We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“New Reserve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curi Cancha Reserve

Curi Cancha Reserve
Ranked #1 of 56 things to do in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: To protect of natural resources of the planet operating through an economically and environmentally sustainable business that preserves local forests and biodiversity, benefits people of the area, and provides the highest quality experience for the visitor. Walk along beautiful natural trails with an experienced guide and see different species of birds and mammals. Learn about the amazing diversity of the cloud forest.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“New Reserve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This reserve is fairly new (3 yr, I believe). The vegetation and views are typical of the whole area. Our guide was knowledgeable of the birds and could imitate their calls. He had a scope that allowed us a closer view of the birds and even took pictures through the scope with our small cameras. We saw spider monkeys, a toucan, tarantula, Costa Rica wrens, hummingbirds, and small frogs--tadpoles actually. The land originally belonged to one of the Quakers who settled here and wanted to preserve the area. There are lots of paths criss-crossing the area so a guide is necessary. Go in the morning for the best chance of avoiding rain.

Tours may be arranged at various "tourist centers" that dot the area. We stopped at the first one we saw and set up a tour for Curi-Cancha the next morning.Be sure you understand the total cost. Even with someone in our party who spoke Spanish and a "salesperson" who spoke English, we still did not know how much we were paying. We put down a deposit of $15. The reserve was $12 each, we thought. The guide was separate and was $12 each, but when we arrived at the reserve, we had to pay $12 each to enter, then the guide said we owed him $12 each.
I'm not sure how this reserve compares to Monteverde since we did not get to go to Monteverde. All the reserves are part of the same cloud forest and are not far apart so the land and animals must be similar. Our guide wanted us to have a good experience, but he can't guarantee you'll see any animals. He knew where to look for them, though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lives2Travel2Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    129
    25
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarchi, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dry Rainforest Splendor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We went to the Curi Canca Reserve with absolutely no expectations, other than to meet nature as she is. The forest is glorious! Walking through the forest the only sounds you hear are crickets, cicadas, birds, and water cascading downt the stream on the east side of the reserve.
We had hoped to see sloths, but that would have just been a bonus on an otherwise sublime adventure into what felt like the womb of Mother Earth.
No sloths, but we did manage to see lots of spiders, some Iguti's galloping through the forest, a nest of spiders (not sure what they were) but they were huddled together making a chirping whirring noise. We also saw a False Coral / King snake curled up on the side of the trail, and once I passed (I didn't even see it so thank goodness it wasn't a Coral Snake) it slithered into a nearby tree.
At the end of our hike we were blessed with a hummingbird garden.
Well worth the 3-hour round-trip hike and entrance fee. If you want to know what all the flora and fauna is, hire a guide.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CRadventure2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
680 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Great Amount of Wildlife and Awesome Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Andreas, from Camino Verde B&B told us to come here to see lots of wildlife. He was so correct!

We came mid morning to Curi-Cancha to look for the Quetzal and toucans. Our guide, Melvin Leytón took us on a tour that was awesome. We saw the Bellbird, seven toucans and 2 rare male Quetzals. We also saw hummingbirds and Agouti. The forest is beautiful. There are so many trails you can easily spend a whole day there. Melvin is very passionate about birds too, so we had a great time together. I highly recommend him.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Esteban Mendez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just had a fascinating tour of this reserve by an very knowledgeable guide. He is a trained Naturalist Guide and knows a lot of stuff. He was able to patiently find us numerous birds and animals, monkeys and knew a lot of amazing facts about things in the forest. His website is www.curi-cancha.com but we were introduced to home from the staff at Camino Verde hotel.
Curi-cancha apparently only allows 40 people in to the reserve at a time which keeps things very quiet enabling us to see more.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank darcitalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drake Bay
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“super place for birdwatching!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I came early morning to Curi-Cancha to look for Quetzal and Bellbird. So the guide Melvin Leytón took me on a tour that was awesome, we saw the Bellbird and 2 Quetzals, but also Hummingbirds, Agouti, Toucans, Aracaris and the forest is just beautiful. There are so many trails you can easily spend a whole day there. The guide Melvin is very passionate about birds too, so we had a good time together. I can highly recommend him.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartinaWegener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curi Cancha Reserve also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Curi Cancha Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing