We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful personal attention from a loving family. The maid hugged us goodbye.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manakin Lodge Monteverde
Ranked #17 of 39 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
2 reviews
“Wonderful personal attention from a loving family. The maid hugged us goodbye.”
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Costa Ricans are friendly, but this family was the friendliest of the hotels we tried. My partner worked days in their dining room using the internet, and the staff would come out and ask her if she wanted tea or snacks, and that help was not requested nor charged for. This is not an opulent paradise, just a tucked away hotel, but it's well-managed, comfortable, and a good price. The local activities were well-explained to me and I easily booked day trips through their front desk.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quixotesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    38
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
16
57
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed 2 nights here and it provided a good base to explore both the Monteverde and Santa Elena cloud forests (it's situated about half-way between the two).

Rooms were basic but clean and what you'd expect for this sort of price (we had a standard room). The staff were very helpful and friendly (I think it's a family run place) - they booked our tours and our ongoing hotel. They even made us a coffee and toast and jam for free one afternoon after we returned from a forest walk.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollywomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde , Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2009

I am a solo female traveler and the family owned Manakin Lodge was the perfect place for me to stay...It's right in the middle of Monteverde, easy to get to and very convenient, but also facing the forest so the white faced monkeys often come to the balcony's. The owner makes a complimentary breakfast that is amazing. They also book anything you need to make your stay as fun as possible. I recommend this place for singles couples and families.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffanylovespets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We found this place through Let's Go. The place is not much to look at from the outside --in fact it looks a little run down. But the inside is clean and spacious. For $45, we had a double with a third bed, private bathroom with hot water, and a separate common area with a refrigerator, couch, desk, and tv. We had a freshly made breakfast every morning and we had a choice of about six different breakfasts. The very helpful staff is more than willing to book all of your tours and travel in the area and make recommendations. I price shopped but the hotel's prices were almost exactly the same. The only difference is that they may not be able to get you the student discount. There are plenty of restaurants and cafes within walking distance or you can walk further (about 20-25 min.) into Santa Elena. The Monteverde Biological Reserve is probably a 45-60 min. walk so you may want to take a taxi. There are other private reserves in the area that are within an easy walking distance (Ecological Sanctuary is closer, cheaper, and much less crowded). Also of interest, there are monkeys that hang out near the hotel. On our first day, a white-faced monkey came up to our balcony and knocked on our sliding glass door. Although we did not let him in, it was the perfect way to begin our trip to Monteverde.

  • Liked — Friendly service, breakfast
  • Disliked — Poor curb appeal
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahk1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.1 mi away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#10 of 20 in Monteverde
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manakin Lodge Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manakin Lodge Monteverde

Property: Manakin Lodge Monteverde
Address: 1 Street, Central Avenue, 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in Monteverde de Costa Ricayour hosting lodge solution at Manakin Lodge Monteverde - Puntarenas - Costa Rica hostel, hotel, lodge, backpackers, B&B. Your solution in Costa Rica for your tours to rain forest or bosque lluvioso, bird watching, tropical nature, adventures.....Bed & BreakfastExplore the trees and all the animals living there.Some relaxing moments Our flowers.The living room where to relax during the day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manakin Lodge Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manakin Lodge Monteverde Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing