapp Lodge as part of our honeymoon and honestly, wished we would have spent time looking into other options between Monteverde and Santa Elena. The hotel is the furthest from town, and customer service is lacking. No amenities - no pool or jacuzzi so there is very little to do at night. They don't provide a coffee maker, shampoo, soap, or Kleenex in the room. No A/C or heat in room. Shower didnt drain well. Restaurant is mediocre. Be sure to bring your hiking shoes for the uphill hike from the main lodge to your room.

Positives: walking distance to the Monteverde Reserve, great view from your room, and the bed was comfortable.

This is a good option if you don't plan to spend much time at the hotel, and your looking for an inexpensive place to crash for a night or two. Otherwise, recommend researching other options.

Room Tip: Mountain suite rooms require a long, strenuous walk so pack light
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfpack39604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The bad: we got a room on the ground floor and though it seemed wonderful at first, we slowly realized that people wandering outside your room with flashlights at night limited privacy. There's no hot tub or swimming pool so when the sun sets there's not much to do around the grounds. It's seems as though everything was built with good intentions, but the shower door did to work right, the drains didn't work right and the sink didn't work right. The food is decent but quality is better at other places. Service in the restaurant is strange and they seem understaffed and forgetful. There is no safe in the room but we weren't worried about theft. They give you a standard key with a giant key fob that won't fit in a jeans pocket. It is immediately and painfully apparent that they are trying to save electricity/money by putting motion sensing lights in the hallways. And it was uphill a mile from town.
The good: it is only a mile walking distance from town. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Bottom line: it's not a bad price, very pretty, friendly staff, but a poorly built building and little to do after the sun goes down.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Starloverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,081 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 20 in Monteverde
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trapp Family? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trapp Family

Property: Hotel Trapp Family
Address: LG Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trapp Family 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Trapp Family reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Monteverde
Hotel Trapp Family Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing