We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in Monteverde” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella's Bakery

Stella's Bakery
Ranked #3 of 7 Dessert in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: International, Costa Rican, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Stella's Bakery has been in operation for 23 years and offers the best home cooked meals, pastries, baked goods, sandwiches,shakes,smoothies and many more delicious items you can taste while in Monteverde. Please visit us, we are open Tuesday to Sunday from 7:00 a.m till 4 p.m Also we count with dinner options during the high season with organic and exlusive options.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food in Monteverde”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

On our second trip to Monteverde we stayed three nights. We ate in several of the restaurants in town and did not have a bad experience. However, lunch at Stella's Bakery was without doubt the best meal we had in Monteverde and the prices were very reasonable. They also have the best smoothies we had in all of Costa Rica.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    123
    36
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“you must go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was the best breakfast I have ever had in Costa Rica. It was so good, I went back for lunch! I saw an Emerald Toucanette while I was there, and saw more birds than I have seen on bird tours that cost 100 dollars, just by sitting and eating breakfast. The service was super fast, the meals were exceptional and the price was very good. The salad was all organic and had too many vegetables in it to list! The owner was friendly and the other staff were very efficient. The whole place was clean, including the bathrooms. I recommend this restaurant highly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asylumboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great place to see birds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The same family that has the bat jungle is a part the family at Stella's. Fruit is put on a stand in the courtyard daily and the most gorgeous birds show up and enjoy while we enjoy the birds. Bakery products were great, too!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudyBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Worth a stop any time of day. Delicious pastries and other snacks. Stop in the morning to get snacks on your way into Monteverde, and stop again on your way out for lunch dessert.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dheacock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I were recently here for our honeymoon, and had the fortune of finding Stella's Bakery. The staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly and the food hit the spot! It was such a nice spot to relax and warm up from the rain and muddy hiking. The pumpkin soup was my favourite! Thank you so much for our daily lunches.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's Bakery also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Stella's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing