We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is indifferent, food is uninspiring, Would not recommend.”
Review of d'Sofia

d'Sofia
Ranked #22 of 98 Restaurants in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service is indifferent, food is uninspiring, Would not recommend.”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We found the food to be very good throughout costa rica, however this was a letdown. Not only was the food the worst we had in CR, the service was also the worst. They were all indifferent. They didn't care. It didn't matter that we were there. Not a friendly atmosphere. We would definitely not recommend this place as there were way better places.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetiepumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    56
    24
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's worth planning a dinner here!”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The atmosphere is nice, the service is excellent and possibly the best sea bass in Costa Rica.

We enjoyed cocktails (I highly recommend the frozen mojito), an appetizer, two dinners and a postre for well less than I would have spent in the US for this quality food/environment but more than I've spent for any other meal in CR. And my companion ordered the sea bass and pronounced it to be the best in CR - it was melt in your mouth delicious.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJNewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Candles & little white lights, romantic & chic.”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We ate here our second night in the area. We were able to walk down from El Establo even though it was raining pretty hard. Just a short hike.
I celebrated a "big" birthday here. Had sea bass for the third time on my trip. Can't get it much in New England. It was very good. Also had a wonderful blue drink, don't remember what it was called but obviously had Curaco in it. Weren't able to get to the ice cream place next door unfortunately. Would have also liked to have gotten to the sister property Trio. Would definitely recommend & return if I had the chance. Can't remember what my husband had but he enjoyed it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank mimihill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average food - save your time & money & go to Trio”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Sophia's is one of the sister restaurants to Trio (downtown Santa Elena). There was excellent service but we weren't overall impressed with the average food - certainly not worth the prices.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moonbunnytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wow, great food”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

amazing and wonderful vegetarian options!
Just pricey, but worth it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank animalloverseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed d'Sofia also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to d'Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing