We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in an interesting area!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel
Ranked #11 of 41 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location in an interesting area!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The ficus is located within walking distance of town. Very clean and modernly appointed. The service for breakfast and happy hour is wonderful excellently delivered by Matt and Kathy. Very noisy at night as the wind really blows and the blinds make a alot of racket. DO NOT STAY on ground floor, no privacy, no security and the only way to get air is by leaving your windows, sliders open and also open to anyone to walk in.

The hotel seems to lack management and some of the little things expected at a nice vacation spot such as hair dryers, mini fridges, ice, computer area and bellman service. Could eventually be a top hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lalafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    85
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
54
93
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Pretty nice hotel in the sleepy town of Monteverde, Seemed like one of the nicer hotels in the town. The hotel wasn't full so the restaurant/bar was only open for breakfast. Getting the luggage to your rooms was a little bit of a pain but not too bad.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaraGuagliardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nr. London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Functional, modern and very comfortable room, two large king-size beds, lots of light, very airy with big balconies. My only very slight gripe was with the vertical blinds at the balcony window, and these don’t do a very good job of blocking out morning light.
Try and get a room up the hill from the reception area, as the higher you go, the better the view.
The main feature of the hotel for me were the views across the village of Santa Elena and beyond to the Pacific Gulf. In particular, the almost perpetual spray in the air from the cloud forest, even when the sun is shining, creates almost permanent rainbows, at their best when they scribe an arc over the village and surrounding hills. Happy hour in the bar tends to coincide with the sunset, so it’s a good time to appreciate this panorama.
Good location, only five minutes’ walk downhill to the restaurants and bars in Santa Elena (a couple of very steep sections which will exercise those calf muscles…). There’s some decent, more upscale, restaurants in the other direction going out of the village clustered around the swankier hotels.
If you get the chance, check out the serpentarium a couple of minutes away on the way into the village – fascinating display of live reptiles, and alas, the only opportunity we got to see any snakes over our two week stay in CR!

Room Tip: One of the suites up the hill for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kingstonpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Friendly, helpful staff, a spacious, immaculate room with a huge shower and a great breakfast. You can walk to town, but be prepared for a steep, hilly terrain. They have a 2 for 1 happy hour, but no food is served after breakfast, so bring your own snacks! The waiter gladly ordered a pizza for us from their other hotel and it was delivered in 20 minutes when we arrived the first night. A wonderful experience all around!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrthmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Ficus. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially our wonderful breakfast server and bartender. The view from the eating area is beautiful - the sunsets were especially picturesque. The view of the town of St Elena was very nice too. Our room was spacious, with two double beds, nice TV and coffee station, and very nice bathroom (although the water was only tepid). This is a very convenient location, not far from the many and varied activities in the Monteverde region. Easy walk to town for shopping and meals (but the walk back up the hill is challenging!). We were very happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as the second stop of our anniversary trip. As anyone that has travelled via car to monteverde knows, all you want is a warm shower and a comfy bed at the end of it all. While we got a comfy bed with a great view and great sized room, we did not get a warm shower. I froze for two days as I showered in cold water. It is chilly in monteverde at night and unfortunately a cold shower is not welcomed. Also, the staff doesn't even help with luggage or really make themselves available. We had a great patio but one of the sliding doors was broken so we asked for maintenance to look at it on our first day there. needless to say, that never happened. Also, when it warms up during the daytime, there is no air conditioning. The hotel was not terrible but I would not stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashep3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We loved this hotel! We had to move from a B&B that had scorpions and spiders so this very clean, modern hotel with incredible views was a huge relief. The room was very clean, beds extremely comfortable and there was a safe as well as hairdryer in the room. Very handy kitchen nook with coffee machine as well and access to a beautiful balcony. Best service I've ever received in a hotel - the staff went out of their way to arrange for pizza delivery right to our room from a nearby restaurant even phoning ahead to say the driver was on his way. Definitely recommend the Ficus Sunset Suites!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view so you can watch the incredible sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 21 in Monteverde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.5 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel

Property: Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel
Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ficus Lodge is a hotel located in the heart of Monteverde, near the center of Santa Elena.Beautiful gardens, large trees, trails throughout the property, a garden that provides us with most vegetables we use in our kitchen, a natural environment, are the perfect complement for the enjoyment of the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing