We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel
Ranked #12 of 42 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We loved this hotel! We had to move from a B&B that had scorpions and spiders so this very clean, modern hotel with incredible views was a huge relief. The room was very clean, beds extremely comfortable and there was a safe as well as hairdryer in the room. Very handy kitchen nook with coffee machine as well and access to a beautiful balcony. Best service I've ever received in a hotel - the staff went out of their way to arrange for pizza delivery right to our room from a nearby restaurant even phoning ahead to say the driver was on his way. Definitely recommend the Ficus Sunset Suites!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view so you can watch the incredible sunsets!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 215 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked this hotel through JetSet travel, and got a wonderful deal. Ficus is a new hotel, within walking distance of Monteverde. Our room was clean, and spacious, nice design and execution. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Room was a large bedroom with two double beds, and chairs in front of the window. No air but the climate is such that if you open the windows, the room quickly becomes very comfortable. The dining room is on the 2nd floor of the main building, enclosed on three sides by glass with a deck surround. From this deck, you can view Monteverde and the bay of the ocean in the far distance. Transportation to hanging bridges, zip lines, jungle cable cars, etc from the hotel is easily arranged and fairly inexpensive. Breakfast in the dinning room was good - began with a big dish of fresh fruit and was followed by either an American breakfast with dishes of your choice or a typical Costa Rican breakfast. While they have a happy hour which enables you to see spectacular sunsets, I don't believe they serve lunch or dinner. Can't go wrong with this hotel. Now swimming pool and I don't think they have a fitness room.

Room Tip: Believe all rooms would be good.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d_wildemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ficus in early January this year. We were greeted by the friendly staff member who showed us around the property and gave us delicious drinks. Joe was very kind, caring, and accommodating. The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk to the town of Santa Elena. Walking from town is uphill but not that bad. The rooms were nice and have a great view of the Pacific coast. There is no AC since it is not necessary because of the cooler weather 60-70 degrees Fahrenheit, however there are also no screens. Just remember to shut them before leaving the room for the day or evening so as not to let any bugs in. There is 24 hour security and a safe in the rooms.
Overall, it was a quiet, pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tapdiva29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Ficus Sunset Suites is a great 'home base' for an adventure trip to Costa Rica. Clean, comfortable, solid service (considering the laid back nature of Costa Rica) and a fantastic view that can't be beat. The hotel is set into a hillside over looking the mountains and the Gulf of Nicoya down below, so be prepared for some steep walks to and from town, or from the registration building up to the rooms, which follows a switched-back gravel road (if you aren't visiting the Monteverde area with the expectation that you'll be hiking in a mountainous area, then you might be better off selecting another hotel).

The service was great -- upon checking-in, we were greeted by Joe, the waiter-bartender-busboy-concierge-maintenance guy, who had a fresh glass of juice waiting for us. Joe knows all of the ins-and-outs of the hotel and the area, and while I understand some people may automatically be expecting to be hit by a scam artist when visiting a remote area in a foreign country, this hotel's staff is as genuine as they come...after more than 14 hours of traveling to reach our hotel, Joe got us squared away with a dinner reservation at a nearby restaurant, and even walked us to the front door of the restaurant where we were greeted by the owner. For the rest of our trip, if we had a question or needed a recommendation, Joe was there..

Excellent American-style breakfast included with our room each morning -- though we opted for the traditional breakfast that included gallo pinto (a variety of rice and beans unique to this section of Central America). The servers were friendly, attentive and willing to allow me to practice my Spanish each day. Breakfast also includes a fresh fruit place, a glass of fresh fruit juice, plus eggs cooked to order and either sausage or bacon, along with coffee, tea or milk. For an extra authentic breakfast, ask the server for some salsa lizano to put on either your eggs or your gallo pinto.

Definitely make time to enjoy the two-for-one sunset happy hour and watch the sun go down behind the mountains across the Gulf...but don't rush off to dinner, because in the half-hour or so after the sun sets, the skies over the Pacific Ocean are an explosion of gorgeous color...no doubt a couple of delicious, inexpensive mojitos de coco will put you in the right frame of mind to enjoy this view.

The rooms are quite clean and spacious. Read other reviews on this site for the ins-and-outs of the bathrooms (including the trick for getting hot water). This hillside location can be quite windy at night, so crack the bathroom window and one of the sliding glass doors to lessen the "howling" of the wind in your room...but even then, it does create some different sounds, so be prepared. Also, if you can handle the hike, ask for a second-story room on the top level of the hotel, as the views are spectacular. Also, note there is no A/C or heat, which is pretty standard for hotels in the area. And while there are no screens on the windows or doors, we did not encounter a single mosquito or other biting insect at the hotel OR in the rain forest (I understand this may be due to the time of year that we visited, but still, we brought bug spray and didn't use it a single time).

For the adventurous or more tolerant traveler, I highly recommend this hotel. If you're looking for Marriott-style amenities or luxury accommodations, then you may want to stay in San Jose...but if you want a hotel with a guest-house feel and don't mind some extra hiking to go to and fro, then the Ficus Sunset Suites is a great base for your cloud forest vacation.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a steep hill with a rocky road and ask for a second-floor room on the highest level...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seans873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

As others have noted, the room & the view was fantastic (shiny ceramic floors, bathrooms).
And, the bed linen was super.

However, I will note that our room DID have a safe for valuables (quite a big one actually).

The hotel had no business center, swimming pool nor gym. Wifi was spotty in our room and the lobby. The front desk girl said something like: "some people can connect others arent lucky". I was able to connect, but the connection wasnt great in the lobby or restaurant above.

Now to the service part:

1. Breakfast is served at the table and service is SLOW. We had to ask for things multiple times. There were two of the staf, but they seemed quite disorganized. Usually in restaurants each table is served by one staff member - here both would serve each table. As a result, I think they kept getting confused as to which table wanted what. The food itself is tasty but limited - only 1 course (plate) of fruit, 1 course of eggs, bacon and toast, coffee and juice. I guess its ok, but in most touristy areas, most folks have a big breakfast and then head out to the attractions without knowing when/where they can grab something for lunch.

2. Cleaning staff only did the beds and perfunctorily cleaned the bathrooms. The floors arent cleaned until you check out. The footprints/dirt on the floor stands out primarily because the tiled floor is shiny and dirt really stands out. The bathroom shower faucet gave scalding hot water when the valve is for downward discharge, but luke-warm water for the shower.

3. Front-desk was somewhat stand-offish. They did help with booking a tour and calling for taxis.They did the job, but a wide smile or greeting would go a long way to make your guests feel welcome.

Lastly, I will note that we got a room at the topmost level - the view is great - you can see the gulf of nicoya (and apparently the pacific ocean past the nicoyan peninsula on a clear day). However, the climb up to the topmost rooms is steep on a rough road (common to Monteverde). It was a big hassle dragging up our stuff and no help was offered when we checked in (probably because they dont have any staff for that). We asked our taxis to drive up straight to the top after that though.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle level 300,400 have the view and are less of a hike.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PghTraveller_SR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had beautiful room for 2 nights. Service at front desk was very slow (I think due to under-staffing). They were unable to help with assisting us in finding our tour company and the person before us had problems with dinner reservations. No safe in the room and no a/c but by the evening it was quite cool. Our first night was on ground floor - didn't feel very safe and couldn't open windows or doors without feeling like someone might walk right in. Our 2nd night we were moved to an upstairs room - with better view. Location (we were in the 1st building on the hill) was great for getting into town and restaurants - a bit of a steep hike up from town. Room looked new and really pretty and clean, but they really need to work on service. We were first ones at breakfast at 6:45 (tour at 7:30) and the restaurant was not ready yet. But all in all, an ok stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afsw68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was very concerned when we checked in to find out that there was no safe in the room. Seriously? Lower-priced 3-star hotels all over the country offered this sort of service. Highly disconcerting.

The room had no A/C, which wouldn't have been a huge deal if we could have at least opened the doors to our balcony. But they had no screens! Again, seriously, in this buggy environment?

The rooms themselves are very nice and new, so with the above unacceptable problems fixed they would have been just fine.

One of the girls at reception was downright rude after she ruined our afternoon by telling the zip line tour company that we'd booked with that we weren't there (they'd called to confirm our arrival). When we'd called the company and figured out what had happened, she was unapologetic and surly, rolling her eyes when we asked to use their reception phone to re-book (the phones in the rooms do not work for calling anything other than reception, and we had no cell service).

Wi-fi? No, didn't work at all -- not even in the reception area.

The location of the hotel is good, in that it's right on the outskirts of town, so you can walk in an out of town (though note the hill is VERY steep) without having to stay in one of the loud budget hotels in the center. Still, the hotel does not have round-the clock reception, and with the hotel's open location on the street out of town, I felt exposed during the night when we heard loud men's voices arguing on the street. I did see a security guard, but a gate would have made me feel better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa11201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel

Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range: $101 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ficus Lodge is a hotel located in the heart of Monteverde, near the center of Santa Elena.Beautiful gardens, large trees, trails throughout the property, a garden that provides us with most vegetables we use in our kitchen, a natural environment, are the perfect complement for the enjoyment of the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ficus Sunset Suites Hotel Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing