We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic comforts - good value”
Review of Cala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cala Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Don't get me wrong. I liked Cala Lodge very much. I found the rooms to be like a visit to my parents 1970s rec room...and the WiFi was a little hit-and-miss. The main reception area was warm and inviting (as were the other guests). Cala Lodge does make for an excellent base of operations for exploring the area - and the deLucia Restaurant is within walking distance.

Room Tip: The rooms are housed in 2 buildings - the nearer of the two to reception gets WiFi fairly consistent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 493 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good value. We had the family suite, that includes 3 beds and a kitchenette. The breakfast is off a menu, not as much food as a buffet. The room was clean, and staff very helpful. Need a car, as it's a good hike from town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sea_and_sky478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights this month. It is a little out of the way but we had a car and liked the quiet, being away from the busy Santa Elena. The staff is knowledgeable and helpful. Our room was a little small for the 3 adults so they gave us a second room for the price of one. That may not always happen but it gives you an idea of the kind of people they are. The owners are very long time Monteverde folks. Our Cloud Forest guide, Mino, and his family have been friends with the owners family for generations.

The breakfast is great and served in a nice room overlooking the forest. Nice flute recording all the while we were there. We walked the short trail on the property.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed! The staff was really helpful and friendly, rooms are clean and beautiful and the view from our balcony was amazing. Nice restaurants close to the hotel.

I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our first stop for 3 nights of our 2 weeks in Costa Rica Jan 2013. The Cala Lodge is an intimate, rustic and beautiful garden spot well situated for the Cloud Forest attractions. The view from the lodge balcony was wonderful and that is where we spent most of our waking hours when we weren't exploring. We felt as if we were at the home of a good and hospitable friend and would recommend it to others. Using a combination of taxis and walking we saw the butterfly museum, enjoyed meals at Taco Taco, the Tree House, Amigos, Sofia's and Chimera. We took a zip line canopy tour, hanging bridge tour and a guided cloud forest walk. Global warming meant that in places where we should have been in the clouds, the vistas were clear, beautiful and somehow threatened. Monkeys, a quetzal and toucans were among the varieties of wildlife we saw. The night sky and the wind here on the continental divide was unexpected, and a change from home as was the wild orchid on the path to the room with a good bed and great water pressure in the shower. A note to first time travelers to this region - don't flush the TP, put it in the trash cans provided. And also know that off the main highways, steep, rugged unpaved roads abound.

Room Tip: Get clarification on the size of beds in the room. We thought there would be 2 queen beds in one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z3tz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Cala Lodge is one of the most beautiful, precious spots not only in Monteverde, but in all of Costa Rica...It is a perfect spot to find hundreds of species of tropical birds, monkeys, butterflies and other amazing wildlife...it is tucked into one of the most gorgeous parts of the Cloud Forest...and the owners are beyond amazing!!!! one of the most darling couples EVER and they are your hosts during your stay in this most special of spots...they are gracious and caring...and provide you with the perfect spot for your Costa Rica vacation...when planning your trip to Monteverde Cala Lodge is a must...Highly Recommend...If you are looking for a place with heart and tranquility bathed in nature...as well and attention to detail and comfort...you have found your spot!

Room Tip: they are all beautiful and unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetandmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good location - nestled in the trees between downtown Santa Elena and the Cloud Forest. Easy cab rides into town for dinner. The staff was incredibly friendly - helped us with questions, set up tours, went out of the way to point out wildlife on the beautiful grounds. Very cozy rooms. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Lodge

Address: | 200 M Oeste Y 325 Sur De La Escuela, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $78 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cala Lodge was built on three acres of property (1.2 hectares) of forest right next to the world-renowned Children's Eternal Rain Forest which has an area of 52.800 acres. It is the largest private reserve in Central America. Cala Lodge offers reasonably priced, cozy accommodations secluded from the noise and crowds and surrounded by beautiful forest with easy access to all the main attractions in the area. We help our visitors to design the best itineraries to take advantage of their stay in Monteverde and make it a memorable esperience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Hotel Monteverde
Cala Lodge Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing