We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was not 4 star quality but there were some plus points.”
Review of Rhodopi Home Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rhodopi Home Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chepelare
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We went to Bulgaria as part of a week's ski package with Balkan Holidays booked through Thomas Cook. The TC travel agent did not realise that the hotel was 10km from the resort of Pamporovo but when informed of this assured me that there were regular shuttle buses to and from the ski centre. In fact there was only one bus to and from the slopes each day which could have led to friction if any of the passengers had required or wanted different start or finsh times.
On the plus side, the room we got was very spacious with plenty of storage. Beds were OK although after a day on the slopes, I could have slept on a bed of nails! Bathroom was v. good with bath and plenty of hot water for apres ski soak.
Only 6 lev (£2.80) for sesssions in the sauna& steam room, swimming pool was 28C and free. Jacuzzi was not bubbling freely when we tried it but was nice and warm for a free soak . We did not use the gym but it seemed to be reasonably well equipped and was also free.
Contrary to some comments made by previous reviewers, we found all the staff to be friendly and attentive. The hotel appears to be mostly used by Bulgarians or other Eastern European nationals and hence the number of English language speakers was limited. Nevertheless we had no problems whenever we needed to ask for something and were usually answered with a smile. There was a two day Bulgarian National Holiday whilst we we stayed at the hotel and the place was very busy. However we did not experience any fall off of attention in favour of other (non-English )guests.
The big disappointment of our stay was the food and the restaurant. The later was suprisingly small and cramped and the decor could do with brightening up. Likewise the quality and presentation of the food. We have had two previous holidays at other hotels in Pamporovo and although the basic menu was the same ( salad buffet, choice of 3 or 4 main courses and sweet cakes/fruit), the quality here was the poorest yet experienced. The choice of salad was adequate but repetative and not very inspiring.The main courses were usually cold or tepid, the heaters on the hot plates and heat lamps not appearing to be switched on. I have been told that the Bulgarians prefer their food lukewarm but other hotels with more English guests have realised our tastes are different and have taken to providing a microwave oven next to the buffet! This would be a good idea for the Rhodopi Home. The sweets were usually a similar choice of small sticky, creamy cakes and sliced apples, oranges and bananas with yoghurt. Quite tasty actually but again a bit repetative! Looking for the silver lining, the wine list was extensive and very cheap, a really nice Bulgarian red cost only 12 lev and a large beer was only 2.5 lev. So swings and roundabouts, food not 4 star but neither were the prices!
The town of Chapelere is pretty non-descript, there is a big supermarket about 5 minutes walk from the hotel and an Italian style restaurant just round the corner. We did not eat out but the place looks quite nice and previous reviewers rate it. I'm sure there must be some life in the town after 6pm but the only time we ventured out we did not see any (mind you this was on a Sunday evening, it was dark and -3C).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FelixstoweSnowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 25 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2011

we stayed in the rhodopi home hotel this january and the hotel itself was lovely, clean and quiet ( ideal for couples and familes).

while staying at the rhodopi home we used the massage facilities, and the pool, both of which were very good, wel maintaned and clean.

The food- the breakfast is standard for a contiental breakfast, eggs toast,tea,fruit etc.

The evening meal however was awful! We ate very little and became frustrated with how bad the service was, the staff were rude and didnt seem to notice we were waiting for service,

This hotel is far from any nightlife and the shuttle bus only runs twice a day ( once there and once back) this is a downful as you get stuck on the slope.

we did have a fantastic trip and the ski resort is great ;)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfcoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed at the Rhodpi home in January 2010 as part of a skiing trip booked through Balkan holidays.
First of all, it's important to realise that if you plan to ski in Pamporovo, this hotel is very far away from the main resort - our brochure stated 10km but it is definitely not walking distance, and a taxi can cost over £20 each way to the main resort. This isn't too much of an issue if you're not interested in apres-ski - but if you are, don't stay in Chepelare, because there is nothing there barring a couple of small (but very cheap!) bars that are full of locals.
As for the hotel - it's fairly new; and so is very well equipped, well finished and furnished, and was always very clean and quiet. There is a decent (but freezing cold!) swimming pool, and a decent gym & sauna.
The food wasn't brilliant, but there was plenty of choice to keep us happy - but we aren't fussy. If you are, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
The main problem that let this hotel down for us was the persistently poor service. We stayed around the Russian New Year celebrations, and so there were many Eastern Europeans staying at the hotel. The gulf in service between what they received and what we received was shocking. We were ignored several times upon arriving for dinner - sometimes for 15 minutes or so - but as soon as any Eastern Europeans arrived for dinner a fuss was made of them and service was instant.
It was almost impossible to get food or a drink when you actually wanted one, and even when you did finally get their attention it felt like you were an inconvenince. I have stayed in many hotels in many countries, I am not a complainer and am generally willing to allow an element of poor service - but this was unbelievable and, more annoyingly, deliberate. I have never felt so unwelcome anywhere.
Having said all that, not all staff were bad - only the waitresses. The lady who looks after the Jacuzzi was incredibly warm and friendly, and should be in charge of the place!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pompey_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

I stayed at Rhodopi Home with my parents and we spent the Christmas holidays there. As a whole the hotel was not bad, but it was far from superb and given that it's been awarded 4 stars some improvement is definitely needed. We had no problems with the service at all, in fact, people at the hotel were as helpful as they could be, rooms were cleaned on a daily basis, and the food was good, too. One can say that this was due to the fact that it was Christmas and they might have tried a bit harder for the occasion, but even on the days before/after Christmas the food was still good. However, we only stayed there for 4 days so variety could become a problem for those staying longer, in this case I would recommend trying some of the local restaurants. Contrary to what we expected, the hotel was not noisy at all, in fact we could not hear any loud music coming from the night club, but mind that we stayed in the apartments' wing (Wing A). I would strongly recommend the SPA centre and the different therapies and massages which were excellent and at very moderate prices. Gym was also good and never crowded, and the sauna and steam bath were another good way to relax.
When it comes to maintenance, however, the hotel was an underdog rather than a star - we stayed in a 4-person apartment and in all of the rooms we could see big cracks in all of the walls which raised our concerns not only about whether the hotel deserves its 4 stars, but also about personal safety. Also, be advised that even though they advertise the hotel as internet equipped, there is wi-fi in the lobby only and no connection is available in the rooms which is really disappointing. Also the phone line was not working in our room and we later found out that there were many other rooms where telephone sets were provided but not working which seemed quite absurd to me. Also, do not expect to get a spectacular view from every room in the hotel, especially if you are at the lower levels. Parking is also quite inconvenient as in order to get your luggage from the car to wing A of the building you have to climb and then descend several flights of stairs!
Overall, I would call this hotel mediocre, I would probably recommend it to friends but only after warning them about the downsides I described above. It might be a nice place to stay with your children because of the amenities such as swimming pool etc.. , and it is certainly conveniently located for skiing, but do not expect an over the top service at a luxurious hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alXpucu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Good:
The hotel was nice, rooms were big, clean and comfortable

Bad:
There was a night club and no sound isolation in rooms!!!
It was cold, there was no heating!
Pool was cold
Staff not friendly
Food not 4 star at all

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADreamComeTrue88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

The Good.
The hotel is lovely with plenty of hot water, very clean and the rooms are big and comfortable.
The ski resort in Pomporovo was very good for beginners like us and the instructors were excellent and very patient. By day 3 we were all skiing down the mountain on the green run.
The value for money compared to ski instruction elsewhwere is unrivalled. Just over £100 for 6 days ski hire, 30 hours instruction and 6 days ski lift pass.
Pool is good for relaxing in the evening and again is very clean.

The Bad.
The journey was terrible as Balkan changed airports after full payment was made, this meant a14 hour total journey time which included a 1hr stop at Newcastle.
The 4.5 hour bus journey to hotel was a real experience driving through the night in heavy rainfall dodging and swerving fallen/ falling rocks and potholes.
The food is not of a 4 star UK standard unless you like chips and salad, the choices were unlabelled and the staff had a limited grasp of English which is poor if you are selling holidays to UK or English speaking customers.
Also there is not yet a smoking ban in force in Bulgaria, this made meal times in the hotel quite unpleasant for children and non-smokers.
Snow may be scarce and the slopes are prone to ice in parts.

The Ugly.
Please be aware there is a nightclub in the hotel and it may be open from late evening to about 3-4 in the morning, especially at weekends.The noise can be heard even on the 4th floor from the basement like it is in the next room, not great if you have young children or you want a good sleep after a day on the mountain.
Half way through our visit there was a Bulgarian holiday, which brought to the hotel many Bulgarian customers. We noticed a big change in the standard of service in the hotel with the addition of a red carpet to the entrance, a bell boy/ doorman, better selection of food, satellite T.V. channels, the log fire in reception being lit and a noticable decline in the attitude and service towards UK residents in the hotel. This left a bad taste in the mouth which marred an otherwise enjoyable stay in the Rhodopi Home.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gemskiScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Was one of the best trips I had ever! I spent there just a night but what a night! My family and my husband decided to go to celebrate a personal event there and we were happy with our choice:) I even learned to swim in the hotel pool which is huge and really clean! The best part of the stay was that we were one of the few guests and that means wasn't crowded as we like it;) The restaurant was a small issue but we survived after eating there:) Th breakfast was great and warm. The hotel room was large and comfortable - we had a bath tube in the bathroom and a small balcony. We'll definitely come back there!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ToTravelIsToBreathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepelare
0.0 mi away
Iglika Palace Hotel
Iglika Palace Hotel
#16 of 29 in Borovets
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Family Hotel Shoky
Family Hotel Shoky
#1 of 17 in Chepelare
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Family Hotel Karov
Family Hotel Karov
#7 of 17 in Chepelare
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Meteor Family Hotel
#6 of 17 in Chepelare
2 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Rodopi Houses
#1 of 6 in Chepelare
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodope Nook Guest house
Rodope Nook Guest house
#3 of 17 in Chepelare
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhodopi Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodopi Home Hotel

Address: 13-15 Perelik Str, Chepelare 4850, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Smolyan Province > Chepelare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chepelare
Price Range: $33 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhodopi Home Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Rhodopi Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing