We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best horse ride ever!”

Horse Trek Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Horseback Riding Stables in Costa Rica . Horse Trek Monteverde is based in the beautiful area of the Monteverde Cloud Forests. For over 18 years, Marvin Anchia and Janet Ellis have been offering horseback riding tours on well-loved and cared for horses. Rides include: 2.5 hours Mountain & Farm View Ride; 3 hour Campesino Tour Scenic (away from everything!) 4 hours in the Clouds Ride Continental Divide); Eden Falls Secret Waterfall and Hike Combo; All Day Cowboy Ride and Multi-Day, 2-8 day Horseback Riding Holidays.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best horse ride ever!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Marvin Anchia, owner and horse trainer extraordinaire , was our guide for 4 people. One rider was experienced, the other three had rode three or four times on guided horseback tours elsewhere. Marvin is a great horse trainer and horse riding instructor ...it is not just his job , it's his passion..all the horses are his babies. Besides riding, he pointed out the various native plants , took a break at a local coffee shop in the country, then took us to his home to show off his trained stallion ,Gladiator, which we also rode bareback plus various other picture opportunities with this magnificent animal. A first for us to gallop on horses... and it was fine. nice to have a small personalized tour instead of some large group which the other couple saw at another location. Much cheaper and better than what you would pay in the US.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LawY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin A, Owner at Horse Trek Monteverde, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
So glad you enjoyed the ride and thanks so much for your kind comments.Come back and ride with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    17
    4
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant experience!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was definitely one of the best things we did in Costa Rica! It was so much fun - marvin is extremely knowledgable and friendly, and we had such a great adventure. The horses are lovely, so well cared for and suitable for all levels of ability. We stopped at a great bakery, spotted lots of wildlife, and had some fantastic gallops. I would recommend this trip for riders of any ability!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Miri292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin A, Owner at Horse Trek Monteverde, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed the ride... thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment. So appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Marvin was such a fantastic tour guide- so enthusiastic and helpful. The horses were very well looked after and well behaved and the trek was the perfect length with fantastic views around Monteverde! We couldn't recommend this tour more highly!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bexx37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin A, Owner at Horse Trek Monteverde, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed the ride... thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment, it is so appreciated! Come back soon and try another ride!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best day in Monteverde!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My friend and I did the 4 hour tour with Marvin and it was our FAVORITE day in Monteverde!! Marvin has around 23 horses, or "babies" as he refers to them, and all the ones we met were so sweet! On our way home we stopped at a field where several horses were lounging and they all ran up to us to be petted. It was the first time I've seen horses that wanted to be petted.

Within the first hour we learned to trot and gallop! It made the experience more fun than just a boring slow walk - plus it was better for the horses. We went across the continental divide, which was so neat! How many people can say they've done that? Marvin also took over our camera so that we could have lots of pictures of us on the horses! He spotted so many birds and animals that I lost count.

After climbing up and down the mountains we ended our tour at Marvin's house where we met his wife and his favorite horse, Gladiator! We watched him do all sorts of cool tricks and then got to participate :)

Marvin is the sweetest and most knowledgeable cowboy in the area! We felt right at home!

Muchas gracias Marvin!! I hope to come back and experience the all-day ride soon! And don't worry, I still remember the word for horse in spanish - caballo! :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel_addict_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin A, Owner at Horse Trek Monteverde, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment, it is very much appreciated! Please come back soon for another ride!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You gotta go here!!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Absolutely amazing!!! The horses were so well kept and soo sweet. They were very gentle but also had some spunk!! We got run on the horses tons!! We went with this awesome guide Jack Danny! he was a local from Monteverde -best guide EVER!! he was so knowledgable, funny and amazing with the horses. The Owner Marvin is like the horse whisperer! He had this horse named Gladiator and he could count, play dead and did some pretty amazing tricks!! I would recommend this to experienced and non- experienced riders! best Horse back riding trip I have EVER been on!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pablamuriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin A, Owner at Horse Trek Monteverde, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. So glad you enjoyed the ride..I agree Jack-Danni is a blast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse Trek Monteverde also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Horse Trek Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing