We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quetzal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curi Cancha Reserve

Curi Cancha Reserve
Book In Advance
$34.00*
and up
Curi Cancha Nature Reserve Admission Ticket
Ranked #1 of 55 things to do in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: To protect of natural resources of the planet operating through an economically and environmentally sustainable business that preserves local forests and biodiversity, benefits people of the area, and provides the highest quality experience for the visitor. Walk along beautiful natural trails with an experienced guide and see different species of birds and mammals. Learn about the amazing diversity of the cloud forest.
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quetzal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The morning bird-watching nature walk starts at 7:30am. The park lets in 45 people and that's it for the morning. Unlike other parks, you never feel over-crowded therefore wildlife can walk/fly around freely.
In the middle of a clearing in the park, there's a majestic avocado tree where the coveted quetzals eat and slowly digest (it takes 30 minutes) these fruits. Hence, he will pose there for you to take pictures if you are lucky of course. We were lucky enough to see a female who is modestly dressed and a male in his colorful panache and a long tail to be envious of in all of the animal kingdom! We talked to a Tico who has been living in Monteverde since birth and only saw the quetzal twice in his whole life!
And also, we saw an array of different animals such as the tucanet, hummingbirds, sloth, coati, etc & the diversity of the cloud forest's fauna.
However, the BEST thing about our tour was our guide MELVIN. He is incredibly knowledgeable (my husband & I annoyingly asked him questions about everything to which he could answer every one of them) and incredibly passionate about nature which is so infectious!
I very strongly recommend him!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank FineFineFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    132
    26
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mid-afternoon walk looking for birds and wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Lovely quiet reserve with clear trails and lots to see. We visited after lunch. The person in the kiosk gave us a map and instructions but was gone and reserve was closed by the time we left just after 4pm.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Birders_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rafael was an amazing guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We took a guided tour with Rafael, who was an incredible guide. We were lucky to have him to just ourselves (my husband & I) and he toured us around the entire Curi Cancha Reserve for almost 5 hours. At just $15/person it was great value, plus he is incredibly passionate and knowledgeable. He helped us see birds that were right in front of us, but we would have missed if hadn't pointed them out. We saw 2 male quetzals, trogons, emerald toucanettes, euphonias, and lots more. The guides at Curi Cancha are very collegial and share spottings of special wildlife, and we even saw a side-stripped pit viper, thanks to a tip from other guides. Rafael was not just knowledgeable about birds, but also snakes, plants, and the local history.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Curi-Cancha Walking Tour with Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our guide, Danilo, was very experienced with the forest and was able to show us Quetzal, Emerald Toucanette and we had a fly by of 2 Banana Nose Toucans within 15 minutes of starting off. We were also fortunate to see 2 troops of White Throated Monkeys, a nesting humming bird, a Sloth sleeping up in the branches and a troop of Howler Monkeys. While it seems we had a very lucky tour with so much to see, I don't think we would have seen anything without a guide. Danilo is extremely knowledgable of the entire forest including the fauna and flora. It is a 4 hour relaxed hike, not really strenuous at all. Return transportation can be arranged from your hotel which is a nice break from driving the curvy, bumpy roads on your own. You can contact Danilo directly to book a tour by e-mail: dannyguia@hotmail.com or by phoning either 8374 2136 or 2645 7145.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Like Monteverde, but less people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went on a guided tour of Curi-Cancha with Adrian and it was one of the best tours we had during our whole month-long stay in Costa Rica. Because the reserve is less known than Monteverde, it is easier to spot wildlife since people don't scare it away. We were lucky enough to see a beautiful male quetzal perched on an avocado tree at the edge of a meadow. Adrian (our guide) said it was the first one the guides had seen in a month. Definitely bring a guide if you want to see anything in Curi-Cancha. The guides have a great system where if one guide finds anything cool, he signals the others by walkie-talkie so that everyone can see it. In addition to the quetzal, we saw a toucanette, a walking stick, parrots, a sloth, and hundreds of birds. Adrian also gave us tattoos using a native berry that used to be used for ink. Adrian was a GREAT guide. We had a blast.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sage F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curi Cancha Reserve also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Curi Cancha Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing