We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Batsu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monteverde Inn(Monteverde)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Tucan(Santa Elena)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cala Lodge(Monteverde)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Establo(Monteverde)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines(Cerro Plano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveler rating
496
21
1
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
21
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmariposa roomrecommend casahis wifeb bcosta ricamulti coursefour coursesan amazing cookcloud foresthuevos rancherossmall bed and breakfastthree roomsan amazing hostcevichehome away from homehelped us planfresh juice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 521 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was our favourite place we stayed in Costa Rica. From the minute we arrived after a hot and dusty journey we were made to feel welcome and immediately relaxed. Carlos and Paula have somehow managed to identify all the elements which add up to a create a superb atmosphere and make life easier for the weary traveller - hair driers, fresh flowers everywhere, coffee and tea any time, beautiful terrace and garden and an arrangement with several restaurants to deliver food so no need to drive to town. The breakfasts are different each morning and excellent. We had dinner there one night with another couple and it was the best meal we had anywhere. They put so much care and attention into everything they do. Carlos is an absolute fountain of knowledge when it comes to the history, geography, politics and everything else Costa Rican and recommended some excellent trips both in Monteverde area and further afield for later in our holiday. Thank you Carlos and Paula.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay with Carlos and Paula at Casa Batsu.
We have 3 children and they loved the spacious gardens with hammocks and swings - and they had a great time playing with Paula and Carlos's son Danny.
Carlos is so helpful and informative, the rooms and gardens are beautiful, there is a very tasty breakfast and a great liad back vibe.
Carlos booked our night hike and zip lining tours for us and he even took the time to go with my husband to the local doctor to get treatment for an ear infection.
I highly recommend a stay at this gorgeous location, you will not be disappointed!
Thank you Carlos and Paula for an amazing visit, you are very gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mois49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here with our son in April 2012. We were the only guests at the time and stayed in the Mariposa room which consisted of 2 bedrooms and a bathroom.
Carlos, the owner, was the best host ever. He runs the visitor center up front, and sat down with us over coffee when we arrived to plan our stay. He helped create our itinerary for the 2 days we were there so that we could do all the activities we wanted to. He arranged a private guided walk in the cloud forest, zip lining tour, private 1/2 day horse back ride (so much fun!) and a night tour. He even arranged for pizza to be delivered for a quick and easy meal when we came back late after the night tour. There is a small sun room with a dining table at the entrance to the Colibri room which was just perfect for having our meal.
Breakfast was served outdoors on the patio and was fantastic! Based on our schedule for the day, we pre-arranged our breakfast time with Carlos in advance. Everything was freshly prepared, and there was so much amazing food prepared for us to eat including fresh fruits, coffee, juice, pancakes, eggs and Gallo Pinto (YUM!!).
The room was clean and comfortable. He had recently installed a new water heater which was having some issues - the hot water would run out if we weren't quick.
Staying at Casa Batsu was like staying with friends away from home. Carlos made some nice recommendations for restaurants and even took us to a local cafe to show us coffee plants and talk about the coffee making process. When my son got a rash from the ziplining helmet, Carlos even shared an antihistamine for it.
We are looking forward to another trip to Costa Rica and will definitely stay at Casa Batsu again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank we3onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here late November, what a wonderful host, great cook and tour guide Carlos is! We had a really super dinner here and very personal service, we can highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the area, it is not so far outside Monteverde/Santa Elena and in fact is on the bus route to Puntarenas ( be prepared for a 4 hour bus ride however). Carlos even waited for the bus for us with our luggage as we gobbled down wonderful huevos rancheros at 5.45am! To the back of the property you can go birdwatching, Carlos will pint you in all the right direction, he has super recommendations and couldn't have been more charming and helpful. Simply delightful!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at Casa Batsu with our 2 small children for 3 nights. The 'room' consisted of 2 bedrooms and a kitchenette area. Everything was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was not perfect (erratic hot water in the shower), but it did not matter. Carlos, who runs the B&B, is a gem. He took plenty of time to tell us about the area, the local fauna and history of Costa Rica. We had dinner at the B&B once, which was wonderful and highly recommended. Carlos and his wife Paula are talented cooks. All the breakfasts were very special- huge portions of delicious food. Carlos has a wealth of knowledge and contacts and even helped us find a very good guide in Manuel Antonio.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sawadessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews