We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very highly recommended”
Review of Cala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cala Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Beautiful buildings, nice rooms, friendly staff, great breakfast. We didn't know what to expect ahead of time, having picked this hotel based on price and availability. When we pulled up, we thought,"wow, we made a great choice". The woman at the front desk spoke english and helped us book both a
zipline and coffee/nighttime tour quickly and easily. Our room had a queen and twin bed, high ceilings, a really nice patio and hot shower! Breakfast was made to order and was delicious. There was a nice seating area while we waited for our tours. We were bummed to check out and leave the lodge and Monteverde.

Don't be discouraged by the driveway leading up to the hotel- we were really worried until we saw the lodge come into view!

The only downside is that Santa Elena is really the place to be for restaurants and shops and activity. However, we were able to take a cab thy was only about 4$ US back with no problem.

Pack warmly and don't forget a rain jacket! MV was frio!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsywetsy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 500 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had a great time, it´s such a nice place to relax and share with your friends or family.
The place is amazing, clean and great food!!!
Monteverde is one of the places you cannot miss in Costa Rica, and Cala Lodge holds a great environment to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

You'll be treated as part of the family. The young (but very experienced in tourism and eco-tourism) couple running the place will make sure you take advatage of all the goodies of Monteverde (and more if you want to explore the country even further). They'll teach the way arround Santa Elena and best places to visit, making sure you avoid all pricey, unnecesary places. The lodge is inside the jungle, while you are having breakfast, you'll be amazed by all the wildlife right outside the panoramic windows or deck (make sure to have your camera ready). The rooms are squeaky clean and very confortable(with view to the jungle and misty/cloudy mountains). Overall, I give a solid five with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fahynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I are amazed by Monteverde. I have to say that Cala Lodge was essential throughout our visit. Everything was very nice and comfy. The room was very clean and nice. Very hot water and a spacy bathroom. Trails are right inside of the property and wildlife is everywhere since it's in the middle of the forest. So nice and pretty. The food is delicious. The owners are very nice and very knowledgeable about everything. I didn't feel at any time I was treated as another customer and on the contrary, I felt like I was talking to a good friend who was giving me great tips in order to spend my time, wisely. Thank you, Cala Lodge! :]

Room Tip: Bring someone with you :] It's definitely a couples, kind of experience :]
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gin_Ram_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This place is amazing!!
We stayed 2 nights in room 6 with an amazing view on the jungle.
Rooms are very clean and wifi is available everywhere (in the room and in the common area).
The breakfast is really nice, you can take it on the deck withthe view on the jungle. Sometimes you can even have the visit of a "pizote" on the deck :-)
You can rely on the advice of the very nice landlords, always ready to help and to book for you a transfert or a tour. They just make your life very easy when you are there.
We recommend the Don juan coffee tour.
If you transfert between Monteverde and La fortuna, we recommend the jeep-boat-jeep. spectacular views on typical costa-rican landscapes since the trip is crossing mountains.
If you arrive by bus in Monteverde you can take a local taxi which will cost you around $3.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floxygenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

A wonderful place. You'll be treated as part of the family. The young (but very experienced in tourism and eco-tourism) couple running the place will make sure you take advatage of all the goodies of Monteverde (and more if you want to explore the country even further). They'll teach the way arround Santa Elena and best places to visit, making sure you avoid all pricey, unnecesary places. The lodge is inside the jungle, while you are having breakfast, you'll be amazed by all the wildlife right outside the panoramic windows or deck (make sure to have your camera ready). The rooms are squeaky clean and very confortable(with view to the jungle and misty/cloudy mountains). Overall, I give a solid five with no hesitation.

Room Tip: I always prefer the rooms on top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emil_Aliev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here with our two young children in 11/2012. Very good experience overall; we all stayed in one room, which was just about big enough for everyone. Beautiful view, although our room (#5) could have used another window to enjoy it from; decent breakfasts; mostly very friendly staff and proprietor. Close to the Cloud Forest and other natural attractions such as the Butterfly Museum.

We would have loved it, I think, if it were just the two of us, but there was no obvious place for the kids to run around, so bear that in mind with very young children.

Room Tip: #6 looked like the view would be perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winefromitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
249 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Lodge

Address: | 200 M Oeste Y 325 Sur De La Escuela, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $86 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cala Lodge was built on three acres of property (1.2 hectares) of forest right next to the world-renowned Children's Eternal Rain Forest which has an area of 52.800 acres. It is the largest private reserve in Central America. Cala Lodge offers reasonably priced, cozy accommodations secluded from the noise and crowds and surrounded by beautiful forest with easy access to all the main attractions in the area. We help our visitors to design the best itineraries to take advantage of their stay in Monteverde and make it a memorable esperience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Hotel Monteverde
Cala Lodge Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing