We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded getaway nestled between farmland and wild cloud forest.”
Review of Rancho Makena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rancho Makena
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Hosts Carlos and Rosana went out of their way to see that we had a comfortable and enjoyable time while staying at Rancho Makena; great food, help with transportation, internet service, even guided hikes around the farm and nearby forest to see birds and wildlife. Our room in Cabana Mikaela was spacious, comfortable, and quiet. As described, it was a bit rustic, but quite beautiful with lots of natural wood. First time visitors should be aware that it can be quite windy at times; we were surprised but not disturbed by this.
Rancho Makena is well out of the tourist hustle and bustle of Santa Elena and Monteverde. Views to the west were of quiet farms, the rooftops of Santa Elena and the Gulf of Nicoya in the distance. The the east were nothing but cloud forest. The farm itself is an operating dairy farm with substantial reserves of primary forest. It was a treat to see a grey fox just outside the dining room window and to see such birds as toucans, black guan, and three wattled bell bird right on the farm.
The only downside of the location was transportation. Visitors should be advised that the Santa Elena plaza is not two but five kilometers away. Carlos and Rosana are able to provide some shuttle services but taxis may be necessary at times. The hike is not impossible but neither is it for the out-of-shape.
Also, in terms of scenic views, visitors may occasionally see flying tourists above some nearby cloud forests, as one of the local zip line operations has a line over a valley just to the east of Rancho Makena.
Overall, we had a very positive experience. We really liked having a place to stay that brought us closer to authentic rural Costa Rican life--and wildlife!

Room Tip: Try to get the honeymoon suite, its more secluded.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wowo-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Rancho Makena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 76 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2011

Rossana and Carlos were exceptionally friendly and welcoming. It didn't feel like we were staying at a lodge, but more like friends had invited us to their farm to relax. Definitely take them up on their offer to cook you dinner. It was the best meal we had while in Monteverde.

They made sure we had everything we needed, and even set up the nocturnal guided hike for us. If you are a birder, I definitely recommend staying in cabin furthest from the main house. It's next to a garden and a very productive red flowering tree. As I was packing up the car on our last day, I was treated to a great view of an emerald toucanet visiting said tree.

Other highlights include: white fronted parrot, golden browed chlorophonia (daily visitor to above mentioned tree), canivet's emerald, magenta throated woodstar, and green violet-ear.

I should mention wasps always managed to find their way into our cabin, but it wasn't really a big deal. It just became a daily ritual of opening the windows and encouraging them to leave. They weren't aggressive. Overall, it was an amazing place to stay and a great value. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bri3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Rancho Makena is a fantastic place - wonderful hosts, gourmet food. I can recommend a visit to everyone.

Stayed: December 2010
Thank pavjir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We found the place at the internet and did not know what to expect, just a good hunch.
We were amazed by the warm hospitality and the most beautiful place in Monteverde.
The place is managed by a lovely small family, a married couple and there 3 lovely children.
We got a nice room, not luxury but very convenient. We stayed only 1 night and it was magical. We felt on the top of the world.
The ranch as beautiful view, it just worth it to get up in the early morning, drink the best coffee ever and watch the view. After this take a horse back riding from the ranch and you will fill like you are sitting on a cloud with fresh air and magical and calm views.
We want to say a big thanks to Rozan and her husband for the warm and lovely hospitality.
Don't hesitate to take your Monteverde overnight at this beautiful warm and cozy place.
We enjoyed every minute of it.
Shachar and Sylvia.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAZAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones del "segundo piso" tienen mejor visto y están más bonitas
Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank RonRamRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxaneMonteverde, Propietario at Rancho Makena, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank rodobroggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxaneMonteverde, Propietario at Rancho Makena, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Aberaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoxaneMonteverde, Propietario at Rancho Makena, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.9 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
491 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 33 in Santa Elena
222 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cabanas La Pradera
Cabanas La Pradera
#8 of 75 in Monteverde
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Vista Verde Lodge
Vista Verde Lodge
#38 of 75 in Monteverde
80 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bosque Verde Lodge
Bosque Verde Lodge
#16 of 42 in Monteverde
27 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belcruz B&B
Belcruz B&B
#4 of 42 in Monteverde
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Makena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Makena

Address: Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range: $54 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Makena is recommended for those who like a familiar, simple and rustic ambience. Preferably people respectful of the tranquility. We reserve the right of admission ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rancho Makena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Makena Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing