We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most amazing holiday, didn't want to leave”
Villa Mondello,exclusive stay in Tuscany!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Mondello,exclusive stay in Tuscany!
The best place to relax!wooden pool forniture. This is Tuscany!!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Villa Mondello,exclusive stay in Tuscany!
The best place to relax!wooden pool forniture.
This is Tuscany!!
The Red Room.
the big panoramic terrace!
Allestimento V. Quercioli.
kitchen with the fire, view on tuscany hills
The Blue room, twin or double.
The Pink room.
the Yellow room,twin or double.
the Green Room
from the kitchen to 'Meridiana' and the park. Meridiana is an open veranda, and an object
the Vine room
detail
one of Villa Mondello's bathroom, decorated in a romantic/elegant style
detail
example of ceremoy
Panoramic Terrace, good for dinners and dance.
Italian Garden inspired by classical ideals of order and beauty.
infinity pool
the original fountain of 1905.
The pool
'Meridiana'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Castel San Niccolo, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
alicewldn
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most amazing holiday, didn't want to leave”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Fourteen of us stayed for a week at Villa Mondello and had the most incredible time. The house is absolutely beautiful, the views are stunning, and the owners of the house made our trip extra special, providing us with a fantastic meal on the first night and even picking us up from the train station. The holiday would have been even better if we'd had a car as the local shops are very small and not very well stocked but it's totally do-able without a car. Overall I'd recommend Villa Mondello highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla G
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Beautiful villa, spacious, luxurious, well equipped, more than met our expectations. Stunning area of Tuscany, easy access to tourist attractions. The owners, Francesca and her family attentive and accessible. We agree with all the previous positive comments.
We are a large extended family, spanning several generations, my grandfather was 1st generation Italian immigrant in Scotland. Italy and her culture is very important in our family. Villa Mondello did not disappoint. We would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing in Tuscany”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Our two families spent a wonderful week at Villa Mondello this summer. We wanted a large space where the kids could run around and everyone could relax and get in some sightseeing in the area. We arrived a little late, finding Francesca waiting for us with a wonderful luncheon. It was very welcome after a long flight from the states and the drive up from Rome. She showed us all around the property, taking great pride in how lovingly it is restored and maintained. We couldn't have asked for a better property. Plenty big enough for our combined families (7 - could easily have accommodated twice that number).

Well maintained. Beautiful pool. Well-equipped kitchen. Nice/quiet location.

Francesca made us feel like family. We can't thank her enough for making our holiday so memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views. Large, well appointed property.
Liked least: Some bugs at night. Probably just the time of year.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuntKiki2...
Elmhurst, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxation with a view”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Thank you, Francesca, for a wonderful stay at Villa Mondello, The location is wonderful--the views, spectacular. Plenty of space, both inside and outside, for our group. There is so much to explore on the extensive grounds/gardens. The kitchen is well-equipped, plenty of dishes, pots, pans, drip coffee maker, espresso maker, tea kettle, and...many wine glasses. Loved the convenience of having a wash machine, and hang the clothes to dry in the Tuscan sun. Hot water? Not a problem! Even with many of us showering at one time, we never had any issues with hot showers. There are also regular, full-size blow dryers at the villa-- not those icky hotel wall-mounted models! We all enjoyed the pool EVERY day! ...especially the kids. They played in the water from morning until evening. Having the pool-house was a giant plus for us--with the kitchen and bathroom (with shower), we stayed down at the pool all day, having everything we needed right there. Pool towels are plentiful, and waking up to a sparkling-clean pool every morning (Francesca tended to the pool early in the morning, while we were all still asleep!) was a delight. Did I mention the views? Crazy beautiful. Breakfast on the patio was a sunny treat, each and every day. The day of our arrival, Francesca had a delicious lunch spread waiting for us in the dining room. MUCH APPRECIATED after a challenging drive from Florence (advice: take the "long" way from Florence, going via Arezzo...otherwise, the mountain switchbacks are kind of a nightmare for the driver and weary, motion-sick kids!). One night Francesca arranged a cook to come to the villa for an authentic, home-cooked Italian meal. The kids had lots of fun learning to make gnocchi with the cook. Francesca is an invaluable resource for shopping in the area, grocery stores, bakery, towns nearby to visit, etc. With her assistance, I was (quickly) able to order some customized ceramic plates, and have them ready to go home with me by the end of our stay. You are in "the country," so be prepared with some bug spray....bugs aren't horrible, but the spray will make evening chats on the patio more enjoyable. There is a DELICIOUS bakery that is very close by car...we indulged on many (many) fresh pastries, bread, pizza, and even giant pigs-in-a-blanket. Wi-fi coverage was flawless, and never had any trouble with connection. Given the opportunity, my family and I would return again and again.
Grazie, Francesca. You are a gracious host who made us feel at home...and we were sad to leave both the villa and you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany, Italy
Reviewed November 26, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, but particularly Francesca and her family
Liked least: No lift but was only on two floors
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christian...
Dittelbrunn, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A DREAM IS OVER! But we will start dreaming again – next summer holiday!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
4
people found this review helpful

The dream starts when you arrive at Villa Mondello, standing in front of that huge ion-gate between the stone columns. When you pass that huge gate, opening automatically, you are entering a different world. You drive along the way to the Villa through the old English garden with nicely trimmed box tree hedges, an old well, high trees and the sound of the broken stones on that way seem to say “welcome back, Earl of Mondello”. But that is only the beginning! Opening the old, high and heavy wooden entrance door to the Villa and entering the entrance hall you feel again that “welcome, Earl – haven’t seen you for a long time”. The Villa is renovated with great love to detail and history! In all rooms the old frescos are brought to daylight after years of coverage with white color, the old floors are shining brightly again on the ground floor and beautiful warm new wooden floors welcome you to walk on in the second floor. All rooms are illuminated with old chandelier. Historical furniture is rounding up the historical exclusivity. But don’t worry, Earl from the 21nd century! The kitchen is large and new, high quality and very well equipped. Also the bathrooms are new and best state of technic but in beautiful historical style. The beds are new and best quality, never seen in a rental house before! With these first impressions from inside “your” villa you enter the large sun terrace surrounded by stone antas to show yourself to your “Shire”.
In the large park (not only garden!) in front of you with those old cypresses there is the new, 16m swimming pool. It seems to melt together with the valley and the hills within your view. If your eyes are walking across the horizon you are looking towards the spring of the river Arno, the famous Etruscan living- and sacred area. You have an old anchorite monetary from 1600 and the holy forests with large monasteries, famous for Tuscany mushrooms, in front of you. The pool has a wooden pool house, equipped with kitchen, bathroom and indoor shower beside the outdoor showers at the pool.
Really everything is equipped in highest quality. The tables in the Villa are handmade with inlaid work; the sun loungers are individually designed and made out of wood instead of plastic… perfect! The villa was built as a summer residence from English Earls in 1905 and has been renovated for years. It was opened for guests in May 2012. Everything is well maintained and cleaned (Pool and Park daily and the Villa weekly).

Poor Earls from former times – they did not have that combination of historical exclusivity together with the nice easements of modern technique! And they cannot come back to Villa Mondello – but we will! – certainly!

Christian Schneider, Dittelbrunn/Germany
Guest in Villa Mondello in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great Service, great House, very kind and nice owners
Liked least: that we had to leave after holiday
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich M
Widnau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Splendid view and absolute privacy in a marvelous atmosphere”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We had the pleasure to stay for one week at Villa Mondello. And this week was a wonderful beginning in our summer holiday. We've had a very warm and friendly Welcome by Francesca, the owner's daughter, who also took care of us the whole week long. And if it was possible, we would have stayed for a longer time. What a pity to leave after the short 7 days. This holiday location is a quiet tip. The villa - lovingly restored by the owners during many years - is a wonderful piece of architecture. While living in these great house you can feel and see history in every single corner. But also the park with its old trees that surrounds the villa and even more the huge swimming pool area with its own bathing cottage are spectacular and the landscape is typically Toscany - just gorgeous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly even familiar atmosphere with the owner
Liked least: Nothing. It is a perfect location.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$369
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing