We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”
Review of Cala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cala Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Cala Lodge was fairly easy to find and we were greeted warmly. Our room was comfortable, with extra blankets, a big fridge and kitchenette, a good view and a good shower. My husband was ill during our stay, and the owner suggested I bring some toast to our room from breakfast. He was very kind. Cala Lodge also booked Selvatura zip lining tour for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    118
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
103
234
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Assen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The lodge is slightly out of "town", but this is a great place if you come to Monte Verde to be surrounded by nature. There are incredible views to the clouds rolling over the continental divide, from your little veranda or even through the panoramic window while in your bed! The room is fairly small and basic, but it was clean and had all the essentials. The bed was comfortable, and the shower was hot. Breakfast is either Costa Rica style, or pancakes; we've had better and more variety, but it is quite adequate for a few days. For other meals, best to have a 4WD car, but some restaurants are within walking distance: ask the owners of the lodge for advice, some are good, others are tourist traps. The young couple who run the lodge are indeed very friendly, and seem to have the drive to keep running an attractive lodge. Information about hikes and assistance with booking of tours was always given with a smile.

Room Tip: Room 6 (up a flight of steps) has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My sister, a few of her friends and I went for 4 nights. We had an amazing experience. The staff there was just so polite. The receptionist, Juz Beneres, was a doll. She was very helpful from day one. She would give us advice on what activities to do and where to do them at. She would also book these activities for us as well as set up transportation. All of the activities are very close by. There are restaurants in town that are only 10min away. I look forward to going back. I highly recommend Cala Lodge.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwithebird
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have had several clients stay in Cala Lodge in the last couple of months and each time we get a glowing report about the location, the hotel, the grounds and most of all the service. Raquel and her staff do a wonderful job making everyone feel welcome and we will continue sending our clients there on their custom tours with Costa Rica Rios.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kiwithebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

excellent place, if you want to have a nice weekend you should go also excellent for vacation highly recommended, I went just for a weekend and everything went pretty good, food, bed, location and most important very good customer service

Room Tip: all rooms are really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

For our honeymoon my partner and I traveled around Costa Rica. We spent two nights in Monteverde, both at this hotel. We had a good time! Though its very close to the main road of the town, it's far away enough to feel secluded (but very close to Chimera, an amazing little tapas restaurant). When we arrived, the owner greeted us personally and took a good chunk of her time going over the things to see in the area (Cloud Forest, outdoor activities, restaurants, etc.). All of her recommendations were great! The grounds were meticulously maintained, with a small garden for watching butterflies. The room itself was nice and comfy but simple (bed, desk, night table, and bookshelf - no TV or fridge). We had a beautiful view of the Cloud Forest from our window too. Our only complaint was that there were quite a few moths in our room when we arrived. When we alerted the owners of this, they were able to get rid of most of them though. That said, the remaining moths weren't much of a bother. The breakfast was also very good. We thought this place was a good value for our money!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Cloud Forest. Ask for one facing it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelz993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Monteverde is such a special place, it makes sense to stay somewhere equally special. We enjoyed our stay at Cala Lodge very much. It is off the beaten path enough to get spendid views and opportunity to see wildlife, especially birds. It is close enough to town we could walk to restaurants. It is quiet, comfortable and clean. The opportunity to stay at Cala Lodge truly added to our experience in Monteverde.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Lodge

Property: Cala Lodge
Address: | 200 m oeste y 325 sur de la escuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cala Lodge was built on three acres of property (1.2 hectares) of forest right next to the world-renowned Children's Eternal Rain Forest which has an area of 52.800 acres. It is the largest private reserve in Central America. Cala Lodge offers reasonably priced, cozy accommodations secluded from the noise and crowds and surrounded by beautiful forest with easy access to all the main attractions in the area. We help our visitors to design the best itineraries to take advantage of their stay in Monteverde and make it a memorable esperience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Cala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Hotel Monteverde
Cala Lodge Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing