We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great guided tour - saw a female quetzal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curi Cancha Reserve

Curi Cancha Reserve
Ranked #1 of 56 things to do in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: To protect of natural resources of the planet operating through an economically and environmentally sustainable business that preserves local forests and biodiversity, benefits people of the area, and provides the highest quality experience for the visitor. Walk along beautiful natural trails with an experienced guide and see different species of birds and mammals. Learn about the amazing diversity of the cloud forest.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great guided tour - saw a female quetzal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A good, active hike through the cloud forest, which was a bird paradise. The guides communicate with each other to give each group the chane to see more spectaculr birds and animals.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    128
    25
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
275 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A tour through the forest with an experienced guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked our through the Belmar Hotel. We were picked up at the hotel right on time and drive for 10 minuten to the entranche of the forest. Our guide was very experienced and spotted every bird. He also gave detailed guidance about the plants and trees during our trip. Unfortunately we did not spot any mamals (hardly surprising as most of these in the forest are nocturnal).
I definitely recommend this tour!

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Bring a good guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Curi-Cancha Refugio is a truly unspoiled, uncrowded, and wonderful spot to visit. Both the day and night tours provided many of the highlights of my entire Costa Rica trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ndsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This early morning tour was relaxed, personal and highly informative. Our guide was great. He was so personally interested that he made you interested.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolandIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Less touristy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Much less tourist filled than Monteverde and Santa Elena. We hired a private guide who gave us a 4 hour tour of the reserve. The tour was through Forest Alive, with Andres. The reserve only allows 40 visitors a day, which explains why there are less tourists there. We only crossed 4 other people during our 4 hours there! The quiet allows more animals to come out, so you actually get to see more wildlife here. We actually spotted the much coveted quetzel!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank elisabeth1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curi Cancha Reserve also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Curi Cancha Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing