We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“There is simply no other better riding anywhere else IN THE WORLD (that I know of)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica

Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica
Dona Elsa's Farm next to Hotel Miramontes | Santa Elena, 60109, Costa Rica
50683593485
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Horseback Riding Stables in Costa Rica . Horse Trek Monteverde is based in the beautiful area of the Monteverde Cloud Forests. For over 18 years, Marvin Anchia and Janet Ellis have been offering horseback riding tours on well-loved and cared for horses. Rides include: 2.5 hours Mountain & Farm View Ride; 4 hours in the Clouds Ride; Eden Falls Secret Waterfall and Hike Combo; All Day Cowboy Ride and Multi-Day, 2-8 day Horseback Riding Holidays.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“There is simply no other better riding anywhere else IN THE WORLD (that I know of)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The horses are INCREDIBLY well looked after, Marvin knows everyone of his 'babies' by name, his instruction is perfect and the views are to die for. I am well travelled and I haven't come across any better horseriding. The demonstration he gives you (if you're lucky enough) with his horse 'Gladiator' is nothing short of the most incredible thing I have seen involving a horse and the love and dedication one man has for him! And the price is ridiculously (cheap). If you are in Costa Rica, you'd be crazy and stupid to miss it! Thanks for a brilliant time!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank becn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin A, Owner at Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We do love our horses and try our very best! Come back soon. Pura Vida from Marvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    14
    3
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Horseback riding in the beautiful surroundings of Santa Elena is definitely a must do...and even better when you discover that the horses are well treated and in good health! It was obvious that Marvin, the owner of the stable, has a real passion for horses and absolutely loves what he does. Marvin came to pick us up at the hostel and took us to his stable where we met our 5 new friends. Given some of us were pretty much newbies to horse riding, it took Marvin's patient explanation to get us started...made us feel safe and we felt confident to start exploring the natural beauties of the area, trotting and even galloping (so exciting!!). The change of perspective is well worth it and we thoroughly enjoyed it!!

And if that in itself is not enough, Marvin also took us to see a newborn horse (supercute!!) and Gladiador, a very well trained horse...

Would recommend it to anyone who loves horses and wishes to meet someone who knows how to to treat them!! Whether you are a seasoned rider or a beginner you will have a great experience!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FlaviaCi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin A, Owner at Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your response, we appreciate it! Come back and ride soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horseback Ride and Waterfall Hike were Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Everything on this adventure exceeded our expectations. The horses were gentle yet responsive, our guide Davis was knowledgeable and patient, and the waterfall hike was incredible! We rode through beautiful rain forest with amazing views. After, the owners treated us to a visit with their 2 day old colt and a private horsemanship demonstration by Marvin, Costa Rica's version of the Horse Whisperer.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DGilabert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin A, Owner at Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed it all. The foal is quite well now, recovered from his injuries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of my favourite travelling experiences of all time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Marvin came and picked us up from our hotel and drove us to his stables. From arrival you could tell the immaculate horses were part of his life not anything to do with making money.

Neither of us had experience but Marvin introduced us to his "babies" and the basics of riding his horses. The horses behaved incredibly and obviously had been trained by a real expert. My horse Darwin had incredible control and power when asked to use it.

With his capable and friendly assistant they made sure everyone was looked after from nervous beginner upwards while pushing our boundaries at the same time for a exciting ride with breathtaking views.

Without knowing much about horse riding I had the suspicion that this guy was something a bit special when it came to horses and after popping to his house to see his "special horse" that was confirmed. After reading up on this its of no surprise that Marvin is considered a world class trainer and we would have paid to see his demonstration with Gladiator, alone.

Lovely people, fantastic value and incredible talent from Marvin and his "babies". If you want to go riding anywhere in Costa Rica this must be the place to do it.

Helpful?
2 Thank peterwatkins78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin A, Owner at Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
It was great meeting you too! I hope you do more riding wherever you go and send us the recommendations! Pura Vida from Marvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was recommended to us by our hostel and it was a great experience! I had never ridden a horse before and I got a lot of experience from this activity. Marvin shows you the basics and then you're off, riding around the back roads of Monteverde, even trotting and galloping. If you've never ridden a horse before, just give it a shot. It's much more exciting than a gentle walk around the town.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank maltown14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin A, Owner at Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your tour and please come back again for another riding adventure, this time you will be an expert, no longer a beginner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Horse Trek Monteverde - Horseback Riding in Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing