We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing Birds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curi Cancha Reserve

Curi Cancha Reserve
Book In Advance
$34.00*
and up
Curi Cancha Nature Reserve Admission Ticket
Ranked #1 of 55 things to do in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: To protect of natural resources of the planet operating through an economically and environmentally sustainable business that preserves local forests and biodiversity, benefits people of the area, and provides the highest quality experience for the visitor. Walk along beautiful natural trails with an experienced guide and see different species of birds and mammals. Learn about the amazing diversity of the cloud forest.
King City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A great place to go if you love wild life and the jungle. Great opportunities for bird watching and picture taking.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    132
    26
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Unexpected Landscape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The landscape here is more open. Very different from the closed in trails at the Monteverde Preserve. Our guide gave us a 90% guarantee that we would see a quetzal and she was right as there is a pair nesting in a tree in an open area .. making it easy to see and to photograph.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank dianeinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our favorite reserve in Monteverde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This reserve is a wonderful mix of former farmland and denser older growth. We saw a quetzal, a family of Oropendola, dozens of humming birds and lots of other birds. It was very peaceful and uncrowded. The caretaker was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Roslyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
441 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great place to view birds and other wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked this through our hotel - Jorge was our guide. This was a fantastic walk through this private reserve. It was a little over 4 hours and well worth the time. We say many hummingbirds – lots of different varieties all at a few feeders, a beautiful Bellbird, two Quetzals, and a Howler Monkey. Like most guides they radio each other when something is going on so everyone can see it. We almost saw a white-faced monkey but we lost him.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ask for Melvin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Curi-Cancha is a beautiful, new refuge just down the road from the more famous Monteverde Cloud Forest. We were intending to go to Monteverde but had heard from fellow travelers that Curi Cancha is full of wildlife and also an intimate experience. We were happy with our decision when we arrived to this beautiful refuge and had our own private guide for the same cost as being in a much larger group at Monteverde.

Melvin Leitón was a wonderful guide-full of enthusiasm and knowledge, and had a great manner of imparting this wisdom. We were lucky to see Emerald Toucanets, Bluecrowned motmots, Orange-Bellied Trogons, and two Quetzales-an adult and juvenile male. We aren't birders but after this hike I became so much more interested in them. The hikes are relatively mild, so all your focus can go to spotting wildlife.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jojo94618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curi Cancha Reserve also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Curi Cancha Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing