We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orchid Coffee Shop

Orchid Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We must be what we eat, which is why our products are healthy, full of ingredients that provide energy to our body. Each dish is designed to intensify our senses, flavors that awaken interest, in smells that make us dream. With all this, we captivate palates and hearts that become satisfied customers.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Very cute place! I got the coffee with liqueur & espresso and my husband got the mocha and both were delicious! We also got the crepe with Nutella, banana, strawberry & almonds, which was amazing. The chocolate chip cookie was good, but not too exciting. Want to go back for lunch tomorrow!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank vanessa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    100
    18
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Coffee and Snack Shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

The 8 of us just spotted this wonderful coffee shop hidden in this small town. The owner, Beatriz, served us quickly and was very friendly. The locally source coffee was excellent and the home made baked goods were very nice. A definite stop if in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginiatraveler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok coffee, nice cake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable, friendly, cosy cafe. Has less of a coffee shop feel than neighbouring Common Cup. Couches a nice touch. Nice selection of cakes and friendly service. Like many places in Monteverde it is over-priced ($8 for coffee and cake).

Cafe latte will disappoint latte lovers - only 1 shot and comes as a glass of milk into which you tip the coffee in yourself (a la Costa Coffee, for example). It was pretty weak.

The raspberry cheesecake was very nice, though. Rich and filling with a good helping of sauce. From the looks it has better puddings than the Common Cup.

So if you're after coffee, go the common cup. But if you want cake, or aren't too fussed about coffee, then Orchid is definitely for you.

Helpful?
Thank thebrisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cake to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stumbled upon this great little café, and discovered the best Coconut and Pineapple cake we have every tasted! So much so, we had to return for another slice the next day. Coffee excellent too, as was the service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SussexAnnieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

A little pricey but very delicious. Not a budget watching place. Great smoothies, crepes, soup, breakfast. Nice waitstaff. Would come here often if I lived here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phat99mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid Coffee Shop also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Orchid Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing