We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveler rating
381
163
34
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
163
34
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building cloud forest costa rica pancakes lovely balcony santa elena surrounded by nature breakfast was delicious the breakfast area small balcony off the beaten path beautiful birds walk into town bird watching rooms are spacious fresh fruit taxi ride
Filter
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 591 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The location is no good if you dont have a car. We have encountered stray dogs all over cr, but not like theese. To get to anything you have to walk on a dusty gravel road, not knowing when the next dog is going to bark and show teeth at you.

When we got our room we had to have our sheets changed due to stains. Except from that and all the spiderwebs the rooms were clean. The light in the shower did not work, and the one in the bathroom blinked. Yes they would probably have changed it if we complained about it, but im not on vacation for complaining. Do they not check the rooms durind roomcleaning, or at leat between guests?

Another thing is the front desk. The young woman was very helpefull and available, but when it was the owners turn to be there, he was always doing other stuff elswere. We whaited for almost an hour for him once. He also for some reason dont share his emails whith the other front desk staff, so when he was going to print a receat for us it took ages, even though the front desk had staff.

Btw the receat were for grayline. When we asked about transport to san jose he tried to push "guality transfer" on us instead. Lol try and google it. No ratings and the worst web site. How can you recomend that? When we asked for a taxi the first day he called his buddy in stead. Unprofessional.

The breakfast was good, though the lady serving cant speak one word english. Wifi was good.

The night before leaving we saw the cat licking a plate on the "bar". When we left it had dragged a dead bird to the front door. Cant help thinking about the germs it must have transfered.

All in all we dont feel that we got what we payed for. We usally get more for less around cr.

Btw monteverde is cold, and there is no ac. And the "down duvet" (promised in reservation) had no casing.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCL, Propietario at Cala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

We as travelers our selves can clearly understand that every place and every country has its nuances. Latin America in general have a high index of street dogs. Even when Cala Lodge does not agree on this matter; Costa Rica is a 4 million inhabitants country. Rarely this issue was never before a problem or a complaint from any of our guests, probably over 50% of our clients walk to and from restaurants and activities around the area and this has never been an issue. Tourist in general seem to be very friendly to animals and we honestly think dogs are one of the noblest animals you can find and they are able to sense deeper emotions.

We never heard about any of the things you mention on your review, unfortunately we could not have changed anything to make your stay more pleasant if we just don’t know. Of course our maids check the rooms between customers that’s how you got a clean room but it seems necessary to explain that Cala Lodge it’s a place located adjacent to the largest private reserve in Centralamerica and nature is what you expect if you booked us. A tropical country with the biodiversity that Costa Rica offers makes you expect a little spider, a monkey, a bellbird, a coati, a toucan or any other animal around your room from time to time.

You are correct. Francisco and I are always working on many different things, we like to make our customers know that we are available all the time but that doesn’t mean that we are off duty. This is a young family business where both of us change hats in order to keep our operation going and being completely honest I think you got everything about Cala Lodge wrong. Of course we recommend local companies for the services we provide, of course that we recommend the people we know for any activity or service that’s how we know you are in good hands: with a good guide, a good rate, a good transportation like the one we recommend and probably you did not trust just because they did not have the best webpage and you could have had a faster and cheaper service.

We like to work honestly and based on trustful and transparent policies; it is impossible to reach or help a client that’s distrustful and negative all the time. We are always looking for the best for our guests and that’s something you can count on.

We wish you the best.

Raquel Castro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Monteverde is a wonderful place and so is Cala Logde. Excellent service from the owners and very helpful when looking for activities to enjoy with the family.
Prices are very affordable compared to other hotels in the same category and the rooms are clean and comfortable. My family and I spent a great time while staying here and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtenorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The location of Cala Lodge is great, within close walking distance of several fantastic restaurants, and a 20 minute walk to Santa Elena. It's also a short drive from the Monteverde Cloud Forest and all of the other natural areas in Monteverde.

We didn't have a car during our visit, but it was easy to get a taxi to take us wherever we needed. The staff at the hotel kindly arranged taxis for us as well. They also helped us out by booking several tours for us upon our arrival. This meant that we spent less time researching what to do and more time enjoying the beauty of the Monteverde area.

The grounds around the hotel are lovely. There is a nice trail that you can take and see some wildlife. We had our coffee each morning on the deck off of the main building and watched several birds, including hummingbirds.

Our room was very clean and had everything we needed for our three-day visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Cala Lodge was a wonderful home away from how for us while in Monteverde. The location was wonderfully peaceful and close enough to everything while feeling like it was miles away from the rest of the world. The lodge staff were wonderfully helpful (even helped handle my flat tire), the rooms were clean, and the breakfast was a nice addition. The Wifi was a bit spotty while we were there, but we were able to make it work.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleonardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What can we do other than simply join the chorus in singing the praises of Francisco and Raquel Castro and of their Cala Lodge? We spent 6 nights there in January of this year, and that time was the highlight of a very full and enjoyable two weeks in Costa Rica. We still bask in the glow of the memory of their friendly and helpful hospitality and of the beauty that they have created on the side of a mountain in Monteverde.

Francisco and Raquel seem to have built their business based on a simple concept: provide quality lodging and service, in harmony with the beautiful surroundings, for a reasonable rate. To ensure that the lodge becomes an ever more enjoyable place to stay, the Castros are continually upgrading. For example, a deck (not shown on the Web site) was built onto the main building this past year. It overlooks their exuberant gardens, with spectacular views of the mountains and forests in the distance. The new deck is a quiet place to spend the afternoon with a cup of tea, watching the hummingbirds feeding on the richly flowered hedges. And while we were there, the wireless network was completely overhauled to improve signal strength to the rooms and suites.

We would echo all of the positive comments that you will read in the other reviews of Cala Lodge, but perhaps it would be best to center our review on the focus of our trip to Cost Rica. While we were quite interested in learning of the people and culture of a country we had never before visited (and chats with Francisco and Raquel helped us do some of that), we especially wanted to discover some of the beautiful birds for which the country is famous. If you are a bird watcher, you could not pick a better place to stay in Monteverde. Not only are the grounds of the lodge inviting to birds and comforting to those who chase them around, but Francisco is extremely knowledgeable in the subject. If you are so inclined, he can arrange excellent guided tours of the various reserves in the area or simply give you good advice about how to explore them on your own. As others have noted, the location of the Lodge is tucked away in a quiet place, but it offers ready access to all the attractions in the area and is walking distance to several very good restaurants.

Cala Lodge is simple, tasteful, comfortable and lovely. Its people are welcoming, friendly and helpful. We are both lucky and privileged to have found our way there, and we plan to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmfromcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews