We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and easy walks”

Curi Cancha Reserve
Ranked #1 of 63 things to do in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: To protect of natural resources of the planet operating through an economically and environmentally sustainable business that preserves local forests and biodiversity, benefits people of the area, and provides the highest quality experience for the visitor. Walk along beautiful natural trails with an experienced guide and see different species of birds and mammals. Learn about the amazing diversity of the cloud forest.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
390 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Nice and easy walks”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The whole walk is very easy and well signposted so basically you could do it on your own. Of course you would not see the animals, or if you see them you wouldn't know what they are. That's why it pays off to take a guided tour. You see and learn lots of good stuff. Our guide Melvin was great. He wanted to share his knowledge and made the effort that also the kids who were in the group enjoyed the walk. Most of the time he was talking about the plants, trees, fruits, seeds etc. Very interesting stuff. It is a pity that you don't remember the names of the trees but fortunately many trees have nicknames based on what they are used for. We did see some animals also, hummingbirds, acoutis, a swarm of butterflies flying out of their daytime hide, and - a resplendent quetzal! Or at least the guide said it was there. It was sitting in a tree about 200m from us. Even though I looked twice through the telescope where the bird was allegedly sitting in the middle of the lens, I couldn't see it. So hard to spot something green with a hint of blue among all the green around you. Unless you have a trained eye. Another group joined us to look at the quetzal too, it is not something you see everyday.

It was a nice walk although I expected to see more animals. Most likely we scared the animals away, the family who was in our group was a bit noisy for the circumstances..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pepics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    172
    35
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must do!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Curi-cancha is an absolute must if you are traveling to Monteverde, costa rica. Ask to book with Victor as your guide, you won't regret it! I will never forget the 4&1/2 hours spent at this amazing reserve. And victor will inspire you to respect and love nature just as much as he does!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seebs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hike and bird viewing -- less crowded than Monteverde”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We visited Curi-Cancha during a three day visit to Monteverde. We also hiked in Monteverde and enjoyed that too -- more primary forest. But our guide, Rafael, was super fantastic. We did a four hike with him starting at 7:30 a.m.

This was our third trip to Costa Rica with our kids (age 6 and 9) and Rafael was hands down the most knowledgable guide we have ever had. We saw bell birds, lime toucans and queztals with Rafael but he also told our kids (and us) some really interesting facts about the native plant life too. I appreciated that the reserve was less crowded than Monteverde. I recommend visiting it if you are in the area and drop Rafael an email to ask him to show you around.
His email is Rafael Elizondo Vargas <r.elizondov@hotmail.com>

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Splitchanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I toured Curi-Cancha with Cristian, one of their guides, and it was certainly a memorable experience. The place is a gem and Cristian is a very knowledgable, passionate, and interesting guide. The tour was supposed to take about 3 hours and we were with him about 4 1/2 hours! He spent time explaining the flora, fauna, and history of the area and answered our many questions. We we able to see many things, including 4 quetzales, a couple of toucans, sloth, owls, numerous varieties of hummingbirds, wild orchids, deer, and many other things. All in all, a highlight of our 6 week trip to Central America. His cell is 89752015. Don't miss this place!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank radean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place, by far, to find Resplendent Quetzal”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Guides are top notch and the reserve covers a variety of habitats. Trails are well maintained and not too steep.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank petegrube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curi Cancha Reserve also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Curi Cancha Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing