We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful cloud forest reserve, Wonderful guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curi Cancha Reserve

Curi Cancha Reserve
300 meters west of the Monteverde Cheese Factory, 60109, Costa Rica
+506 2645 6915
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 56 things to do in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: To protect of natural resources of the planet operating through an economically and environmentally sustainable business that preserves local forests and biodiversity, benefits people of the area, and provides the highest quality experience for the visitor. Walk along beautiful natural trails with an experienced guide and see different species of birds and mammals. Learn about the amazing diversity of the cloud forest.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cloud forest reserve, Wonderful guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We went on a morning hike in through this cloud forest with Rafael (phone 8838-8145) in late November 2012. We saw many animals and birds. Rafael was very enthusiastic about the cloud forest as well as being very informative. It was like taking a tour with a university professor. We highly recommend this tour and using Rafael as a guide.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    122
    24
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful reserve and place for Quetzals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We went there with a private guide for a tour of almost 5 hours ($100 total without the entrance to the reserve).
We walked through different types of forests and the guide was very knowledgeable. We saw lot of bids, mammals (agoutis), one spectacled owl (the guide hadn't seen it i two years) with its cub, a side striped green viper and finally the beautiful Quetzal.
We felt really alone during these 5 hours and that was great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldwidexav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“really amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Loved it. Our guide came from Hotel Belmar. Learned and saw a ton. Hummingbird area was a hit w/our 5 y/o. Amazing amounts of different plants, insects, animals.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank indycoltsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quetzal's in the rain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I spent 4 hours in the Curi-Cancha with three friends, only one of the group knew one end of a Quetzal from another. BUT Raphael our marvellous guide introduced us to the terrain, the birds, the insects, the trees and plants and importantly explained the relationship between them all. We were enchanted and fascinated by the whole experience. All the guides carry telescopes which make viewing wild life and birds much easier for the inexperienced. The weather was pretty grim and waterproofs made the whole experience more comfortable. There was a $12 entrance fee and $20 per person for the tour guide, which was in line with the other prices we paid for similar trips, and good value. Do ensure that you book a guide in advance.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Netgirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Curi-Cancha with Christian Chaves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We visited the Curi-Cancha Wildlife Refuge in the Cloud Forest of Monteverde on 1st November. We took a taxi from our cabana in Santa Elena and met our guide Christian (Chris) Chaves at the parks entrance and would highly recommend him to anyone visiting the area. We were delighted to see so much flora and fauna within minutes of walking into the refuge.  We were greeted with a little Aquoti eating oranges right in front of us and within minutes of walking along the trail Christian spotted an Emerald Toucanet and centred it within his Scope so that we could see it so clearly.  Two minutes later we were looking at a colourful Orange-bellied Trogan in a tree nearby. When Christian asked us what we would like to see we responded (tongue in cheek I might add) that we would like to see a Resplendent Quetzal and sure enough five minutes later he spotted both a male and female.  What can you say it was just incredible and all we could have wished for.  Later we even got to see a huge Keel-billed Toucan and nearby a Bicolour Hawk and that was just some of the birds. We will not forget seeing a large male Coati high up in the tree canopy and we only spotted this because Christian heard it dropping food to the forest floor.  Lastly just before we arrived at the lovely Hummingbird gallery near the entrance we were indeed lucky to spot a Red Brocket Deer and managed to get a good photograph before it galloped off into the forest. Christian’s wide ranging knowledge not only of the wildlife but also the different eco systems was incredible and made our adventure into the Cloud Forest a delight - he even gave us a lift back to our Cabana which was most kind. If you come to Monteverde be sure to visit the Curi-Cancha Wildlife Refuge and contact Christian - crvipers@hotmail.com and have a great time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pandsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curi Cancha Reserve also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Curi Cancha Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing