We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”
Review of Forest Alive

Forest Alive
Ranked #2 of 49 Tours in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In a Natural History Private Tours you will be in the Nature Documentary yourself. Learn about the Cloud forest with your Naturalist Guide who will help spot unique wildlife and plant species. The forest has a unique language, let our guide from the Forest Alive Naturalist-Team translate it for you! Day tours and Night tours in all different Reserves and Parks in Monteverde and adjacent areas. Why a Private Tour? Go away from the crowds. Perfect for families. Experience the forest according to your own goals and interested. The right pace and focus for photographers(beginners, amateur and professionals equally). For people that want to have a deeper experience in understanding the different forest types of Monteverde. For Scientists like Biologist, Botanists, Ornithologist, Teachers and more...
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We went on the day tour with Andy to Selvatura and the night time tour to another reserve. In between, we stopped for a snack and a beer. We enjoyed the experience -- as he had a lot to teach us, but did it in a nice, friendly way. It reminded me of being with a cool high school biology teacher! His stories were interesting. The pace of the tour was fine. He customized it tour interests. The night tour was especially interesting. I had asked for some photo tips, too throughout the day, and he knew how to help me with my Nikon D90 camera. In my opinion, the private tour is the way to go!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jlb1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    5
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Andres from Forest Alive is a great guide”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

A week ago my girlfriend Iris and i did a nighttour with Andres from Forest Alive.
Its a great tour. In a few minutes after we arrived in the jungle he spotted such a variety of wildlife.
We were really impressed. And the equipment he used is of top quality. His strong light was great to use our videocamera.

Thanx Andres en cu again in Costa Rica,
Iris and Erwin from Holland

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erwin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Forest Alive!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Forest Alive! is as good as the reviews below indicate. Our guides –expert in every way—were Andres Alvorado and Javier Moino. What was most impressive about their knowledge was the following: each guide sensed our enthusiasm and background and responded in kind with enthusiasm, excitement, and not a hint of condescension or boredom, as if sharing something very special with honored visitors; Andres and Javier demonstrated deep knowledge of the different types of forest habitat —so it was not just about checking off a list of birds and wildlife to be seen, but gaining appreciation of how the various ecosystems are in balance—what the Slaty-backed Nightingale Thrush, Spotted Barbtail and Three-striped Warbler were doing outside of their normal elevation (it had rained and so grubs fleeing ants were available), what the Leafcutter Ants were doing and what their social structure was. Across three days we took a night tour, half-day tour and a full day tour. Starting with Javier the first night, we were fascinated by the misty walk and explanations of the ecology, such as how the Strangler Fig took over its victims. The half-day tour with Andres started at Stella’s Bakery (take time to enjoy the fabulous food and great bird feeder, spot for Gray-Blue Tanager, Buff-throated Saltator, Yellow-throated Euphonia, Hummingbirds like the Green Crowned Brilliant, and Violet Sabre Wing, Toucanets and Hoffman’s Woodpecker)-- and then on to the Curicancha Nature Reserve. At Curicancha, we saw the Resplendent Quetzal, fascinating nests of the Chestnut-Headed Oropendula (think African Weaver Finches), Three-Wattled Bellbird, and such interesting terrain, populated by deer (a big deal was made about these, as unlike in North America, they are rather rare in this habitat), fruiting Mandarino-limon, all manner of avocado, Strangler Figs, open meadows, and much more. The guides seem to help one another, so if they have the Bell Bird in view, they will communicate and share information. Only occasionally were we in a crowd of ten onlookers peering through equipment—mostly Andres and Javier helped us see and also to avoid the crowds. The longer, whole day tour to Monteverde Cloud Forest and Selvatura Nature reserve was similarly spectacular, giving us in total Cloud forest, Rain Shadow Forest, Dwarf Elfin Forest and Rain Forest. We didn’t do the zip lines at Selvatura, but hanging bridges were fascinating, and the noise from the zip lines was not obtrusive. Warmly recommended; these are gentle and interesting people, well-trained in ecology and fluent in Spanish, English, and German. They have plans about how to grow their business while educating guides in neighboring countries, and are well-informed and aware of the decisions which must be made to ensure preservation. Most impressive.

(By the way, a fabulous place to see birds--among them Rose-breasted Grosbeak, Blue-crowned Mot-mot, Parrots, Kiskadees, Chacalachas--were the Cabanas Valle Campanas, where we stayed.) My schedule did not permit me to be as studious as I could have been prior to the trip—and I am not a “counter” in general-- however the bounty of life forms was overwhelming; just mentioning birds, in six days we saw 50 species new for us. Compare that to a handful of new birds each year in the US, and you get the picture).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank decafgreentea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“best tour in costa rica”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

we went on the night tour with Javier and Christian. It was FANTASTIC. We got there by cab from the Monteverdi Lodge and were treated with coffee. then we all took flashlights are climbed up a hill. Javier was in the lead and Christian tail gated. We saw tons of insects, foxes, a sloth, many birds, poison frogs and phoshlorescent frogs., We loved this trip and recommend it highly. Javier knows everything.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank grandpaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“Terrific Experience”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Javier Moino was our guide both on the floor and in the clouds of Monteverde. He was excellent and seemed to be able to spot birds, bird sounds from long distance. He is very knowledgeable and is personable with his presentations. If I was in the area again, Forest Alive would be my first call. I was on a Tauck tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jbarry4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forest Alive also viewed

 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Forest Alive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing