We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I stayed at while in Costa Rica”
Review of Cala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cala Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The rooms were spacious and clean. There was a spectacular view of the Costa Rican forest. Owners were kind and hospitable. Very well kept lodge. Great place to be if you are looking for quiet relaxation. No a/c in the room, but the weather was very cool in June and the temperature at night wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerabroad79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 515 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

I've been staying at Cala Lodge twice. Both times as a Tour Leader of a group of young students and we all loved staying there. The rooms a very nice and clean, the view is spectacular, and the owners are very nice and helpful. I really recomend Cala Lodge :)

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Rikkita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Francisco (Chico) and Raquel are a young couple who have built a beautiful, clean, and peaceful hotel in the middle of the Costa Rican forest. At the hotel itself, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, breakfasts are delicious, and they recently added a gorgeous porch where you can sit, read, chat, or simply take in the sounds of nature. The rates are very reasonable and the value/service balance is, in my opinion, outstanding. You are nearly guaranteed a visit by some interesting creature during your stay-we had mot-mots outside our door in the morning and an agouti welcomed us the first evening.

When I chose a place to stay, I always feel better about my decision if I am supporting a business that is locally owned, ethically run, and environmentally aware. Cala Lodge is all of these. Chico has designed, built, and overseen the layout of the entire property in the last 15 or so years. Raquel has added her personal touch and flair to the marketing, reservations, staffing, and aesthetic sides of their business. They both speak excellent English and they have gone to the trouble to hire an on-site manager who is equally capable and knowledgeable. They are more than happy to assist you with any area of travel planning or tour scheduling. You can trust that they will offer you honest, unbiased opinions. Chico is also an accomplished guide-he has worked at the MV reserve and is a birder of the first order.

Raquel once told me that she can't think of a nicer place to live than Monteverde, and it is an incredible place for many reasons-the climate and biological diversity make it one of the world's most magical places. That said, it is not an easy place to live. Every single thing that is here-from towels and sheets to glass panels and iron railings-needs to come up the same mountain roads we all drive to be here. Costa Ricans work extremely hard to earn a livelihood and support their families. Chico is from a lovely family of 10 kids (most of them work in the community in education or in tourism/service industries), and he and Raquel have built this business literally from the raw earth up, with nothing more than a dream and an immense amount of hard work.

We met Chico and Raquel in 2011 via email while looking for a house to rent for 5 months last spring, so they were our landlords at Chico's personal home (another testament to his impetus and motivation). We returned in January of 2013 and stayed with them at Cala Lodge for a few nights before moving into a different house as his was already rented for this Spring. I am simply amazed at the resourcefulness, kindness, and character that this hard-working couple have. We love bumping into them in the community and our family feels honoured to know them! :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank costaricaadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We enjoyes our visit to Calais Lodge. It is close to the action walking distance to restaurants but away from the noise of Ste Elena. Clean comfy and sparse lodgings with cooked to order breakfast. Francisco is very helpful and knowledgeable of Monte Verde and the reserve. We saw more wildlife from the dining hall than in the actual reserve which we are finding is fairly common in Costa Rica. Great value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teafolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Monteverde is rightly world famous for the beautiful cloudforest and wonderful birdlife that exists within it. This is a great place to choose to stay for a visit there-the hosts Francisco and Raquel are warm and welcoming, and lay on great food to boot! They are also both nature lovers and birders, with Francisco having worked as a guide within Monteverde for 15 years he has an intimate knowledge of the bird and animal life of the area, and still offers local guiding when he does not have his hands full and this small and personal lodge. I cannot recommend this place highly enough, and I am a tour guide with nearly 10 years of extensive travel under my belt. For visiting birders pick Francisco's brains for the latest sightings in the area, whether it be quetzals, roosting owls, or some quiet spots away from the popular park of Monteverde to enjoy a more private moment with the cloudforest, he and his wife know it. Great hosts, great lodge, great birds, and great cloudforest. Not overrated at all-believe the hype!

Room Tip: If you choose the rooms that overlook the small garden you might even pick up a White-eared Ground-S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamWoods_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The grounds are beautiful! On the very first morning, from the breakfast area, we saw a coati, an agouti and a toucan up close and personal! What more can you ask for?! The grounds are beautiful and have several small trails that you can walk. The 2 lodges are equally nice, and although mine didn't, some rooms have little kitchenettes. (There are 14 rooms of various sizes). The place was clean, the shower water hot, the internet worked very well - all things that are not a given when you stay in Costa Rica! Warning: there are no TVs - but who needs one when you have this scenery?

Frank, the owner, was wonderful. He was friendly and helpful and always smiling. We ate several meals at the Cala Lodge, and all were simply wonderful!

I was with a group tour this time, but there were couples staying there as well. I would definitely stay here if I were to return with my husband.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I just recently went to Costa Rica for vacation with friends and stayed 4 nights in Monteverde in Cala Lodge. We had an incredible stay, The hotel was beautiful and cozy and the staff really made us feel at home and they became our friends! They helped us plan tours to see all that Monteverde has to offer. I really want to thank you for making our trip so incredible! We will be back to visit!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Lodge

Address: | 200 M Oeste Y 325 Sur De La Escuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $81 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cala Lodge was built on three acres of property (1.2 hectares) of forest right next to the world-renowned Children's Eternal Rain Forest which has an area of 52.800 acres. It is the largest private reserve in Central America. Cala Lodge offers reasonably priced, cozy accommodations secluded from the noise and crowds and surrounded by beautiful forest with easy access to all the main attractions in the area. We help our visitors to design the best itineraries to take advantage of their stay in Monteverde and make it a memorable esperience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Hotel Monteverde
Cala Lodge Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing