We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hidden Canopy Treehouses Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$126
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Establo(Monteverde)
$116
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines(Cerro Plano)
$87
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
$229
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Trapp Family(Monteverde)
$97
$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$72
$68
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fonda Vela(Monteverde)
$111
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel El Bosque(Monteverde)(Great Value!)
$50
$48
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveler rating
804
29
6
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
804
29
6
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housetree houserising sunwaterfall showerother guestsneverland treehouseour honeymooncocktail hourthe ownerbreakfast and afternoon teacloud forestcosta ricanight tourcoffee tourunique placenature guidehighlight of our trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
759 - 764 of 845 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2010

The "Neverland" treehouse was perfect for the three of us -- my wife, I, and our college-age son. It has two levels, with a common room, bathroom, and master bedroom downstairs, and a separate room with a half-bath upstairs.

The treehouse design is very unusual, and a unique experience. The Neverland treehouse sits apart on a cliff overlooking the valley. It is very private. Our only immediate neighbors were the koi karp fish in the pool below. The main house, where we had breakfast and afternoon tea, is about 50m away. All other treehouses are similarly situated. There are also a couple of rooms in the main house itself, which are less private.

The view from both levels is spectacular, with huge windows covering most of the outside wall. Mist, wind, and rainbows. The rooms were tastefully decorated. Light wood everywhere. We liked the rock shower design as well.

The service is far more personal that at any hotel or bed-and-breakfast we have stayed throughout the world. The tours were arranged immediately and the advice on where to go was superb. But well beyond that, Jen welcomes you as part of her family and treats you as her best friend.

Great experience, great memories, amazing stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank im-free-as-a-bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

this place is heaven! or at least it seems like heaven staying in a treehouse in the cloudforest. our bed was comfy, breakfast was great, teatime had tasty cake and the most beautiful sunset i have ever seen. Jen was the best host and had the best recommendations for things to do and places to eat. she would have our whole day planned and reservations made either the night before or before we were done with breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mezzaninempls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

This was the most amazing hotel I’ve ever stayed at. The tree houses are very romantic and extremely well maintained. We stayed in Glade, which was spotlessly clean and very cozy. The bed was comfortable, as were the chairs. Being up at tree level gave us a very pretty green view out the windows and skylights, and it was very private. As unique as the tree houses are, what makes this place so very special are the staff – especially Jenn. I’ve never has such warm, friendly service ever, and Jenn was so helpful in setting up activities for us and making reservations. Every single one of her recommendations was spot-on. She really knows the area. Don’t miss the Argentinean Café, which has very tasty food and unbelievable chocolate desserts. We also had a great dinner at Sofia for a really reasonable price. Just to give you an idea of how amazing the service is at Hidden Canopy, here’s an example: We were in Monteverde during a pretty nasty rain storm and the biological reserve had been closed. Jenn knew we had an afternoon reservation for a tour, but we weren’t sure if the reserve would open in time. She recommended a lunch spot for us before our tour and while we were eating, she called the restaurant to leave us a message that the biological reserve had reopened, so we would be able to take our tour after all. We were so well cared for, even when we weren’t on the property! Don’t look any further – there is no better place to stay in all of Monteverde!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gracefesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

I would echo much of what has already been written about this special place, but just to give an example of how wonderful Jenn and her staff are: My husband emailed Jenn in November about reserving a three-night stay over the Christmas holidays. Unfortunately, Jenn only had space for one night, but she was planning on finishing a new room. My husband explained that it'd be my birthday during our stay (with our four-year old), so Jenn expedited the construction of the new room. Additionally, they had a birthday cake waiting for me at tea on my birthday, and a spectacular floral arrangement and lovely bottle of champagne in our room. Everyone was SO friendly and helpful. We hope to go back and visit this wonderful place again. Couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyinMDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Let me start by saying, we are a 30 year old couple who love to travel and really enjoy the finer things in life. That said, during our 12 day night trip to CR, we stayed at some incredible hotels, but of all of them, Hidden Canopy was the most unique! I LOVED the Rising Sun Treehouse, which was larger than our first downtown condo, and was truly luxurious. Best of all, the views were amazing. We have never stayed in a 5 star treehouse before! Jenn, Will and the rest of the staff were so warm and helpful - they truly "made" our trip to Montaverde for us by planning our activities and providing amazing dinner recommendations. Delicious breakfasts and sunset teas on the gorgeous deck were a true highlite. We were also lucky enough to meet two great couples (both in our age group!) at sunset teas, who we hope to stay in touch with! Montaverde was lovely - we hiked the reserve, zip lined (loved sky trek) and walked the suspended bridges. We enjoyed dinner at Chimera and Sophia, both in town. Thanks to Jenn and the whole Hidden Canopy Family!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l0vet0travel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews