We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella's Bakery

Stella's Bakery
Ranked #3 of 7 Dessert in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: International, Costa Rican, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Stella's Bakery has been in operation for 23 years and offers the best home cooked meals, pastries, baked goods, sandwiches,shakes,smoothies and many more delicious items you can taste while in Monteverde. Please visit us, we are open Tuesday to Sunday from 7:00 a.m till 4 p.m Also we count with dinner options during the high season with organic and exlusive options.
1 review
“Terrific food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I came here with my tour group for lunch after a long hike up the mountain. Immediately I was a fan of the large windows and friendly service. The cakes and other pastries are the best I've had so far in Costa Rica and we've been to several other locations. I was told the banana and cream cheese square I had would not be found anywhere else in the world, and I can see why. The sandwiches contain all fresh ingredients and are a "make-your-own" style where you circle what you'd like on a place card. Definitely my favorite food stop made so far on the trip, wish our guide brought us here sooner. The other members of my group had the soup and said it was also phenomenal. There also seemed to be an extensive wine collection.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Engebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    124
    37
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"The place" during our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed just down the road, so Stella's was an easy walk. Everyone in the group went there many times over the 4 days we were in the area. Good food, nice staff, and colorful birds to watch while you eat.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
1 review
“Rain Forest Respite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our family of five enjoyed our lunch so much that we had to go back the next morning and grab some goodies for the road trip to Dominical, especially the maracuja.

We ordered soups, quiches and made-to-order sandwiches. The M2O sandwich cards were fun for the kids. The quiche dough was crisp and buttery. The tomato and squash soups spices were exotic and tasty. Make sure to ask Stella's daughter-in-law and grandson about the bakery namesake. Most of all, have fun and enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rascoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from hme!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

This place is very welcoming! We've been here 3 days out of the 4 days we've spent in Monteverde. The food is very delicious. But most importantly,the service is wonderful. Owner Glenda, very helpful. Also, the bird watching in the backyard really adds to the visit. I've seen many unique birds while eating here! I definitely recommend Stella's Bakery!

Helpful?
Thank girlsontheroad5709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Warm and Welcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stopped by Stella's early in the morning before a coffee, sugar cane and chocolate tour. The food was fantastic! We tried traditional Costa Rican, Omelet, cappuccino, and a few sweet baked goods. We were fortunate enough to meet the owner (Glenda Mendez), who was super friendly and a wealth of information about the Monteverde area. Glenda made a recommendation to visit the San Luis waterfall not far from town. What a great call, it is a hidden gem and was one of the highlights of our trip. Later, during our stay we visited Stella's again for lunch and tried the quiche - no regrets. Perfect place to hang out, sip some coffee and recharge.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nate324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's Bakery also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Stella's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing