We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecolodge is Unique and Worth the Trip!”
Review of Ecolodge San Luis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ecolodge San Luis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2005

This is sooo worth the trip down the "hill" from Santa Elena de Monteverde and sooo not like the usual hotels and such "up the hill" in Sta Elena. We were drawn here because of our love for learning about the rich ecological and biologial diversity of this region of Costa Rica. The Ecolodge is the Costa Rican Research Station for the Univeristy of Georgia. I won't pretend to even know why all the students who go there GO there, but I'd guess for Spanish and ecology and biology and more. You do the research on that side, I'll give a quick review -
The place is gorgeous - the setting is in the San Luis River valley - a half-hour drive from "downtown" Sta Elena. Lodging is above par and more comfortable than we expected (we stayed in the cabinas). The staff is so welcoming and full of information and very available for guided tours and added insights. The Library is a dream - not only outfitted with research texts, but also with a good selection of just fun fiction and non-fiction. The meals are billed as "typical Tico fare" in one of the guide books we read, but trust me - it's all you can eat, wonderfully prepared and it's a wonder we didn't gain MORE weight than we did. Meal-time conversations were the best and most enlightening - among the students, staff, visitors and guests. Our cabina was huge- a double bed, single bed and bunks, plus a vanity, desk, tiered closet, tiled shower, glass doors opening to a wide shared, but sectioned porch with chairs overlooking the flora and fauna- we were greeted by 2 little white-faced monkeys sitting on the tree outside our room who watched our every move for the first hour or so of our unpacking. Our room was beautiful with plentiful hot water, extremely clean - and an overall very relaxing experience. No a/c, phone, tv or clock - Heaven!!! The hammocks in the cabina common area were splendid. Advice: take a flashlight for the walk to the cabinas from the parking area, bug spray for walks and take advantage of all the tours and advice the staff and naturalists have to offer. We had too many places and people to visit up in Sta Elena to take full advantage of all of the Ecolodge - to do it again, we'd spend full days there and make the one trip to ride at Sabine's Smiling Horses (in Sta Elena) and do the canopy tour & zip lines over at Selvatura.

As always, my advice is to do your research before you go, plan for the roads and the weather and leave plenty of time to just go with the flow. You won't be disappointed here (if this is your type of adventure)- it's everything you'll read about it and more!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Tibbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2005

----

This place and it's people are gems if you want to experience Costa Rica in a truly unique way. We took our family during June of 2005 and had a perfect time. The staff naturalists took us on 2 day hikes, 1 night hike and a horse back ride. They did a great job explaining the flora and fauna as well as the local culture. The food at the lodge is prepared by locals and was outstanding. They even taught us how to cook some local foods.

The cabinas served our family well and had a great view.

The staff also arranged our day in Monteverde so that we could zip line, canopy hike and see the cloud forest. All were very well done.

7  Thank Travel2CtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sancom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Houd je niet zo van spinnen en andere insecten, kies dan niet voor de dorms maar gewoon voor de stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carxata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
2.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,347 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
3.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecolodge San Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecolodge San Luis

Address: San Luis de Monteverde, 700, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range: $100 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a culturally authentic educational experience, make the Ecolodge San Luis at the University of Georgia's Costa Rica Campus your base for exploring the Monteverde Cloud Forest!Guests at the Ecolodge San Luis enjoy a wide range of educational, nature-based, and cultural activities, both on our campus and in the local community. Ecolodge San Luis won an international Innovation in Sustainability award. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ecolodge San Luis Hotel Monteverde
Ecolodge San Luis Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing