We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, has its pros and cons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel
Ranked #12 of 42 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is a new hotel, so they are still working on new suites and things like landscaping.

PROS: Our suite was very spacious and quite cozy, and we woke up to the sound of birds and rays of sunshine, it was quite nice.

It's nicely situated and is about a 5-10 minute walk to the little town of Santa Elena, and a Sabor Tico restaurant right across the street. Taxis are expensive in Costa Rica, and this area is very "hilly", so this is a serious pro.

The staff is nice and accommodating, and the service is good as well. Breakfast is included, and it's good. One day it was served and the next day it was a buffet.

CONS: The walls are paper thin. Our last night, a group of students celebrated a birthday and we heard every conversation and every song. The hotel was quick to respond and even accommodated us with a new room. We changed rooms because even if they had kept it down, the wall are so thin that we would have still heard them talk.

The internet does not work well. You will have as much luck trying to connect and use the internet at the Ficus Hotel as you would walking down a street and trying to steal someone's signal. It works just a little better in the restaurant than the suites.

The hotel was overall very clean, but our floors could have been a bit cleaner. They were streaky.

We would also like to add that the hotel DOES have hot water. They use an environmentally friendly water heating and treatment system, so sometimes it's a little temperamental and takes more time, but it does work. We recommend that only one person at a time uses the water.

Room Tip: Try to get some if the higher suites to get a better view (if you don't mind the hike), and ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SirBiscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 215 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

We totally enjoyed our stay here. The front desk was so helpful with every need, arranging our transportation back to the airport and tours. The restaurant was reasonable and delicious. The view from the restaurant gave us a clear of the rainbow every morning. The rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortably modern. We were also able to watch birds from our balcony, definitely a place we would come back to.

Room Tip: Check to see if you have the view or not if that is what you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChanettaLudwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The rooms are larger than they need to be. HA! Towels are a bit on the thin side, but who cares. The restaurant is the BEST! The cook is just terrific. The two gentlemen who waited on us in the bar and restaurant were very very nice and please to serve. Prices are way reasonable. Would totally stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank DMLevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I'll start off by saying that the hotel is clean and the staff friendly and helpful, so no complaints with regards to that, and the breakfast was ok, but if you are looking for a cozy place with an authentic Costa Rican vibe, surrounded by lush foliage, you may want to keep looking. Our room was in the upper building, and yes, there was a nice view over the countryside and out towards the water, but it was marred by an equal view of nearby unattractive buildings and the unfinished looking driveway and minimal landscaping. There is also no landscaping in front of the main building (or anywhere else, really), so it looks a bit bleak. There is not a continuous sidewalk up to the upper building, so you have to carry/bumpily drag your suitcase up the steep rocky driveway, unless you have a good car and can drive up there to temporarily unload, but there's nowhere to park up there so you have to back down again to the lower parking lot. The decor in the room was minimal ~ nothing on the walls, making the room feel bare, though the bedspreads were lovely and the beds comfortable. Some of the previous reviews mention the restaurant only being open for breakfast; maybe it was only for the busy Christmas season, but the restaurant was definitely open for dinner when we were there. (The food was fine, but nothing to rave about.) The music in the restaurant was modern/pop, which I don't mind at home, but again, given where we were, I would've preferred something more latino in flavour. So I would summarize it by saying it's clean and acceptable and the staff were helpful, but it didn't have the Costa Rican flavour I would've preferred.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrylane6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff is awesome and the breakfast was great. The room walls are paper thin and you can hear everything especially the main road out front.
There is no hot water in the shower which wasn't fun. As well there is no restaurant other than for breakfast so if you get hungry in the evening you have to go out of the hotel to find something to eat.

Overall it was very clean and newer but the paper thin walls sucked.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank HappyHappyHappy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our tour to Costa Rica. Our room was enormous - quite a hike but well worth the stunning view. The hotel seems half finished - some garden areas are beautiful, but others not finished. Driveway partly completed. The restaurant only caters for breakfast, despite having a fully stocked but non-operational bar! The room was wired for wifi but not working. The key to our patio doors didn't work, and the safe key was really dodgy. I just think the whole place needs a bit of maintenance. Our room was extremely comfortable with a stunning view across the town to the Ocean beyond. No hot water. As for Monteverde - sending Brits here is like selling coal to Newcastle - we have enough rain at home so don't want any more! We were expecting light drizzle being a cloud forest, but were not expecting monsoon conditions and gale-force winds. So our day here to spot wildlife was a wash out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexAnnieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This resort is a wonderful find! The rooms are quite spacious and the woodwork is amazing. The shower will easily accommodate a 7 foot tall person and is huge! There is no hairdryer, but we did not need one so we did not ask the front desk. These rooms are amazing, and the bedding is great! The beds are very comfortable and the sheets and blankets are like butter. You have to walk up hill a short distance to the rooms, which is not a big issue, unless you have lots of luggage. There is reliable Internet in each room, get the password from the front desk.

Check in was pleasant, but keep in mind the front desk is open from 6am to 10pm. We had to leave before they opened the next morning so they packed us all boxed lunches and delivered them the night before, wow!

Town is a short walk or drive away, but be aware that the return trip is uphill so take your time. The hotel provides a great breakfast, but the restaurant is closed the rest of the day. There are many food options in town including The Treehouse Restaurant (google it, really cool).

Ok, now the down side: we were unable to get a good nights rest because the rooms aren't very sound proof or dark. There are lights outside each room which is a wonderful safety feature, but filters I to the rooms at night. If you need darkness to sleep, bring a sleepmask. Also, the sounds of passing cars/motorcycles and wind may keep you awake, so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The bedding was so nice, but I wish we could have slept better in it.

In all, this hotel was awesome, and with the appropriate gear, I will definitely enjoy a return stay!

Room Tip: Bring and eyemask and earplugs if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel

Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range: $97 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ficus Lodge is a hotel located in the heart of Monteverde, near the center of Santa Elena.Beautiful gardens, large trees, trails throughout the property, a garden that provides us with most vegetables we use in our kitchen, a natural environment, are the perfect complement for the enjoyment of the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing