We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, minimal accomodations”
Review of Cala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cala Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We really enjoyed the breakfast room and common deck, especially watching the colorful birds feasting at the fruit feeder. Jossie at the front desk was extremely helpful and kind, setting us up with a wonderful naturalist tour of the cloud forest, recommending the nearby butterfly garden--an interesting place within walking distance--helping us change our coffee tour to the afternoon so that we could visit the cloud forest in the morning, when animals are more active. She also called our attention to visiting wildlife, including a group of coatimundis. Our room--upstairs in the main lodge--was spacious and had a very nice view but was lacking in amenities. There were no towel racks or comfortable chairs. The sitting area outside the upstairs rooms was very uninviting, as well, and the stairway leading upstairs had paint splatters. I felt as if I was in someone's in-progress renovation. But we were hardly in the room--too busy with activities and spending time on the lovely deck downstairs. So overall, a very pleasant, peaceful & quiet stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 494 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Spotless Suite, very tastefully decorated, comfortable beds and pillows, A TUB, beautiful balcony surrounded by lush green cloud forest, birds, monkeys, families of raccoons (or similar) all seen from our balcony. Fully equipped kitchenette with everything we needed. Francisco, the owner, spoke perfect English, gave us helpful advise with maps and tips of places to see. We plan to return to this area and will most definitely stay here again. Wonderful breakfast included. A bit tough to find, but that's what makes it such a nice quiet hideaway. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheldon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Cala Lodge for three nights and we absolutely loved our time there. We came to Monteverde from Arenal and hadn't booked any activities yet. Jossie at the front desk was more than helpful with telling us about different activities and showing us where restaurants and attractions were located. She helped us book a night walk, ziplining at Extremo Park (which was amazing!) and a suspension bridge tour at Selvatura Park. We were really grateful for her knowledge and her willingness to help. We also met the owner, Francisco, and he was very friendly as well. It's obvious he cares a lot about each guest having a good stay.

Our room was just perfect. It was spacious and we felt at home right away. It was more like an apartment than just a room, with a great little balcony where we sat in the mornings. The bathroom was large and the shower always had hot water and good water pressure. The maid left us lovely towel decorations with flowers. There was a short hiking trail ('Agouti Trail') en route to our room that we walked one day, and it was a nice way to see more of the property.

Breakfasts at Cala Lodge were delicious. I tried all three of the different breakfast options and was more than satisfied with each one, although the pancakes were probably my favorite. The coffee was also great! The owners put fruit out on the terrace railing for the birds every morning and we really liked watching the different birds. The lodge serves tea and coffee every afternoon as well, which was a nice touch.

The lodge is also nicely situated. It's close enough to walk to downtown Santa Elena, where a lot of the restaurants and shops are located (it's a steep walk uphill to get back to the lodge, but a great way to get your exercise). We had dinner at Don Luis one night, which was great, and tried Johnny's Pizza another night and liked it there as well. Our favorite restaurant was probably Morpho's, which was beautiful and had some of the best desserts we have ever had! Jossie gave us a map with all of the restaurant names on it so we never got lost or confused about where anything was.

We will definitely be recommending Cala Lodge to anyone visiting Costa Rica. It's a wonderful place run by great people!

Steve & Laurie

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LaurieEFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Loved the location. Just a small taxi ride from the noise of the city near good restaurants and fabulous for enjoying nature. The bird platform was a highlight. View from our room all the way to the gulf. Spacious and clean. Very comfortable bed. Best part was a hot bath and tub (our previous location lacked hot water) . Rachel and Francisco assured us the best sightseeing and treated us like guests in the family home.

Room Tip: If you want a swim up pool and room service stay at the Ramada by the beach. If you want to be imme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We spent a week at Cala Lodge during our Costa Rica trip last month. The whole experience was fantastic. The rooms are simple yet very clean and comfortable. The location is perfect - out of the busy town center with a great view of the mountains, yet close enough to walk to town (or a $3 taxi ride). Raquel and Francisco (the owners) were around most of the day and went out of their ways to make our stay perfect! Highly recommended!

Personal anecdote: Francisco also works as guide at Monteverde Cloud Forest. On our last morning, we asked him where to go to maximize chances of viewing the resplendent quetzal. Thanks to his advice, we saw seven quetzals that day! Thanks Francisco! :)

Stayed: December 2013
Thank stopthebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The rooms are clean, well maintained and the staff is very accommodating. They are eager to help you plan your trip and provide suggestions on activities and local restaurants. The owner was also very friendly and did his best to ensure we had a pleasant stay. What I liked the most about the hotel was the location. A little far from the main town (in the sense that you need a car), but it is nestled into a beautiful country costa rica setting. There are many trees/fauna and wildlife and you could spend hours sitting on your hotel porch watching the beautiful Costa Rica landscape. Some of our nicest photos were taken at this hotel (I'll try and post some later this week). If you want to experience the 'real' Monteverde this is the place to stay.

The only draw back, and as with many south american hotels, sound proofing is almost non-existent (or I just have bad luck). We were a little unfortunate during our stay as we ended up being placed next to a room with 4 teenage boys who stayed up and partied until the early AM. The room we were given was only separated by a door so every sound including the washroom was heard in our room. At one point, we just ask the guests next door to be quiet and all we had to do we say it from our bedroom and they heard us! We were obviously deprived of serious sleep so we were not happy the next day, especially since we had to play babysitter to the teenagers the night before. I do however want to thank the owner of the hotel because once we complained about our experience the next morning they refunded our room charge and moved us to a new room away from the young guests (thank you very much!).

In summary, I recommend staying here but make sure to ask who your neighbors will be.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWDCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

hard to find, especially in the dark. use GPS! room comes with a full bed and a single. very comfortable, remote, nice location, excellent breakfast. great deal for $110 during high season! would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank speedyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Lodge

Address: | 200 M Oeste Y 325 Sur De La Escuela, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $78 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cala Lodge was built on three acres of property (1.2 hectares) of forest right next to the world-renowned Children's Eternal Rain Forest which has an area of 52.800 acres. It is the largest private reserve in Central America. Cala Lodge offers reasonably priced, cozy accommodations secluded from the noise and crowds and surrounded by beautiful forest with easy access to all the main attractions in the area. We help our visitors to design the best itineraries to take advantage of their stay in Monteverde and make it a memorable esperience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Hotel Monteverde
Cala Lodge Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing