We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great italian in the middle of the cloudforest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizzeria y Restaurante DiKary

Pizzeria y Restaurante DiKary
Ranked #59 of 94 Restaurants in Monteverde
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great italian in the middle of the cloudforest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Finding tasty food in Monteverde isn't that difficult, but getting it at a decent price is. So we were pleasantly surprised to stumble upon this place just outside of the main part of town. The restaurant was deserted when were there, but the menu and prices looked great. Needless to say, we didn't go anywhere else the last few days we were in town. We were told the original chef was Italian, and it shows as the pizzas were absolutely phenomenal. Haven't been to Johnny's (advertised in all the guidebooks), but we didn't feel like we could do much better than D'Kary. Seriously, check it out when you're in town, even if the place is totally empty!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    5
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
1 review
“pizza very good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Pizza is excellent! The price,$10.00us$ in the menu, is great, but 1L water is $5 and 1 juice a bit less than $5 plus tax and compulsory tip it ended up at $23.00 US$.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have been here twice, and I have only tried the pizza both times, and both times it was amazing. Very friendly staff and very charming atmosphere. Great for an intimate meal or for larger groups!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“People are the nicest in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Have been eating here almost everyday this week, and everyday it astounds me. The people are so lovely, the service is great, and the food is not only delicious but low prices.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanLup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pizza and pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

One day,we stumbled upon a resturant. Turns out,the resturant was so good we went there twice. You can guess what resturant was. There are tons of choices for pretty much everything, from pizza to steak. Although we only had pizza and pasta, I am confident that the other choices are just as good. My friend said that the pasta was just like what he had in Italy.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JJfr0mNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria y Restaurante DiKary also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Pizzeria y Restaurante DiKary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing