We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place, beautiful people!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cala Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Beautiful place, beautiful people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Raquel, Chico, and Andres made this my favorite spot in Costa Rica. We will definitely return and will recommend to others. The rooms are very clean, spacious and are tucked away in the gorgeous forest. Breakfast was the best we had and the rates were perfect. Thank you for everything.

Laura R.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    106
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
97
222
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great hotel in the middle of nature run by the welcoming, friendly and always helpful Chico. I have stayed here on three separate trips to Costa Rica and would not stay anywhere else. Chico and Racquel have made it a real home from home and a fabulous place to use as a base for exploring the area. There is nothing better than coming back in the evening to a cold beer on the balcony and watching the sun go down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjp_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Thank you very much Francisco and Raquel for a great time. We enjoyed our visit with you. A most comfortable hotel with quiet & green surroundings. We look forward to returning as well as recommending your place to others. Really like the place - the new deck/porch with tables at your restaurant and the nicely decorated rooms with lots of space. Saludos!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Raquel and Francisco, along with their attentive staff, make this lodge the perfect home away from home that you wish was home! My daughter and I had a fabulous time there while visiting the Childrens' Eternal Rainforest this summer. The food they prepared is something we still talk about. The guest rooms were sophisticated in their design, yet ultra comfortable. My room allowed for the most incredible view of the magnificently landscaped grounds and the balcony overlooked the entire region. They also have another building with efficiency apartments for families. You can stroll around their trails to view vegetation and trees planted specifically for attracting hummingbirds and butterflies. A third building houses the ultra comfortable dining room and bar with patio. Imagine sipping wonderful Costa Rican coffee in the early morning mist while watching local birds, moths and butterflies within arms reach, while knowing a lovely breakfast will be ready for you whenever you wish. But my favorite thing about the Cala Lodge is how you can hear and see the bellbirds from the lodge's tallest tree branches. We look forward to our next trip to Cala Lodge!

Room Tip: Try to ask for room number seven, the one pictured in their photo above. However every room is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I went with a group there in July of 2012 and we were treated with the most excellent service and hospitality that I've ever experienced on a trip. The owner, Chico, and his wife are more than willing to help you find additional activities to explore in Monteverde or all around Costa Rica. A gorgeous view, fabulous coffee, rich atmosphere, this is a must see destination for all Costa Rica travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I visited Cala Lodge in February of 2012 and went back in July. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and inviting, with huge windows and terrific views of the cloudforest. The food is fantastic, served indoors or out. The deck is a wonderful place to watch hummingbirds from, and we even saw a bellbird perched right in front of us, while lineated woodpeckers worked on a tree overhead. The proprietors, Francisco and Raquel, are warm and gracious hosts, and Francisco is a fantastic guide, not only for plants and animals but also for local history and lore. Coatis wander the grounds alongside the guests. It is quiet and cozy, not like so many cookie cutter inns with no character. It is located within a quick walk or cab ride of the many attractions of Santa Elena and Monteverde while still feeling very private and off the beaten path. The perfect retreat!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have balconies and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieeisenberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I really wanted to take my family to a place that did not seem like other touristic attractions in Costa Rica; I was looking for something different you know; there are so many shopping areas and crazy beaches I just wanted to disconnect.
An Italian friend living in Costa Rica recommended the Cala Lodge and I just got my family on the car and took off. My friend was so right about this place! Quiet, clean, nice, beautiful surroundings, fresh homemade breakfast, helpful staff and you end up feeling like a friend not like a guest.
Francisco & Raquel are two awesome human beings, hard workers and ready to give you the best tips about Monteverde, we zip line, hike, swim on a beautiful waterfall and visit the best restaurants.
People is right, Cala Lodge is located in the cloud forest; expect to be in the forest but not even far from anything, I think is a blessing that we still have this kind of place in Costa Rica. Be in touch with nature, give it a chance, you won’t regret it.
Thank you, Raquel & Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Lodge

Property: Cala Lodge
Address: | 200 m oeste y 325 sur de la escuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cala Lodge was built on three acres of property (1.2 hectares) of forest right next to the world-renowned Children's Eternal Rain Forest which has an area of 52.800 acres. It is the largest private reserve in Central America. Cala Lodge offers reasonably priced, cozy accommodations secluded from the noise and crowds and surrounded by beautiful forest with easy access to all the main attractions in the area. We help our visitors to design the best itineraries to take advantage of their stay in Monteverde and make it a memorable esperience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Cala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Hotel Monteverde
Cala Lodge Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing