We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worth the trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Children's Eternal Rain Forest

Children's Eternal Rain Forest
Book In Advance
$124.99*
and up
Costa Rica Gravity Falls Canyoning Adventure from La Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bajo del Tigre sector is physically separated from the Children's Eternal Rain Forest and is managed by the MCL. Bajo del Tigre is situated in Monteverde and is approximately 29 hectares in size, although the property is surrounded by other forested properties in the zone. The type of forest found in Bajo del Tigre is rare and it is poorly represented in the country. This is because these forests were cut down to make way for coffee plantations and urban zones. Bajo del Tigre presents an altitudinal range from 1,020 to 1,380 meters above sea level and receives over 2,400 mm of rain annually. In this type of seasonal forest, the dry period extends from January through the beginning of May. Bajo del Tigre has a reception center for visitors and a gift shop with items related to our organization and conservation in general. In addition, next to the reception center is a "kids' house" oriented to environmental education for local kids. The main visitors of Bajo del Tigre are national and international students. However, it is being used more and more by ecotourists and occasionally by researchers. In Bajo del Tigre, there are about 4.4 Km of trails that allow you to enjoy the unique flora and fauna of the area, as well as an excellent view of the sunset over the Nicoya Gulf.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

This tour was lead by a wonderfully knowledgable guide who spoke fluent English. It was approx 2 hours long and we were able to see things from crickets to owls in the Costa Rican darkness. The tour was informative, different and entertaining. Definitely recommended!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank QuattroBurros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    35
    15
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is one of the most educational places we were, the way they describe the conservation of the natural areas is wonderful. We all wanted to help with their cause. The coordinator Wendy at the house where you sign up for the tours is so dedicated and knowledgeable. We will be going back for sure.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CathyP696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“night hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We took a night hike here and also walked around during the day. my daughter saw monkeys in the daytime so we went back, but did not see any. you have to pass houses with many dogs to get there so be prepared for barking

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruthe247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good, but different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We visited with our two children (ages 7 & 10) and a group of university students. We had visited the area in January 2013 and were surprised at how different the landscape is at this time of year. It is much drier, although the cloud forest areas are still green. We love the concept of the Children's Eternal Rainforest and were glad for a chance to visit the Bajo del Tigre area. Unfortunately, our tour was just before lunch, during the hot part of the day. We did not see much wildlife, although we saw a number of pretty cool birds, including toucans. Our guide was very knowledgeable and did a good job explaining the area and wildlife. We enjoyed our tour of the national preserve in January much more, although the two forests are very different and we went at the wrong time of day/year this time. The national preserve has more of the 'typical' rainforest and pretty waterfalls (although maybe not at this time of year).

My children did enjoy the children's house while we were waiting for the tour to begin.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SpokaneMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great night walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

There wasn't an awful lot to see but the atmosphere was magical and the naturalist guide made it all so interesting. Great experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pandaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Eternal Rain Forest also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Children's Eternal Rain Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing