We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Batsu
Nearby Hotels
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cala Lodge(Monteverde)
$92
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$47
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $60/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Monteverde Inn(Monteverde)(Great Value!)
$40
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $57/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

El Establo(Monteverde)
$231
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$132
$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Trapp Family(Monteverde)
$97
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens(Monteverde)
$236
$229
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveler rating
513
21
1
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
21
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmariposa roomrecommend casahis wifecosta ricamulti courseson dannygolden retrievercloud foresthome away from homethree roomsan amazing hostcevichehelped us planfresh juicecan't recommend this place enoughb bscoffee plantation
Filter
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 538 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Carlos is one of the most outstanding hosts I've ever met. He's not only a charming and welcoming B&B host, but is deeply involved in, and concerned for, the conservancy of the natural environments around Monteverde. As a result, he is educated, curious, and continually seeks to update his knowledge. He also travels to numerous other locations so that he can recommend them to his guests.

He knows some of the best guides around. I highly recommend Victorino, whose knowledge about the cloud forests and their ecosystems is boundless. The guides Carlos recommends are not only knowledgeable, but care deeply about conservation having grown up in Monteverde. Also, ask Carlos about the small coffee farms. They're not in the guidebooks but have excellent coffee that you won't be able to find anywhere else!

Many other guests have raved about the breakfasts -- and rightly so. We sat on the verandah and watched many birds coming to eat the papaya and bananas that Carlos and Paula put out for them each morning.

Our apartment was well-appointed and comfortable. The single drawback was the that that the dividing walls were thin and we could clearly hear our rather vocal neighbors in the evenings. Fortunately, they went to bed early so it wasn't much of a problem.

A spectacular plus to each day? The rainbows!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hunter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at Casa Batsu in early June 2012 and this review is long over due. We arrived in the dark having traversed the most treacherous road I've drive--in a tremendous storm. That only made our arrival and warm greeting that much more welcome. Carlos was there for us from beginning to end! Whatever you need he will provide or arrange. We wanted to see cool birds--wow did he find them (and right on his property)! We wanted to go on a cloud forest tour and he got us the greatest guides (through Monteverde Welcome Center) and we saw things that (according to the guides themselves) haven't been seen there by more than 3 people in the last 20 years (though I'm sure that doesn't happen consistently). We wanted to eat in town--he recommended a great place. Night tour--unbelievable (again through Monteverde Welcome Center) Want breakfast? In what appears to be a Costa Rican tradition, Carlos provided an amazing and tremendously filling spread for us. And the coffee is always on--and it is fantastic! Basically, we wanted for nothing and wish our planning had allowed for more time there.

In short, we had a great time and not a single complaint. The rooms are clean and spacious, hosts fantastic, close to town and activities. If you stay in Monteverde and you don't stay here you missed out!

Room Tip: There are only two. Take either, both great.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomK959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Carlos is absolutely the best host we've ever experienced. We had reserved two days at Casa Batsu in late November. Our schedule changed and we were going to be in Monteverde a day early. We called Carlos - unfortunately Casa Batsu was booked but he assured me he'd find us another place to stay. He did and it too was fabulous. We didn't get a chance to meet Paula and the kids (a good reason to come back!) Casa Batsu is a quaint B&B. The rooms are spacious and clean. Carlos is an excellent chef so be sure to try one of the dinners. Breakfast was included and was always delicious and plentiful. Carlos made all the arrangements for the side trips and tours we went on. It was so nice - vacation where I didn't have to lift a finger and all the arrangements were handled. Thank you Carlos for everything. HIGHLY recommend spending time in Monteverde - and if you're there then Casa Batsu is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcandndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family of 5 had a great time staying at Casa Batsu. Carlos is an extremely accommodating host. We called him on the drive in to see if he could make us dinner, and he made us the most incredible meal we ate in our entire stay in Costa Rica. Since it was rainy and cold that night, his mother added a homemade chicken soup to the menu that rivals my grandmothers. The meal included homemade sangria, a special pineapple recipe! Carlos helped arrange all of our activities for the 2 days in Monteverde. He suggested 2 places to eat for lunch and dinner that were perfect. We all enjoyed his breakfast every day. It included fresh fruit, fresh juice and a different main courses every day. Since my son didn't drink coffee he made him homemade hot chocolate that was like no hot chocolate I had ever tasted before.

With all this being said,words can't describe what a great guy he is. We had checked out on Christmas day and were on the way to buy coffee from a local coffee grower, and our car went off the road and was stuck over a cliff. We called Carlos and he was there within 20 minutes, leaving his family on Christmas Day. He helped get a tractor to pull us out, and picked up a guy to drive it as well. Since it was Christmas, that was a very difficult thing to find. He made sure our car was okay, before we went on our way. This all was done on Christmas day, even when he had other guests arriving. We might still be there if he hadn't helped us. He never thought twice about coming to our rescue. He is someone we will never forget on our visit to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Casa Batsu is a small, rustic B&B that is run by two of the nicest people you will meet,Carlos and Paula.For about $60 per room you receive the best service you will probably recieve anywhere. Being from the area , Carlos can offer helpful information about things to see and do.As hosts, the breakfast they provide each morning is wonderful.We loved this place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews