We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, wonderful hosts”
Review of Vista Verde Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista Verde Lodge
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We (a familiy of four from Colorado) recently stayed at the Vista Verde Lodge. It was a high point of our trip to CR. The staff (Hermida and Eulogio) are really some of the most helpful, friendly folks you could hope to meet. A really nice family atmosphere, with tasty meals, a great view on the Arenal volcano (probably not always to be counted on, but we had great weather). The location is indeed out of the way- a nice break from the parts of Monteverde that are getting to be a bit Disneylandy.

The staff helped us arrange a horseback ride with Sabine's which worked out really well.

The property has its own set of trails and waterfalls that make a nice mini-excursion.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTedR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    22
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Wow, this place was great! Myself and my husband planned a trip to Costa Rica after a great trip last year visiting friends. We didn't have the chance to go ziplining last year, and that was at the top of our list. We heard Monteverde was beautiful and a must-see. We did stay in La Fortuna last year and loved the view of the Volcano, so it was the deciding factor of choosing Vista Verde Lodge. And man, the drive was worth it. It is convenietly located by Selvatura park, which was were we went ziplining. We arrived at night after getting a little lost and were welcomed by Elkin. He was very pleasant and got us set up in our room and arranged dinner for us and our guests (we were the only guests staying, it felt like our own lodge). The junior suite was nice and big, we had two couples- it would be big enough for a family. The beds were firm but comfy- had a nice rustic feel. The dinner was delicious. Lovingly prepared by Hermida, we had fish casado- it was excellent. The next morning we arose to the sun softly rising over the mountains and a captivating view of Lake Arenal and the Volcano (all out our window from the comfort of bed!) After taking a few photos from their garden, we had breakfast. Fresh passionfruit juice, fruit salad, eggs, avocado, and hot coffee were on the menu- and once again- delicious! The best cup of coffee I think I've ever had. The drive from Liberia airport took longer than everyone said it would, as it usually does when driving in Costa Rica's mountains. We had read and were told by the rental car office that it would be about 3-4 hours but it took about 5 plus hours, but that was including a little unexpected off-roading in the town of Angeles, beautiful but can't believe our tires made it! Overall I would highly recommend. It is for the more adventurous spirit as the drive is twisty, turny, etc. But once you arrive, you have arrived to a small slice of heaven.

Room Tip: The rooms were clean, but beware, there are bugs as there is everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Just want to say what a great little out of the way place Vista Verde Lodge turned out to be.Just on the edge of the continental divide with great views to the Arenal Volcano and lake below.Hermida the chef in the restaurant and her right hand person Elkin served great meals in a real feel good setting, making the extra effort to get there really worth the effort.

Room Tip: ..This is a smaller lodge and all rooms have the great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We arrived at this lodge as the sun was setting, and based on the road conditions (unpaved, pot hole riddled) I would suggest making sure you find your way here before the sun sets. The lodge is also located quite far away from anything else, so it would be easy to think you had made a wrong turn somewhere. The food was absolutely delicious (the typical rice and beans with your choice of meat) and relatively inexpensive. Be prepared for howling winds and unbelievable amounts of fog at night. We were caught off guard by it all, but the owner's son told us the weather was like that every night. The pictures are misleading, as our room (a junior suite with 4 beds for $205/ night) was fairly new and modern. If you're looking to be a little away from it all and have a mild sense of adventure, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MegFromMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The best option to stay in Monteverde area if you are looking for a peaceful night - and if you have a car, cause it's a bit out of track.
The service was very good, food impecable and great atmosphere.
But remember, it's only great if you want to be out of the crowded Monteverde!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRMBorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The best option to stay in Monteverde area if you are looking for a peaceful night - and if you have a car, cause it's a bit out of track.
The service was very good, food impecable and great atmosphere.
But remember, it's only great if you want to be out of the crowded Monteverde!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRMBorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We enjoed two nights at the lodge, in a modern, comfortable room in spectacular surroundings. Don't get confused by old photos, our room was located in a brand new building. Eulogio and his family were extremely friendly and kind and ready to satisfy any need. Just ask for tortillas or fresh costarican fruit for breakfast or dinner, beside the homemade, creamy soups and warm banana pancakes. Don't get concerned about trasportation, which can be easily arranged at the lodge (we even travelled to Rincon de La Vieja for a good price with a member of the family).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family_vitali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
3.8 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
3.6 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
4.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
3.7 mi away
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Monteverde Villa Lodge
#2 of 14 in Santa Elena
476 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 34 in Santa Elena
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Verde Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Verde Lodge

Property: Vista Verde Lodge
Address: 2 kms Norte de Selvatura | 1 km despues del tren, 5655-66, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Verde Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms have stunning views of the lake and Arenal Volcano, something that if we make clear is that we are located in a cloud forest that means not always clear, we trail to a waterfall and others because the hotel has 100 acres primary forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vista Verde Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Verde Hotel Monteverde
Vista Verde Lodge Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing